This is one of the more interesting things you’ve said!

Screen shot 2016-09-05 at 12.33.11 PM

~ by Servetus on September 5, 2016.

24 Responses to “This is one of the more interesting things you’ve said!”

  1. Hm. Is there a reason why RA is saying that? Was there a discussion about the theme of the play in the media?

    • From what I have read in the media so far most of the discussion seems focused on the have and have not aspect of the baby boomers vs their children. More on the economics than on love?

    • Not more so at the moment than before.

      I was looking at the discussion imdb, though, and thinking, if all that reading and watching this play does is make people take one side or another of the generational conflict, it will be an exhausting fall. Several readers seem to have decided already who’s in the right. That’s not what I took away from the play after reading it, that Bartlett wants us to decide, but I have no idea how it will be played in NYC. So I thought it was interesting that he said that — also in light of what’s been going on in my own family life lately. I don’t know if you know the poem, The Death of the Hired Man (Robert Frost) but there’s a line in there about family / home that’s well known among Americans: “Home is the place where, when you have to go there, they have to take you in” — and I wonder if he’s putting that kind of spin or reading on the relationships in the play. It would have the virtue of adding a heck of a lot of complexity to what is already a fairly complex set of questions in the play.

      • That is so true; and not just into their home, but in their heart, even if they, or you, would rather not! Family is shelter in more ways than a physical dwelling. I will find that poem and read it.

      • After first reading the play the generational conflict is mostly what I focused on and thought about. But, after your post today of RA’s tweet about love, I see there are layers and layers of different forms of love and relationships in there too. The play definitely is more than it seems at first glance. I am so glad you are going to see it since I cannot. I am really looking forward to you writing about it as you did for The Crucible. (at least I am hoping you will!). And of course I live in hope to see those side buttoned pants make a resurrection for stage door pictures.

      • Generational conflict or familial love – both very complex themes, I think. And I suppose one doesn’t come without the other?
        I’ll probably exit the discussion of the play from here on in because I have not read it and I don’t want to know anything until I see it.

        • yeah, that’s why I didn’t post about my reaction to this in depth in the post itself — most of the people I know are still trying to avoid spoilers.

  2. Interesting. I wonder if he says that because of Ken and Sandra or if he means all of the characters. There is no doubt, at least to me, that this family ultimately loves one another, but it’s pretty dysfunctional in my opinion. As in Kenneth loves and cares for his adult son but it not exactly healthy the way he goes about it.

    • yes — potentially not what love is ideally, but “Love, Actually” (to steal a line from another context known to most of us).

  3. Love’s is a big part of the play – being in it – having it, and being marginalized because of it. An interpretation with a twist on the familial love not evident from the script or prior productions might disappoint me.

  4. I don;t recall writing that I think he makes things up. I have to learn there is such a thing as a non-expressed thought, LOL, because I do believe it, when it comes to his work or how he sees a role/piece.

    • I thought you said that about Into the Storm (paraphrasing), more or less. Like he told his whole backstory to that character in the press publicity and then it wasn’t in the film. I could be misremembering.

      • I don’t have the quote, but after our comments here, I thought to myself that I sure could have said something like that after one or more of ITS interviews.

  5. Ya, making it up might not describe it as well as the unintentional blurring of the written word with his backstory.

Leave a Reply

