Top 10 List: Reasons to see Through the Looking Glass even though Richard Armitage only has 3 minutes of screen time

[In case, like Guylty, you are still on the fence and need an excuse.]

10. This may be the last time Richard Armitage ever performs in a British accent. Ditto the cute, triangular beard.

9. Subsidizing the activities of actors wearing fake ermine robes is a good way to antagonize animal rights activists.

Screen shot 2016-05-31 at 12.35.31 AM8. There are two whole seconds of our hero waving his thumb around.

7. Crazy love for the labiodental fricative.

6. You have a thing for thrones, but Game of Thrones has been too violent lately.

5. You’re planning to vote for the “Replace these Bozos with a Monarchy” party in the 2016 U.S. presidential election and want to see if Armitage would be a plausible candidate on the “At Least Now Our Leader Looks Really Sexy” platform.

4. The forehead. The eyes. The forehead. That look of simultaneous anger and disappointment. The forehead. Did I mention the forehead?

3. They cut out the part of the scene where it looks like the King and Queen hold hands, so for once you don’t have to be jealous of the female lead.

2. Until the world wakes up and he finally gets cast in a Shakespearean role, this is your only opportunity to see him in a doublet, even though you can’t see the doublet.

And the NUMBER ONE reason to go to the movies to see Richard Armitage in Alice Through the Looking Glass even though he only has 3 minutes of screen time:

1. You don’t like to see Richard Armitage partially nude. For any reason. Ever.

[You are invited to continue in the comments.]

~ by Servetus on May 31, 2016.

68 Responses to “Top 10 List: Reasons to see Through the Looking Glass even though Richard Armitage only has 3 minutes of screen time”

  1. Thanks for this list (and the first giggle of the day)🙂

  2. LOL – fantastic. I think this is a comprehensive, all-encompassing list. My resistance is broken. Checking screen times right now!

    • I knew that you think it’s important to see Richard Armitage only when he is fully clothed up to the wrists. In a way, it’s too bad he isn’t wearing a burqa for this role.

    • Ode to Three Minutes

      Three minutes of RA,
      What can that matter,
      We skeptically say.
      Barely enough to give us a taste,
      Of his lovely voice and pretty face.
      But they still provide quite a few treats,
      To put our butts into the seats.

      Kathy Jones

      This ode is to provide additional motivation to Guylty to going to see Alice.

  3. Labiodental fricative or voiceless labiodental fricative…with tongues! (I don’t even know what that means, but am willing to experiment with the right person!)

  4. […] with Servetus chipping away at my resistance to seeing the film – you must read her “Top 10 reasons to see Through the Looking Glass even though Richard Armitage only has 3 minutes of s…” – I think it is time to present RAPS Inc.’s latest shrine creation. Their […]

  5. ROFL!
    I’m going to see it tomorrow, maybe I’ll come up with extra reasons then.🙂

  6. Very impressive list , thanks. Am loving no 7. Definitely with you there.
    I think I’ll see the movie….

  7. Oh, I’ll go see it alright. I’ll keep a close eye on the forehead❤
    Who plays his queen?

  8. All great reasons. I went because… 1. There finally was a movie he has completed filming that I could actually go to the theatre and see and 2. A chance to get a glimpse of a furrowed brow over lovely blue eyes again. 😍

    • yeah — it was wonderful to see his face again on the big screen. Hope the next interval is not so long.

  9. Great list. I went because – all of the above. Except maybe for the labiodental thing, which I did not know existed at the time I purchased by ticket.

    • I should have alerted you earlier!

      • Yes, my shocking lack of knowledge on the whole labiodental thing and related topics is unfortunate. I do rely on you to highlight these golden nuggets of information for me.

        • Yeah, you’re right Kathy! That is a real shocking thing with all of us women (and men??) going to see our King….. unprepared!!!!😉

  10. Reblogged this on Aquilea of the Lonely Mountain.

  11. If I had not already seen it, reasons 4, 5, 7 and 8 would be the ones to change my mind. Alongside having him on a big screen while waiting for Pilgrimage and the rest of the projects.

    • 8 should really be decisive. But I couldn’t stop myself from pointing out that fans of the completely clothed Armitage should love this one.

      • 😄 I love him no matter what he has or does not have on him. But this kingly robe he has suits him, really. It draws out that blue colour of his eyes even more. I really enjoyed close ups!

        • yeah, I loved that view of his face on the big screen, too. We need so much more of that.

  12. Reason #5 is my favorite. I have been debating whether to see the film, but am almost convinced. I’m glad I waited, though, so I can fully appreciate the 3 minutes Richard is in given all the spoilers, statue back story, etc.

  13. To all of you, ladies😀🙂😀 and because of all this weighty reasons and … because this man is just….. sooooo good!!😉🙂

  14. You’ve twisted my arm and I will go see it as soon as possible.

    • LOL! Well, good! I don’t think you’ll love the fllm but I don’t think you will hate it and Mr. Armitage IS really gorgeous.

  15. A fantastic list of reasons to see Alice…as if we needed any encouragement to watch Mr. A on the big screen. Well, maybe not #1. I rather like his semi-naked form. What can I say? It’s the only one I gawk at these days. And your lines of verse where just as inspired as Kathy’s. Perhaps you two should collaborate on a long heroic narrative poem about our hero.

    • By the shores of Gitche Gumee …

      Oh, wait. Those lines are taken. Hmmm.

      • You write the Iliad and I’ll write the Odyssey. Slightly changed to have RA as the protagonist of each. Put them together and we’d have one heck of an epic poem.

  16. 7 and 8 do it for me if for no other reason!😀

  17. […] Servetus mentioned 10 reasons to go see the movie because of Richard’s cameo. I can only agree and add an extra reason: the second time Richard is on screen (it’s blink and you will miss it!) he lifts the child-Iracebeth up and tenderly, fatherly and with concern in his voice tells her to put her arms around his neck. That alone is a little heartwarming moment (I’m sorry, images are blurry but the best I could do). […]

  18. 10, 8 and 4 (plus Esther’s reason above) I finally went to watch it this afternoon because it’s been eighteen months since I last saw him on the big screen, it’s been too long, and this was sans prosthetics as well. It was definitely worth sitting through the whole movie to see his three minutes’ worth of screen time, even though they were over all too quickly. I was pleasantly surprised to find I actually quite enjoyed the movie (Sacha Baron Cohen was terrific as Time) but once RA’s second brief appearance was over it seemed to drag out overlong for me personally.

    • Yeah — I think there are no surprises at the end, and that’s a problem for holding attention. But I love to see his face so big like that, too!

  19. hm, you’re making me rethink my wait-until-the-dvd approach.. that cloak looks good enough to hide under ‘ggg’

    • I was speculating with someone earlier that it’s really a piece of the scenery that he stands behind.

Leave a Reply

