Richard Armitage on FDR et al

Screen shot 2016-07-02 at 10.15.27 AM

Screen shot 2016-07-02 at 10.15.17 AM

Screen shot 2016-07-02 at 10.14.57 AMHere‘s the link — read it yesterday and am in substantial agreement.

~ by Servetus on July 2, 2016.

24 Responses to “Richard Armitage on FDR et al”

  1. Heading off to work now and agree with a lot he is saying. Interesting to note the “Welfare State” comment. Am I reading it wrong in that he is implying it is not a good thing? My dad grew up in the 40’s and 50’s, in a family of eight kids, and survived without government assistance. The welfare state of often at odds with the “right”, and I believe too many people make a living off the “welfare state”.

    On a side note, I am currently reading a book about FDR and the citizens who stood with Britain during WWII.

    • People making benefiting materially from state programs is not limited to poor people. I see entitled attitudes among wealthy, middle class and poor — every day.

      I honestly can’t imagine he’s criticizing the welfare state tout court, esp given what he said a few years about the National Health Service. I think he’s saying that they got along without it for a long time and because of their work he benefited.

      • I work with the public and I hate the entitled attitudes they have. I love the line….Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country. So tired of the me, me, me attitudes

        • I’ve been a state employee my whole adult life until recently.

          • Serv, In the same capacity? I would love your take on why higher education costs so much. There was a time when it was affordable, and now, I think there is so much greed. I live in California and there are so many issues with the state run colleges. It’s more of a business instead of a place for teaching.

            • yes, taught at five different public universities between 1994 and 2014 and was then an academic advisor for another year and a half.

              re: cost of education, I honestly don’t think we should get into it here. This gets to my ambivalence about discussing politics with strangers. Hope you can understand that🙂

              • Yes, I understand.😉 Since were are on the topic of teaching, and I just got my son’s report card, I wanted to share this with you. I am big on raising my son to be responsible, self-reliant, and respectful….here is what was written in his freshmen report card. K is clearly a very responsible, mature, and hardworking student with an excellent work ethic. His grade range was an A- to and A+.

            • oh, and 1991-1994 was a research fellow, also at a public, so state employee. Work was slightly different though.

  2. I don’t think the phrase Welfare State is meant in a negative way – as he said their “toil” was his comfort. I don’t think he wants to go back to years of “toil”.

    The more I read about Brexit – the more I realize that for a lot of voters it was about protesting the inequality of the 1%. But the manner in which it was done – I’m not sure whether candidates like May have the stomach to use this opportunity to build a more just society. She is being touted as a uniter – but of what? I think Richard and many on the left hope it will be a state that their parents fought hard to build.

    • Hari and I were chatting about that the other day — that you almost have to sympathize with Leave if what we get out of it is more Thatcherism. The problem is that the EU was on some levels much more involved in supporting these social segments than the UK has been. You gotta wonder (e.g.) if May et al are going to be thrilled about continuing whatever it is, I think 8 billion in annual agricultural subsidies.

  3. I also think it’s interesting he went from tweeting about a second referendum to voicing support for May.

    • I think feeling was high about that referendum ‘the day after’ and then there was a lot of discussion about whether it would even be fair.

  4. So I am I; in agreement, that is.
    The issue here goes beyond party politics. It has to do with who’s capable of leadership.

    • yeah, and in essence, you can’t forgive people who lead you to the precipice like this — you need to remember so that you can keep them out of power.

    • Love this quote: Men make history and not the other way around. In periods where there is no leadership, society stands still. Progress occurs when courageous, skillful leaders seize the opportunity to change things for the better.

      Harry S Truman

  5. Yes, I think there is a lot of anger in the country about the 1% and about bankers’ bonuses and overpaid fat cats in Brussels. But, what appalled me the other day on a BBC discussion which was talking about the economy since Brexit is that so many of these ‘money men’ just haven’t caught on. One of the BBC’s regular financial blokes was gleefully saying that, within the EU, there was a cap on bankers’ bonuses, but, when we left, the big money wouldn’t leave London because, apart from the fact that they all enjoy living there, the cap would probably be removed to encourage them to stay and their bonuses could go back to being enormous again!

    As an aside, I cannot imagine RA NOT supporting the Welfare State. With all its flaws, I think you’d be hard put to find anyone in the UK who doesn’t support it, although they may want changes.

    • In the developed West we are all beneficiaries of welfare states. People who say they personally aren’t are ignoring history. I don’t have much patience for that argument and I have no desire to go back to the arrangements prior to it. Neither would most of them, I suspect, if they had to live it.

  6. As a side note: it’s interesting to see from replies to his comments what specifically different people remember about FDR — abandonment of Poland, destructive US foreign policy in Latin America, internment of Japanese Americans have all come up. I could think of a few more things that haven’t, as well.

    • As I noted above I am currently reading about FDR and his hesitancy in helping England during WWII. What England wanted and needed was not what he was willing to give. His ideology at that time reminds me of Obama.

  7. Forgive the irreverence. ..but since reading the comments on the Welfare state, this is all I can hear! Lol. I am often reminded of the things that made up my childhood. … wow, how far we’ve come.
    I too am frustrated by the wealthy elite. It is not only the British who feel this way! I applaud Richard for speaking with conviction from his heart.

    • Reading the Sunday papers, it was good to see in a couple of articles that the bankers, amazingly, are showing some humility. They are stunned by the vote and are wondering what part they played in bringing it about. One said that they were too London focused, for instance, and that they should think about employing more people from the poorer regions in the North. I couldn’t believe what I was reading (and perhaps I shouldn’t, LOL). If Brexit brings about a change in attitude from the banks, then that will have made it worth it for me.

      • I don’t know what you do (I don’t think anyone knows, not just me) what you do in a situation where you have a services economy and conventional productivity measures drop so much.

        My suspicion, though, is that Brexit isn’t going to change the banks. They will find other ways to globalize; it’s in their interest.

    • Dad and I have been watching that off and on together — very weird to be seeing it again these days.

Leave a Reply

