First looks at Richard Armitage in Love, Love, Love












~ by Servetus on October 3, 2016.

18 Responses to “First looks at Richard Armitage in Love, Love, Love”

  1. I totally don’t remember retired Kenneth wearing that cardigan in any of the performances I attended.

  2. […] my sourcemy source […]

  3. Snaffled yours. Can’t wait! I just wish they had gone a different way from the down and out John Porter look in Act 1 – but the chest makes up for it.

    • Closeup it’s not so bad as I had feared … I can kind of imagine him brushing his hair out of his face in that adolescent way …

  4. Well it’s some comfort that Amy Ryan (who is very lovely) looks equally terrible de-aged. I haven’t read the play yet but why do you think that Bartlett wants the same actor to play the character at three different stages. If anything we know that the youngest stage will look the most unrealistic – so is Bartlett relying upon that dissonance for some reason?

    • Huh. I don’t think she looks that bad.

      In terms of the play — there are no directions that the character must be played by the same actor in all three scenes, but it makes sense dramatically in that you don’t have the audience asking “who is this now” after a relatively short act. In practical terms, it also saves money to have five rather than seven actors. I’ve read 3 of Bartlett’s plays now and they all have relatively few characters. If you see yourself on some level as an experimental playwright, it’s a lot easier to produce things that have minimal sets and casts.

      Maybe somebody else has a better answer.

      • Yes, all true. I wonder whether it’s ever been staged where the younger actors play all three “ages” I.e. They play the younger version of their parents in the 60s rather than the way it is.

        • I wonder how that would go. They would have to find really talented actors in that case.

          • 😀😀

          • I assume you’re being sarcastic!

            I just thinking from an audience perspective I would have a different reaction to watching the older actors “de-age” to play the 60s versions of their characters versus the younger actors playing the younger versions of their characters’ parents.

            The requirement to play three different ages may rule out some actors who are great but cannot convincingly look younger even with a shaggy wig! For example say somebody like Roger Allam – he could play somebody in his 40s but not 19!

            • This is how I feel — you can call it ageist if you like. When I was 19 I did not have a clue as to what it would be like to be physically older — 47 as I am now or 65 or older. You can say that I am not very much “in my body” in comparison to the average person; however, it something contemporaries of mind say all the time: I could never have imagined what it would be like physically to be middle aged. There’s a parallel in this point to my assertion a few weeks ago that Chloe Moretz does not appear to be in her mid-20s. There’s a very difficult to put one’s fingers on thing about the various effects of growing older and in my experience, it’s harder for younger actors to appear older because they have not experienced it.

              Someone in their 40s knows what it was like to feel 19 and has to imagine 65. Someone in their late teens early twenties has to imagine both of those states. I’m not saying it’s impossible — just that I would find it much more difficult for that actor.

              I do not disagree that some great actors cannot plausibly appear to be in their late teens.

  5. Why get someone else when you can get Amy Ryan and Richard Armitage?

    • The first production had Daniela Denby-Ashe (2010) and she was essentially playing a nineteen-year-old only a few years earlier. It wouldn’t have been implausible, I think. In this case you get Amy Ryan who’s apparently an amazing artist.

  6. 2011 is hilarious at the mere sight.. great actors!😀

Leave a Reply

