Richard Armitage Legenda 86: Stuff worth reading

[Legenda offers a brief, non-inclusive index of stuff about Richard Armitage that I noticed and enjoyed since the last episode. It doesn’t usually include materials presented on the major fansites, which I love dearly, but which are linked in the sidebar. Because I always forget or just miss stuff, please add additional pieces of interest via link in the comments.]

The countdown continues

Screen shot 2013-07-03 at 11.07.34 PM

Richard Armitage archive

Armitageworld at work

Thorin Mini reacts to Thorin air guitar scene

Richard III news

Screen shot 2013-02-18 at 2.41.51 PM

Tumblr

Remember that some of this will be NSFW.

945059_216145255203001_552749358_nI think the last line should be, “So sign it maybe!” Cute. Source: Sassy Thranduil and Majestic Thorin

Richard Armitage-related fanfic: mature themes, RPF, slash, etc.

  • At DF: “Recovery” went to ch. 11. (Strike Back / Porter + OC).
  • At wattpad: CarlyQ’s “Iron and Oak” comes from Richard Armitage’s remark that Thorin Oakenshield must have had a lost love (The Hobbit / PG-13 / Thorin Oakenshield + OC). Five chapters so far! Some really moving writing here, especially of dreams and flashbacks.
  • At wattpad: Hosmond’s “Love is a Wound” went to ch. 34, 35 and 36. (RH / Guy of Gisborne + OC).
  • At wattpad: MorrighansMuse’s “A Willing Heart” finished with ch. 3. (Thorin Oakenshield)
  • At wattpad: TheArkenstone’s “Temporary Insanity” (4 chapters). And if you liked that, “Games,” described as a further adventure. (Thorin Oakenshield + Lady 0akenshield, humorous).

OT, collateral attractions, and things I think about

~ by Servetus on July 7, 2013.

15 Responses to “Richard Armitage Legenda 86: Stuff worth reading”

  1. Thank you so much for the shout out for my Camp NaNoWriMo, Serv 🙂 Now if I were only as diligent with my lesson plan as I am with my story, it’ll be all good! I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend 🙂

  2. Doing my own little happy dance by the computer! Thank you for mentioning my little story. Your blog brings me so much joy and laughter (and sometimes unexpected tears). I hope, in my little way, I can return a smile or two to you.

    • Esja is a great heroine for Thorin — it’s a great story. I’m grateful for the distraction and enjoyment.

  3. Having attended my first pop convention recently, I found the article about sexual harassment at these types of events disquieting.
    I saw many women who might be described as ‘scantily clad’, portraying characters such as Wonder Woman, Princess Leia and Daenerys Targaryen from Game of Thrones. They all seemed to be caught up in the fun of dressing up and acting out a part, enjoying the attention from passersby and photographers alike. It would be a sad indictment if they felt the need to reassess their choices based on possible inappropriate behaviour.
    For what it’s worth, I also saw a trio of clearly well toned bare-chested young men dressed as gladiators- it would be interesting to know what sorts of comments were thrown their way that day.
    As a side issue to this, I hope our obliging Hobbit actors attending these events don’t ever find themselves in a difficult situation when asked to pose in a certain way for a photo, or when doling out hugs to the fans. It would be awkward on both sides if the level of ‘intimacy’ crossed perceived boundaries.
    Graham McTavish seems to have been learnt a hard lesson this week when it comes to the perception of certain types of behaviour. He felt the need to apologise for the so-called ‘nipple twisting’, which appears to have been nothing more than an example of general boyish on-set antics, going by the remarks on twitter from Jed Brophy and Stephen Hunter. I guess the flip side of PJ’s generosity in sharing behind the scenes footage with the fans is the reveal of moments that actors would normally consider not open to public appraisal.

    • The whole question of how men treat women at these cons is a long, ongoing problem — there’s a whole blogosphere that addresses problems of sexism in fandom. I’m not a part of this culture but judging from the discourse around it it is an ongoing problem. In terms of a sexual harassment policy, of course, it cuts both ways. They are typically written so that anyone, man or woman, who sexually harasses another person, can be called on it.

      re: poses — there was some discussion about 2-3 weeks ago about fan manips of Turner and O’Gorman who had posed in particular ways and then been shopped to appear to be in slashy poses. My understand is that (some) fans are more upset about it than the actors, who have not said anything.

      I had to watch the vid twice to see what you were talking about. Nipple-twisting. Guys. Geez. I’m surprised no one’s written a fanfic about it.

      • *snort* this is what happens when you assemble a group of otherwise adult males…a reversion to “frat” boy occurs! Hardly the stiff of outrage I’d hope.

        • Having watched it a few times now the main thing that strikes me is how happy they all look in those frames — happy to be together again. O’Gorman in particular is beaming.

      • Re G McTavish, I’m making a presumption here that some women viewing the vlog saw the ‘nipple twisting’ as a form of sexual harassment or bullying (I think context clearly rules that out in this instance), whereas men would probably see it as merely ‘boys being boys’. The fact that neither Dean or Stephen seemed at all surprised at the time suggests a running gag to me, but it obviously caused enough criticism for GT to feel the need to apologise on twitter.

  4. Thanks for the links. Tons of great stuff going on this week!

  5. […] a brief, non-inclusive index of stuff about Richard Armitage that I noticed and enjoyed since the last episode. It doesn’t usually include materials presented on the major fansites, which I love dearly, but […]

Leave a Reply

 
