Richard Armitage the moralist

Screen shot 2016-08-05 at 9.23.47 AM

~ by Servetus on August 5, 2016.

24 Responses to “Richard Armitage the moralist”

  1. I don’t get how this follows the rest of the tweets but I like the sentiment and I do think it’s genuine for him.

    • I think it’s a genuine sentiment. I’m tired of him telling us what a great guy he is.

      • I’m not sure if it’s meant that way, Servetus. It could also mean that he’s not always critical enough and might have been in for unpleasant surprises when it turns out that people weren’t as good as he’d hoped / thought? I’m not sure. Speaking for myself, I don’t ‘seek the best in people’ and still get surprised at just how nasty some of them can be in ways I wouldn’t have expected. So my interpretation of what he wrote might be coloured by my own experiences.

        But I’m also not quite sure how this fits in with the other, political tweets. If I go with my possible interpretation, maybe he’s been disappointed in politicians, too? I’m far too cynical for that, I must admit. As a rule, I’m expecting them to be dishonest and more often than not immoral.

        • Yes — interpretation is always affected by the experiences of the reader, and meaning is not created only by an author but also by the audiences that read it.

          • I interpreted as a continuation. That he does have questions about Hillary’s emails, but is willing to chalk up any appearance of secrecy to her meaning well, and hoping that she will be good leader. Too much of a stretch to see all that?

            • Interesting; I didn’t interpret this as a statement about Hilary, but as a statement about the disclosure / transparency problem of which he saw her as an example (she isn’t, IMO). Still, in this comment, he’s clearly juxtaposting his behavior to the behavior of others he describes, and he’s clearly bragging.

            • laying aside, of course, that it’s a ridiculous comparison (see comment I made somewhere else about the difference between personal morality and the decisions of statesmen/women).

            • I mean, seriously — he’s not even honest or transparent with fans 100% of the time (not that I expect him to be; it would not be in his interest), so he’s really got a lot of nerve praising his own virtue.

              • No, there is no comparison between a statesperson and an individual’s virtue. I try to stay away from questioning others, since I know my own. None of us are squeaky clean.

        • I agree. I think he is trying to find a justification to trusting people in general regardless it being politicians, friends, and family, etc.

          I don’t think he’s telling how much a great person he is. IMO, he is trying to reason with all the political upheaval in the world, especially in Britain, Europe, and the United States.

          • I’m sorry, where in this tweet is there any language or reference to language about “political upheaval in the world, especially in Britain, Europea, and the United States”? None of those things are referenced in this tweet. Presuming of course that the pronoun “I” refers to Richard Armitage, he’s speaking about himself.

            • I am only speculating on this issue after reading through all his recent tweets, which all relates to world politics.
              I’m sorry too if you don’t get what I’m trying to say. This is just my opinion.

              • I understood exactly what you wanted to say. You have no textual evidence for your argument, however. Even if you say this is the conclusion to his previous tweets (note that this possibility was expressed above), it’s not about “political upheaval.” It’s about transparency, disclosure, and telling the truth.

    • I also think, if this tied to what he said earlier (it seems to be in his mind), that he’s conflating individual matters with government ones. Individual morality (trying to see the good in others) is not really compatible with politics (there are malevolent actors in the world), just as individual privacy (the right not to be constantly under surveillance) is not the same thing as government confidentiality (the need for certain data to remain under cover).

  2. I wonder – is this a statement relating to his character in Berlin Station or his personal point of view? This ‘indomitably’ makes it quite strong, doesn’t it?

    As much as I give people the benefit of doubt intitially, sometimes, there comes a point when trying too hard to find the ‘best’ in people doesn’t work anymore – especially if you don’t like them or find them disagreeable to begin with. (Unsympathisch in German). Not sure I really buy his statement. 🤔 Then again, he may well be a much better person in RL than I am.

    • Good question, isn’t it? I don’t know. I hope he’s talking about his character but I doubt it.

      I think you get to the heart of the issue here, and potentially part of the problem is Twitter, which makes it hard to say anything subtle. I suspect that most people “try to find the ‘best'” in others — even if not all of us would put it that way or that strongly. (Other ways to put it: I try to love others, I try to follow the Golden Rule, I give people the benefit of the doubt, etc.).

      In fact if one observes human interactions one finds relatively few people who consistently enter a situation with behavior that suggests that they truly think badly of others or expect to be treated badly — even if they are sometimes skeptical. This includes people who I would characterize as otherwise not very nice or admirable. It is also a useful strategy to get what one wants, i.e., in itself it involves an aspect of lying to oneself (“I know you aren’t a very nice person, but I will strive to find the best in you.”). And there are people who engage in it professionally. Good teachers, for instance, are engaged in this all day long every day (to varying degrees, of course).

      But there is absolutely a line — some agents are irretrievably bad, and the ‘best’ that is to be found in them is not very good — and some people act intentionally in ways that seek to aggravate others. We also don’t see all of everyone. So yeah, I don’t really buy it.

      And here we are with the catechism again (in terms of my own responses to stuff like this). I’m developing an allergy to this kind of statement. Armitage’s catalog of his own virtue is getting tiring.

    • i want to qualify this statement slightly — I think there are parts of the world or particular historical situations where most people enter an interaction with bad will or heavy suspicion. Obviously it’s a matter of culture, history, and circumstance. But I think for Armitage’s core audience, most people are living in situations where they aren’t automatically assuming bad will.

      • I agree with you.

        I think my trouble with a lot of his tweets is the wording. It’s a bit ‘too much, too strong/moralistic(?)/heavy-handed’ at times.

        • Yeah, it reminds me of his first CyberSmile statement about how he never listens to people complain about other people or however he put that. “I try to always find the best in people” is still a platitude but it’s not bragging at the same level.

  3. One thing I never liked about the computer is how no matter what you say it is a flat medium and you can say simply ” I love you” and no one really know how it is being said, facetiously truthfully, jokingly, just so very hard to tell, Someone once said if your joking put a smiley face. geesh how many can us use up????

    • The problem is that there are plenty of people who use the smiley sarcastically.

      it’s true that if you want to express what you mean effectively on Twitter you must choose your words extremely carefully.

  4. Yes, whether Twitter, Facebook, emails…doesn’t matter. When there is no facial/body expression as in face to face, or even intonation of voice as on the phone, misunderstandings of meaning are much more likely to occur. Even within family members, who know each other so well, let alone those who’ve never met.

Leave a Reply

