More from the realm of factless opinion

Screen shot 2016-08-20 at 4.58.18 PM

~ by Servetus on August 20, 2016.

17 Responses to “More from the realm of factless opinion”

  1. Lol! He’s never gonna live that down.

    But the graphic novel looks interesting. Not sure why he’s tagging Berlin Station though.

  2. Maybe if AMC turns it into a show I might watch it. The only comic books I ever read were Archie, Betty, and Veronica. Needless to say, that means none since the 70’s lol.

    • There are some really good graphic novels. Probably the most well known is Art Spiegelman’s Maus, which is worth a read if you haven’t checked it out. I love Marjane Satrapi’s Persepolis. I’ve read quite a few more that I’ve enjoyed but those two stand out.

      • My son had to read Maus I and II for a college course. I thought they were excellent and kept them for my own library. I never thought I would be interested in a graphic novel.

      • I definitely enjoy some of AMC’s series based on comics, and certainly some of the films. I have nothing against the genre, it just isn’t my choice of reading material.

    • 3rd rec: Safe Area Gorazde.

      • If I may butt in – yes, all three are excellent. serv, did you also do a graphic novel course? Other recs: Sacco’s Palestine, Lutes’ Berlin: City of Stones, Delisle’s Jerusalem,and Louis Riel by Chester Brown.

        • No, but if I was teaching a course with a lot of reading, I always tried to make one book a graphic novel to make it easier for students to read. Also, it was hard to find anything about the former Yugoslavia that was comprehensible to students unfamiliar with the names, geography and history and “Safe Area” was a good bridge over that problem. The last time I taught a first year seminar I included Persepolis. Marjane Satrapi is almost exactly my age and I remember watching on tv the political events she lived through, so that is a fascinating one for me.

          I read Sacco’s Palestine and had some issue with it but it was so long ago now I can’t remember what it was, lol. City of Stones looks interesting.

        • oh, and Blankets, which was about growing up religious in Wisconsin. I didn’t grow up that kind of religious but a lot about that one really resonated.

  3. Just as fyi, this book is available on preorder from Amazon for a good bit less than the link above shows…. and I’m wondering if this book is simply a compilation of Americatown #1-#4, which are also available (or will be at end of the month) for just a few dollars each. I may check #1 out, since I’m such a cheapo🙂

    • My impression is that it’s a compilation.

    • I will read this if the library gets it, but probably not otherwise. I just read a post-apocalyptic novel (Lionel Shriver, The Mandibles) and that’s probably enough for me for a while. I’m not a big fan of the genre.

      • I liked the Divergent series (at least the 1st 2, the 3rd not so much) and the graphic novel aspect of this is intriguing. I’m hoping Berlin Station itself will be even better though🙂

        • I really loved The Hunger Games, was somewhat less excited about Divergent (only read the first one).

  4. I’m not really into graphic novels although I’m aware that there’s some high-quality stuff out there. But this is an interesting idea with America brought low and now Americans are the immigrants trying to find a better life elsewhere. People in a lot of western countries are used to being on top compared to other countries, and people from those countries trying to get their foot in the door. But these things can change. I just recently read about Ethiopia sending food and blankets to Germany to help people after the war. I was really astonished since I’d never heard of that. We’ve been so used to it being the other way around in recent decades.
    So he’s definitely picked an interesting book there. The connection may be the author, but considering the role that xenophobia and a dislike of immigration play in current US and UK politics (and elsewhere, too), I’ve been asking myself if that’s part of the reason he mentioned this.

    • I remember that the THW was in New Orleans ahead of FEMA during Katrina. It was kind of a shock to us, too.

      I think I’ve read my one postapocalyptic America novel for the year but if this comes to our library system I will definitely check it out.

Leave a Reply

