Getty’s got Richard Armitage


~ by Servetus on September 30, 2016.

21 Responses to “Getty’s got Richard Armitage”

  1. All of him.

  2. Is this a reused suit? Love the entire combo! Love the mix of patterns.

  3. In this light, being so thin for LLL, he looks every bit his age and then some. We all hit a point in life when we look older and more wrinkly when we lose weight, as it tends to leave the face first. He has reached that age. This will not be popular, but here, he does not look years younger, I think he actually looks older than 45. Sorry, but it will reverse when he bulks up again.

    • Dear All,

      I’ve been a lurker here for about 6 weeks; now making a shy appearance, drawn out by Jane Steinmiller’s comment which I entirely agree with.

      I’ll try to keep my thoughts brief as I’m aware they might prove unpopular and may not be well received. But I did want to share them with you nevertheless. I was actually sad to see Richard this morning [yes, I stayed up and watched the live stream at stupid o’clock :o)]. He just didn’t look and feel like the Richard I hold dear.

      I know people grow older and mature (physically and professionally). And I am pleased Richard (hopefully) has a hit series in the US on his hands now with BS. But when I saw this new, thin, suave Richard confidently posing for photographs, I felt a pang and longed for the shy, slightly awkward, healthy-looking guy from 2010-2012 whose Spooks and Hobbit interviews I watched and rewatched so many times on YouTube and who elicited a reaction as I have never experienced with any other actor. It’s hard to put it into words but I just felt that Richard had gone and I miss him. 😰

      Sorry if this is not making sense. I guess I should be happy for him instead of being selfish! I just really miss the old Richard. 😪

      • I wouldn’t worry about the weight lasting. He will hopefully bulk right up again when he’s not trying to pass for a 19 year old onstage every night. He has looked pretty good in the photos related to Love, Love, Love. I think the lighting on the red carpet was really unflattering for him. He always looks best when it’s just a bit darker, or he is partially in shadows. I still don’t think he is particularly comfortable doing these events, but it is part of the job, he is just better at covering it up from so much practice. (By the way, don’t worry about voicing your opinion. One of the reasons we LOVE Servetus, is because she lets us say what we really think.)

      • Thanks for the comment and welcome. The only restrictions on comments are explained in the comments policy (mostly: no personal attacks, don’t troll, no hate speech). But don’t expect me not to argue with you if I disagree🙂

        I think you’re correct that people change. My perception is that what you’re feeling is fairly common as a general trend within this fandom — people fell in love with an earlier version of him who are bothered when that gradually erodes in favor of a slightly modified version. I know several fans it’s happened to. Probably the most notorious case was a blogger named pi. You could even say that is a bit of what happened to me in 2015. And something similar seems to be happening in the last year or so in a segment of the Cumberbatch fandom.

        I don’t know that it’s selfish. He’s not a real person for us in the same way that (say) a friend is, and we’re not obligated to stick around for changes in the same way that we might feel to be for a friend. There are lots of options for crushes, and the crush exists to serve my needs, not vice versa.

        • Hi Servetus and Jane, thanks for your responses. And thank you, Servetus, for the remarkably up-to-date and comprehensive resource that is your blog! Your dedication and efforts are much appreciated.

          I do feel a sense of loss and there is some grief as well (a bit as if I truly had broken up with someone in RL) but hopefully I will reach a stage where I can follow RA’s career more dispassionately, without feeling pain. Breaking up is hard to do but I want to stay friends. I’m not as radical as the blogger pi.

          I am sure the other readers here have long worked this out for themselves (and apologies if this is old ground for you and hence boring).

          But I do wonder how much his personality has altered. Does he enjoy the money, the fame and the PR blitz campaigns now? Has he (partially) sold out to Hollywood or does he recognise and adopt certain activities and behaviours as a necessary evil? He said in an interview his arkenstone was respect and that he didn’t covet material wealth. Does this still apply? He seems so comfortable “schmoozing” now. I do enjoy his tweets (which makes me a bit of a hypocrite!) but the way he has embraced social media after having been a former luddite really raised questions for me. But then, he is a consummate actor delivering very convincing performances! And this is the one performance that has to be perfect and cannot afford any “cracks”.

