I’m trying to blog but I’m also in severe worry. I just learned that the long-term romantic partner of one of TBBOTP’s bartenders was in Orlando last night. He has not been heard from this morning. (The first weekend of June is “gay day” in Orlando / Disney and so there have been a disproportionate number of LGBTQ people in Florida the last week or so.) I can’t say anything about this in RL so I’m saying it here.

I don’t know how the United States can let this keep happening. I figured when nothing changed after Sandy Hook it was hopeless, but I also don’t know how I can stop crying and just “go on” when this happens. The victims were LGBTQ and the shooter was of Afghan descent and apparently a religious radical. That means that everyone in the establishment will just write this off. Just another mass shooting.

I can’t believe we are really this helpless.

~ by Servetus on June 12, 2016.

10 Responses to “Orlando”

  1. Thinking of your bartender, their partner & everyone else affected by this awful incident. Just don’t know what to say x

  2. Thoughts are with you and your friend. It made me feel physically ill when I was reading about this. When is enough going to be enough?

  3. It is too horrid and too sad for words….

    I simply cannot understand it. As you know we have had a few occasions when students run amok in Germany too and we have had terrorist attacks in the UK, France, Belgium and other European countries. I guess if somebody sets their mind on it they’ll get hold of weapons somehow but when it is as easy to buy guns and ammunition as it is in the U.S. every mentally unstable or insane person and any religious zelot can go on a rampage just like that…
    All those poor, innocent people 😢

  4. I’m devastated by this – pure and simple. I have only the general news, but I also have friends in Orlando, and I hope they’re safe. My thoughts go out to those affected. So, so sad😪👿

  5. Clearly, a purely hate motivated issue…whether ISIS is involved or not. So sad that time after time, hate and individuals with extreme views or mental illness profoundly affect so many other lives. Far too many times, not enough done to put a stop to all of this. Sickeningly sad and troubling.
    Oh, and by the way, I won’t be deleting my comment. 😉 {snicker} To quote Dr . Seuss, “I meant what I said, and I said what I meant….”

  6. Catching up with the posts that arrived overnight here- I’m so pleased your friend is safe.

    My heart is heavy with sadness over this atrocity. The world is poorer place today for the loss of all those innocent lives. My heart goes out to everyone touched by this terrible act.

  7. Thanks for all these supportive comments. Some families are finding out just now that their loved ones were inside are dead. I am so grateful that my friend was safe and am thinking of those families right now.

  8. I hope so much that US gun laws will be changed soon. I’m glad your friend is safe!

    • I am not hopeful, insofar as I think Sandy Hook was a watershed. The victims this time were double minorities (mostly Latino, mostly gay). If people don’t care about little white kids enough to change things, I can’t imagine this will move them, either. I am really discouraged.

Leave a Reply

