Roundabout artistic director: “Most memorable first rehearsal” #richardarmitage

Screen shot 2016-09-05 at 1.42.21 PMTodd Haimes comments on the play, here.


~ by Servetus on September 15, 2016.

11 Responses to “Roundabout artistic director: “Most memorable first rehearsal” #richardarmitage”

  1. I found that fascinating. I hope he writes about further impressions of the production.

    • I agree. It’s time for them to be pushing out more stuff anyway about Love, Love, Love, as soon as Cherry Orchard opens (this week, I think).

      • I’ve never read The Cherry Orchard and have no idea what it is about. I guess I should. I have the feeling Love Love Love is going to be a treat for those who make it to see it.

        • It’s a Russian play about an aristocratic woman who is about to lose her estate — it’s kind of about the passing of time and the changing of eras in society. It’s kind of sad.

          • Reminds me of the documentary I’ve been watching lately, Grey Gardens, which is not just sad but bizarre.

            • That’s a classic (which I haven’t seen; I have seen The Cherry Orchard). There are a lot of eccentric characters in The Cherry Orchard, too — but it’s kind of about Russia in the early 20th c. The serfs and the middle class are becoming more powerful and they are taking things over from the nobility.

  2. I would have loved to be a fly on the wall for those discussions. Technically I’m a baby boomer, but I never felt like I belonged to that group.

    • What I liked about the general thrust of that post was that it emphasized that they were very interested in thinking about the question of generation without automatically taking sides or embracing a stereotype. Since the fact that Armitage was doing this play has been known, I’ve seem more comments than I’m comfortable that just reproduce the conflict and I’ve been wondering whether I can really handle reading polarization all fall🙂

  3. It was an excellent essay, he had really thought about the various aspects of what is going into the play as a whole. I guess Richard is too old for Gen X, that must put him in the Yuppie generation, not that that description fits him.

Leave a Reply

