Way to go, Richard Armitage

[As I’m sure someone has explained, “amateurs” in this context means “lovers.” This brewer is not an official Trappist brewery so they are simply making a loving imitation.]

Screen shot 2016-07-03 at 10.40.00 AM Screen shot 2016-07-03 at 10.39.42 AM

~ by Servetus on July 3, 2016.

29 Responses to “Way to go, Richard Armitage”

  1. i’m not sure i understand this? Once again, Twitter confuses me

    • He made it worse in this case. There’s a missing tweet here. You read from the bottom.

      1. He posted Paddy Ashdown’s (Lib Dem) political platform.
      2. He then responded to a fan who said she wished actors would stay out of politics, saying he was a person too, not only an actor. He then deleted that tweet.
      3. Next he responded to a fan who thought he was criticizing people who received benefits (several tweets)
      4. Then he said he wasn’t influencing politics, it was just pub talk (paraphrasing)
      5. Finally he started talking about the beer he was drinking (a high AVB Belgian Trappist beer
      6. Then he tagged Michael Roskam who is from Belgium, where the beer omes from.

      Hope that helps.

  2. Thank you for the comment, I was confused too🙂

  3. thankfully it’s not just me who was struggling to figure this out. I appreciate the clarification, serv. happy fourth!!

    • Twitter makes itself really hard to read. Maybe another reason they are not growing much at the moment.

  4. Thank you for the tweet play by play. I was more confused than usual. Quite alarming considering how habitually confused I am about Twitter. So, I thought RA didn’t like beer. Is he drinking it in solidarity with other EU beer drinkers? Or is he just knocking back a brewski for fun, as an ordinary person who happens to be an actor? Or both? Or none?🙂

    • I don’t think it was that he didn’t like it so much as he preferred wine — I’ve forgotten the details of this discussion but it’s here somewhere.

      It’s now complicated by the fact that he has deleted three MORE of these tweets.

      The beer he’s drinking is a raspberry beer — so some people would say candyass. Those fruit beers, if they are dry enough, can taste a little like a sparkling white.

      • Candyass beer sounds really good to someone like me, who rarely drinks beer. I will have to try some. Maybe he deleted three more tweets under the influence. Drinking while tweeting – not good.

        • He’s drinking the classy version of it — I really like it but the hardass drinkers at the moment are all about bitter (IPAs, etc.) If you want to try a raspberry beer I would suggest Lindemann’s Framboise. Very popular and widely available. Get ready to pucker.

  5. Wow. I go on holiday and Armitage goes full-on socio-politico. Bravo! A man with an opinion. And rash reactions. He is human after all. I am mire than relieved – and more in love than ever (although not fully d’accord with his “conservatoid” argumentation). But I’ll reiterate it here: A political conscience is sexy!

    • I think there’s enough evidence of the problem he’s talking about (at least in the US; don’t know about England) that it’s not conservatoid to point out that it exists. It’s definitely the case here due to the health insurance question. If you transition from public assistance to a job without insurance, you’re taking a huge hit. I’m not sure to what extent it’s motivational, though, in people not seeking work, because there are so many other disadvantages to receiving welfare. The equation is also different for the childfree vs those with children, and so on. An unbelievably complex problem. That said, I don’t know that anyone has found (or is willing to find) a solution. Saying that it is a problem is not in itself “conservatoid.” Unless you think that pragmatism is conservative?

      In any case, he’s now deleted those tweets, so I suppose it doesn’t matter any more that I cared enough to think about it🙂

      • It probably doesn’t make sense to continue discussing this – as the tweets have now vanished. (My wifi did yesterday, too, hence I couldn’t continue the discussion.) But this is an issue that I find rather important. Tbh, I still find this argument dangerously veering towards the right because it is so often used to justify the cutting of benefits. Also, it can serve as a way to pit two (similarly disadvantaged) groups against each other – I do not find that helpful at all.
        But well, there is not much point in discussing this here as the man who started the argument is never available to actually discuss it.

        • I dunno. I agree that certain problems might be identified as liberal vs. conservative concerns, but if we can’t raise and discuss problems without labeling the problems themselves as dangerous and not possible of consideration, we can get rid of all of democracy. There has to be a way to actually speak about issues.

          • Well, for starters you need to have someone to discuss this with. It may be good that Armitage starts these discussions, but he is only ever a “Stichwortgeber”.

