We haven’t had this kind of personal interest interview in quite a while

Catch up with Richard Armitage’s likes and dislikes. Also — finally an explanation of the Angel Delight joke from TCA. I googled what it was back then, but now we know.

~ by Servetus on October 14, 2016.

51 Responses to “We haven’t had this kind of personal interest interview in quite a while”

  1. From my experience it’s the equivalent of Dr Oetker Pudding i grew up with, yum! But i wouldn’t touch any other flavour than chocolate or vanilla🙂
    Otherwise, irritating coffee drinker, meh LOL And in a roast dinner chicken is the wimpy option mr A🙂

  2. oh, i did wonder if he chose that particular sweet treat because it is something that can’t easily be gifted to him at SD 😂😂😂😂😂😂

  3. What happened to chocolate ice cream?
    I’m not familiar with Angel Delight, but as a former ex-pat I know that the foods you’re unable to get abroad always becomes a favourite.
    I missed Finnish liquorice when I lived in Spain.

    • salty or plain?🙂

    • I don’t remember what it was called in the U.S., but there was a thing in the 70s that is what he described. It came in a packet, (what didn’t in the 60s + 70s?) it was sort of a combination of Jello and Dream Whip. My guess is they probably combined the two in one box. It was a fluffy, not quite mousse like Jello thing.

  4. We really haven’t had an interview like this in awhile. Some nice updated responses, a little more maturity to it.

  5. Awww…. ROME🙂 and❤ coffee.. but not that movie !
    My husband tortures me with it regulary. It’s like the most realistic,terrifying movie in the history of filmmaking!

    • I really dislike it, too — the combination of visual realism and American paternalism is nauseating.

  6. I knew when he said Muse, it was very familiar. Two of my favorite Gisborne fan vids are set to Muse songs. Check them out, one is Mercy, which is like a mini RH S1&2 G&M romance. I love that one. The 2nd is Supermassive Black Hole. It makes me so happy that he’s into the band I watch him to all the time.

  7. This is an excellent interview. Really. I’ve always thought of Angel Delight as a jello dessert with whipped marshmallows or some such in it.

    And Asian food is wonderful. We go oriental once or twice a week, when we shouldn’t.

  8. My favourite thing to do on Sunday afternoon in the fall and winter is roast a chicken. There is something comforting about it. I’m not that into Japanese, but mostly because I have some serious food allergies that make it risky. I’m kind of surprised that he names that as his favourite, I would not have thought he’d be into that so much. And I despised Saving Private Ryan. I saw it once, and that was enough! I’m surprised that he like something so graphically violent. But this was fun to read, thanks for sharing.

    • The story with Japanese food is an old one — he actually said that in one of his first longer interviews. Then it was about liking “clean” food.

  9. Seems like Riely Haven who interviewed him, became a member of Armitage Army😂 She is flirting with him on Twitter. Tagging him in 6 or 7 tweets within 2 hours. 😂

  10. He’s right about it being the media’s job to have called both candidates out on their “various things” as he puts it. But the mainstream US media was so passive about doing their job this election for whatever reason. And now they’re jumping on the sex assault scandal but it’s too late – the time for the media to be informative for the public is long gone. When they show Trump supporters on tv – these are people beyond reasoning. You can’t have compromise with people who call the other candidate names like Killary. I didn’t think that Jon Stewart leaving would have such an impact but it did in terms of the quality of analysis available on television(aside from MSNBC – which very few watch anyways.) Thank god for Sam Bee and weirdly enough Seth Meyers.
    Wonder what his favorite curry is.
    What is his “physical background” if not dance?
    British House of Cards or American House of Cards? If he wanted to do a comedy show and a political show the he should be getting on Veep. P

    • Seth Meyers really is doing a great job of picking up the slack.

    • Pretty sure it’s American House of Cards, especially with Kevin Spacey connection.

    • I would recommend you look at Jay Rosen’s pressthink.org media analysis site — gets into why “calling out” candidates doesn’t work, hasn’t worked.

      TBH, Jon Stewart was a huge part of the problem, and I’m glad he’s gone. Infotainment that encourages us to jeer at each other is worse than useless. (Luckily, he was largely insignificant to how Americans view politics; he never got more than 4M viewers in a TV market of 115M households, give or take.) On top of it, his audience skewed young and fewer than 40 percent of voters under 24 even bother to vote, so he delegitimated the whole system precisely in one of the groups that has the most to lose. No one who didn’t already agree with him watched Stewart. Sam Bee also convinces no one, and I have no idea who Seth Meyers even is.

Leave a Reply

