Richard Armitage re: Lord Heseltine

This impresses me. Several people I was talking about this with yesterday think Heseltine is the most sensible commentator on the whole affair so far. Here‘s the link.

Screen shot 2016-06-30 at 1.44.28 PMScreen shot 2016-06-30 at 1.49.16 PM

~ by Servetus on June 30, 2016.

9 Responses to “Richard Armitage re: Lord Heseltine”

  1. This may be collateral attraction. I don’t know. I grew up on (yes, on) comic books.
    One of the comics I liked was ‘Iznogoud’ by Goscinny (Asterix). This is a case of “I want to be the Caliph instead of the Caliph”.
    Boris Johnson is an amazing orator. I used one of his speeches in a class I taught a year ago in which the students were to analyze the rhetoric, speech patterns and presentation skills of BJ’s Ping-Pong speech.
    However, this was clear from the get-go that BJ had ambitions. He’s been Mayor of London; now he wanted to become PM instead of the PM. His tactics have backfired, and goodness knows what has gone/goes on behind the scenes. It may be Shakespearean (and I love Shakespeare), but Iznogoud (pronounced ‘is no good’) also springs to mind.

    Michael Hesseltine has been in politics for many years. I seem to recall some controversy during my time in England in the 80s. I’ll go and look it up; but he seems to have always gone with his convictions and not been afraid to take the blows.

Leave a Reply

