Going to Brain on Fire in Toronto! #richardarmitage

I’ve got a ticket to the Saturday showing of Brain on Fire in Toronto and I will be leaving shortly. I’m driving!

This is insane! Pay $27 for a ticket to a movie that I am skeptical about, and drive twelve hours one way? This is probably the most frivolous fangirl thing I’ve ever done.


When I got up on September 4 and saw they had opened the Saturday screening to the general public, I thought, hmmm, I could do that. I picked Saturday rather than Friday because I figured that the odds that Richard Armitage would be a surprise guest in Toronto at the public premiere fell out near zero (this was a small role; his play in New York opens next week; I am sure they are rehearsing at the limit of what their Equity contracts will allow; unnecessary travel tends to upset one’s equilibrium), and I didn’t feel like battling Toronto’s Friday rush hour.

Why am I doing it? Because I could have gone to Leeds if I’d made a superhuman effort, and I didn’t, because I was feeling sorta ambivalent about Armitage at the time, and I regret not doing it. Because my employment situation means I can afford to waste the time. Because there’s someone I can meet there. Additional attractions: I’ll get to drive across the Mackinac Bridge for the first time, and also through the Hiawatha National Forest.


So. No liveblogging of anything here on Friday. I’ve left you some suggestions for looking for information. I will be largely incommunicado this weekend (driving all day Friday, film on Saturday, driving all day Sunday).

There’s a showing of the film Friday morning at 10 a.m., U.S. Eastern time (the twitter links below may be helpful there). News conference around the premiere will be streamed on Youtube, on the TIFF live channel, here, at noon, U.S. eastern time. The premiere will take place that evening at 6 p.m. The Saturday showing is at 1:30 p.m.

Screen shot 2016-08-16 at 11.29.51 AM

I have seen five or six notices of fans who planned to attend the Friday performance, and you should look for their reviews on Twitter, tumblr and on the blogs.

Here are some links to Twitter live searches that might be useful if you want to follow what is happening. About a month ago Twitter introduced a new feature, a “quality filter” that affects which tweets you see. I’ve found that I now see substantially more of Twitter when I’m logged out. So you may want to compare what you see at these links while logged in or logged out. If you’re not a Twitter user, of course, they all still work.

~ by Servetus on September 16, 2016.

36 Responses to “Going to Brain on Fire in Toronto! #richardarmitage”

  1. Yay! Have fun and safe travels! Looking forward to your review since I liked the book and could imagine Richard in the role they gave him.🙂

  2. Wooow!! Have a safe trip, Serv! Looking forward to your review!!

  3. Have a safe travel…..

  4. Serv, being frivolous is good for the soul! And I’m delighted that you’re doing this. Looking forward to reading your remarks upon your return.

    Have fun and safe travels!!

  5. Safe travels, and have fun! Looking forward to your review.

  6. Safe travels Serv!! 🚗 👍🏻

  7. Have fun! 😃

  8. Safe travel! Welcome to Canada!

  9. Safe trip! Have fun! 🙂👏

  10. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts, and maybe about a glimpse.

  11. Reblogged this on Armitage Agonistes and commented:


  12. Safe journey and enjoy the movie🙂 Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

  13. Das ist wahrhaftig eine verrückte Idee🙂
    Der Wg ist das Ziel und ich bin schon soooo gespannt, was du nach diesem Husarenstück zu erzählen hast. (Die Brücke sieht wunderbar aus.)

    • The bridge was really cool. Really. And there was another bridge on the US/Canada border that I hadn’t thought about and it was neat, too.

  14. Oh, you are already on the road, I take it. Enjoy the trip – whatever the film brings, it’ll be a nice outing for you.
    PS: Hope you have your passport on you😉

    • OMG, do not even start with the US / Canada passport debate🙂 The stories I could tell you from the 1990s … nowadays, I’d just be screwed, but there used to be circumstances under which one could cross with just the driver’s license.

  15. safe travels and hope it is a nice ride in spite of distance and enjoy the film🙂 Looking forward to your impressions🙂

  16. Weeeeeeeeeee!

  17. Have fun! Looking forward to reading your impressions.

  18. Have a great trip – take care – and watch BOF for me🙂
    I look forward to your review.

  19. Good luck and safe travels!

  20. Have fun and a safe journey. I look forward to your review and whatever else you decide to write about this trip.

  21. Yay! Hope you have fun and have a safe trip!

  22. Back on the road! It’s been a while…… Have you got enough of the ultimately necessary Audio Armitage Treatments with you???? Sure you have….😉 Viel Spaß und gute Reise!

  23. Wow! Szerokiej Drogi , Serv!
    I see you behind the wheel🙂 bet you are listening to someone’s beautiful baritone 😉

  24. It’s great that you’re being a frivolous fangirl instead of analytical researcher for a change. Whether or not you like the movie, you will enjoy the experience overall, and spending time with whoever it is that you’re meeting. All that aside, just the drive over the Mackinac Bridge, and through Hiawatha will be a great adventure. Take your time, take it in. Thanks for all the tips to amuse and occupy us while you’re gone. Have a wonderful time, enjoy!

  25. Safe journey and hopefully you enjoy your frivolous time. Everyone deserves to do something frivolous once in a while. Looking forward to your blog when you return.

  26. Be a frivolous fangirl! Have a nice weekend and enjoy the trip.Bon voyage!

  27. That’s fantastic – you go girl! I live in Toronto and won’t even be seeing it (conflicting obligation unfortunately). Enjoy your trip and safe journey. Welcome to Toronto!

  28. I so love your style!

  29. This is fantastic! Have a wonderful time and a safe trip—this is going to sound weird, but I’m jealous that you get to do the bridge! That thing has been on my list for a long time.

    Catch you when you return! Have fun.

    • You should definitely go. I wish I had had more time to explore and I will definitely go again. (Also, if you ahve not been to the Sault St Marie locks, you should do that, too)

  30. Totally late to the party but I hope you had lots of fun and I can’t wait to read about your journey and the movie!

  31. Ditto to what Herba said!🙂

  32. Thanks to all you guys who left a comment here — it was really a jolt when Ihad time to look at the Internet again on Saturday and see all the support! I hope everyone gets to see it soon.

Leave a Reply