            • I discuss these things all the time. I don’t need Richard Armitage as a pretext for doing so. I just don’t usually do it here. He’s not making up a problem — the question is widely discussed as far as I know in both the British and US press. Simply noting a fact — in certain situations, benefits recipients can be “penalized” for working, which may create a disincentive depending on the motivvation of the recipient — is neither conservative nor liberal. If this situation can not be raised, we as citizens of democratic polities all might as well go home.

              • Ehm, you seem to think I am attacking Armitage? I am not at all. I am glad he is throwing his political opinion out there. I never said that he is making up a problem. I merely said that I do not like the argument.

                • No, you seem to be attacking my position that certain things are not discussable because they are “conservatoid” (your word). I’m saying if we can’t discuss ideas just because they are associated with political positions that encompass roughly half of voters, we can give up on our political system.

                  • Apologies if I caused a misunderstanding. My criticism is strictly related to the content of the argument. I have absolutely no wish to stifle debate and am astonished I came across like that. It’s not helped by the fact that internet is flaky here on holidays, so it’s probably best if I just stay away from discussion. Sorry to have caused offense.

  6. In the course of my employment, I have access to what welfare benefits people receive. There are MANY people who actually get more in benefits than I earn, and I’ve worked full time for 16 years. Plus they get free rent. (They also have wide screen TV’s and holidays I couldn’t afford). I will measure that by saying that people on the basic level of benefits do not have it easy at all. They really do scrape by and I would suggest they need more help.
    There is now a “benefits class” in the UK, who have never had an incentive to work. And they are probably 2nd or 3rd generation benefits class. I regularly hear people talk about their state benefits as their “wages”.
    So much has been handed out that the whole system is wrong. It was meant to support people in times of need, but has become a lifestyle choice for lots of people.
    Also, the minimum wage and zero hours contracts also gives little incentive because you work minimum wage, you get no help with your rent, and you might as well not work because you loose too much. I work in a very economically deprived area, and it’s actually unusual to deal with a person in work, and those are generally the people I can help the least. I shouldn’t be telling someone in work about food banks.
    There are lots of things changing, Welfare Reform as it’s known, but there are so many people on excessive welfare benefits that the level of cuts being imposed will be very detrimental to a lot of people, and probably the wrong people too. You shouldn’t get more on state benefits than you do in employment.
    I wouldn’t want to sort out the mess it has become, but it’s such a massive drain on the economy that it needs to change.

    I have no answers, but I do know how to have a rant about it…..

    • There’s also the question of what happens if benefits payments are removed from structurally weak areas, i.e., if everyone takes a cut to the amount of money for food, what does that do to food stores in the area where they live? We see a lot of issues with this type of problem in the US and it has ripple effects because cities are mostly organized around cars, i.e., if people don’t have the income to keep a grocery store open and they can’t go elsewhere, other mechanisms that many of us like less (expensive convenience stores, fast food proliferation) arise to meet the need. If a neighborhood degenerates, less and less work is available; it’s a downward spiral.

      I can’t really compare the US and the UK, but I think part of the thing to be considered is the values question it comes down to, i.e., are we willing to have some or perhaps many people abuse a system in order to guarantee that most are protected, or would we prefer to leave some or even many unprotected in order to make sure that no one abuses the system? It’s of interest to me that when it comes to benefits many of us resolve this question quite differently than we do with regard to the law (i.e., the system is organized to accept the possibility that guilty people will go free in order to try to avoid imprisoning the innocent, even if that doesn’t always work out in practice). One of the ideas historically behind the rise of the welfare state as it was created in the 20th century was the rejection of a notion of deserving vs undeserving poor that had persisted in Europe since roughly the middle of the sixteenth century (came in about the time of the Reformation). I don’t know what the answer is but we seem to be retreating from the idea of (relative) neutrality with regard to the reasons that people are poor.

  7. What the…..? What happened to Mr Lockjaw?

  8. Here’s what I want to know, when did he trade in the pinot for beer? Is it a when in England sort of thing?

    • I suspect it’s not a doctrinaire thing. There’s that early picture of him with a pint and a girl; when he was in NZ he was interviewed about a pub crawl with Graham McTavish and said he liked blonde beers. A raspberry beer (lambic) is very sour, so to many drinkers it might taste more like wine than like beer.

  9. Well, I guess of he’s going to delete something, I’d rather it be about beer.

    • Seriously. One of the main strands in beer hipsterism these days is “stop taking yourself seriously,” lol.

Leave a Reply