          I would like to believe that it’s all an act and that the “real” RA is still underneath the designer garb, playing the Hollywood game so he can reach a level of recognition that makes great theatre roles accessible to him. The truth is probably somewhere in between and time may tell. (I like him best when he dresses himself although it’s often a painful sight to behold! 😂)

          In the meantime, I intend to continue to melt at his voice (TY Audible!!) and to enjoy his acting skills and the articulate, considered manner in which he discusses his work.

          And Jane, I cannot wait for him to bulk up again so the eye candy makes a spectacular return too!! 😝😍😝

          Apologies for the novel, I’m trying to get my head straight!! 😊 I suspect so may relapse into quiet reader mode once I have worked this out for myself! 🙂

          • “I” not “so”

          • I think it depends a lot on your baseline — I think important elements of the public persona of 2004 Richard Armitage are irretrievably gone or mostly only there in vestiges any more, and this was a big issue to the true legacy fans — fans of the first hours. I do think the whole Hobbit phase has to have changed him, just insofar as he probably doesn’t have to worry too hard about where the next job is coming from. It’s given him a lot of freedom (which I think is good). I think if respect were now unimportant to him, he wouldn’t be doing Love, Love, Love. It’s a project that is going to pay poorly, or at least totally out of proportion to the amount of effort it requires. Its main payoff will be artistic and professional rather than enhancing his popularity or his wealth.

            As far as whether he’s comfortable schmoozing now — I don’t think you can really take these vids from last as evidence. He’s more or less talking to people he already knows in all the vids we’ve seen (and to me he doesn’t look tremendously comfortable when he steps onto that carpet and starts embracing people). I think we can’t know the extent to which he’s become comfortable with the celebrity social scene because we really never see him in it. If he’s not in the project himself, he’s not photographed participating in it.

            For a long time, IMO, his performance of Richard Armitage in public was his weakest one. Not in that I didn’t like what I saw, but in that it was often really clumsy. He does seem to be changing that, but I also think his tweets are evidence that he doesn’t really have it under control.

            Good luck figuring it out — a lot of us are going through variations of this. I even had the thought a month or so ago that I should start a blog for former fans of Richard Armitage, lol.

            • Thanks for your thoughts Servetus. I agree with your analysis. Your last sentence made me giggle out loud! 😃

  4. Love the whole outfit, especially the pineapple tie. It’s as though he put the pineapple on his front step, and said welcome to me!

  5. beautiful… but.. brown shoes! ‘ggg’

    • I like the brown shoes, that he didn’t do matchy-matchy.

      • Ah i’m just a bit old fashioned and v European i’m afraid in that respect😉 And more adventurous as well in some respects :-p

        • Brown shoes with blue suit is a pretty timeless classic — and that style rule comes to the US from England.

          • Strictly no brown shoes in the city for example for grey/blue still. But they are v conservative. Or if, with a much darker shade of brown suit and then with a matching leather belt/tie. Or if, i would have give it another brown accent, no tie and a shirt in a matching shade – this is what i mean by i would be more flamboyant😉 I really liked this ensemble, i would have prob chosen swankier shoes though or something a touch more summery. But i think she does really well, as it is becoming obvious to me now after a couple of year he doesn’t like to be too adventurous or different in terms of colours and such. So she finds clever ways of spicing it up a bit within this comfort zone, like that beautiful tie🙂

            • Guess we’ll just disagree about this. Blue / brown is an absolute classic and it wasn’t born here.

              • I don’t disagree on the colour combo at all, i wear it all the time myself. Just wouldn’t have chosen it in this particular case. No biggie don’t want people to think i am nitpicking when i actually totally love him these days. And i liked this outfit more than most. Just reminded me about a chat we had the other day in the office with our bosses about this topic. But don’t think us dissing city types has any relevance. I like him most anyway when he is made-by-himself as in Leeds as these event things are always outside the norm anyway and i never can tell how he feels about it.

            • Yup, he’s pretty spicy alright 😉

      • Ah, now shoes, 🍍 tie and suit made me v happy! 😊

Leave a Reply

