OK, color me confused

I just posted about how few seats were available for this afternoon, and I thought I’d look and see if they’d been purchased, when lo and behold approximately fifty additional seats are suddenly made visible. I am officially flummoxed by this business model. It seems unlikely that they’ll sell those in the next three hours.

But derivable tip, apparently: if you are trying to change your seat, make sure you check three hours before curtain.

~ by Servetus on October 23, 2016.

12 Responses to “OK, color me confused”

  1. At the Crucible, I couldn’t book tickets from Denmark. I tried when I arrived in London in the early morning; I still couldn’t. I was told, it was sold out. That same mid-morning, I went to The Old Vic and enquired; I got the best and most expensive seat. To no avail, though, because it was cancelled.
    So, some tickets ARE only made available at the last minute. However, I don’t like the strategy. When seats are sold out, they’re sold out.

    • It makes sense to have some available only at the end (although you may have gotten a return, if you went that day) — but ten percent?

  2. We know that they reserve tickets for any number of reasons – house seats, group sales, lottery, sponsorship, special promos, etc. But none of those are controlled by the box office staff or ticket agent for the theater until they are released to them by the special sales people. And sometimes they are slow to release them. At theaters in LA and SF there’s no telling when they’ll release a block of seats. Could be 3 days, could be 3 hours. Extremely frustrating if you want to make plans in advance.

    • I understand that there are different audiences they service. In this case there are some patterns, though. There’s usually a release of many seats about 48 hours ahead of curtain, although it’s flexible enough in terms of exact times that is clearly done by hand. What I find specifically odd in this case is that they release the free seats literally minutes before they close sales entirely. Also, usually the donor seats disappear in that 48 hour release, but in this case, they kept the donor seats but moved them.

      I’ve also run into things that were clearly glitches, for example, a few weeks ago, a huge web discount straight off the theater page that was available only for about 90 min and then disappeared again.

      What I’m saying here, essentially, is that if you observe patterns long enough you can start to see reasons for them; I just observed a piece of data that doesn’t fit into a pattern that I’ve elucidated so far.

      From what I’ve heard, the savvy theater person is buying them via TDF at this point.

  3. Maybe they release seats to TKTS – where you can get discount tickets just a short while before the show. Otherwise, I don’t get the sales model – what good is it if they release seats that no one knows about or has a chance to buy?

    • in this case, particularly, because there have been about 13 available seats for that show for two days now — and half of them were the seats for wheelchair-bound folks. They could have sold at least some of those tickets at full price, I suspect.

  4. Hmmm – was there a snow storm we don’t know about? Some weather catastrophe that kept a busload of Suburban women from getting into the city to the Matinee?

Leave a Reply

 
