Götz George is dead

2016 needs to quit it. Schimanski was my favorite detective and he was in my favorite episode of Tatort ever and I learned so much about Germany watching that show. It was his time. But nonetheless, I feel real grief. Condolences to his family (he died several days ago and has already been buried).

680x382

~ by Servetus on June 26, 2016.

18 Responses to “Götz George is dead”

  1. Next one in this year – can someone tell the Fortuna/Destiny/Or them who are responsible to stop. I still grieve about Peter Lustig

    Like

  2. Not a big fan myself but he was quiet an institution and with his death a era in German film and TV ended 😦

    Like

  3. Er war richtig gut, wirklich eine Institution und jemand, den ich in seinen Rollen immer als sehr echt erlebt habe. Ich habe ihm einfach geglaubt, was er darstellte. Traurig – ich habe Roger Willemsen noch nicht überwunden…

    Like

  4. Oh no! He was one of the best! Another shock to kick of the new week since the last ended with one 😦

    Like

    • He stayed out of the public eye, so no surprise they kept a lid on it. Totally agree with you – many ‘heroes’ gone this year 😦

      Like

  5. I was never into him myself but I’m still so very sorry! Was he ill? Yes, my condolences as well.

    Like

    • He had retired a few years ago and not been heard from, so I am not sure if anyone but family knew what was up with him.

      Like

  6. Oh that is really sad.. i can’t imagine German TV and film without him.. may he rest in peace.

    Like

  7. Abgesang. It’s from the Schimi-Cinema-Movie.

    Like

  8. I was familiar with Klaus Lage / 1000 und eine Nacht but not this, no 🙂

    Like

  9. I think I never really saw any of the Schimanski films, but I liked him as an actor in the films with him I saw. I hardly ever watch Tatort, just because I’m not into crime shows, but I can see what you mean when you say you learnt a lot about Germany watching them. Another sad loss 😦

    Like

    • I don’t even mean only in the sense of “Germans tend to like crime stories” (what happened to you? — just kidding) but just because the actors speak in local dialects, you see local landscapes and cityscapes, you see how people tend to behave in different parts of the country …

      Liked by 1 person

  10. And he played in the “Winnetou” movies 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
