#LLLPlay playlist (before the play started) #richardarmitage

This is a complete list of what I heard before the play — they opened the house up a half hour ahead of time and this playlist played through once and usually looped into a second play of the first two songs or so. Richard Armitage’s “turn off your phones and unwrap your candies” announcement came approximately during the middle of “Do You Love Me?” Will continue with the rest of the list later (about to start boarding on plane). Several of these songs I identified by writing down lyrics in the theater and googling afterwards.

1. “Glad All Over,” The Dave Clark Five (1963). #1 in the UK, #6 in the U.S. in 1964. Second British group to appear on Ed Sullivan.

2. “Downtown,” sung by Petula Clark (1964). #2 in the UK, #1 in the U.S. in 1964.

3. “I Only Want To Be With You,” Dusty Springfield’s debut single (1963). #4 in the UK, #12 in the U.S. in 1964.

4. “Wishin’ and Hopin‘,” also Dusty Springfield (1963). Song composed by Burt Bacharach, whodathunkit.

5. Tom Jones, “What’s New, Pussycat?” (1965). Also a Bacharach number.

6. The Yardbirds, “Heart Full of Soul,” (1965). I had never heard this song before although I’d heard of the band because of Eric Clapton. This is the first song recorded without him, I guess. #2 in the UK and #9 in the U.S.

7. “To Sir with Love,” Lulu (1965). I’d seen the film but forgotten this song. #1 in the U.S., did not chart in the UK and was actually a B-side.

8. “Stop! Stop! Stop!,” The Hollies (1966). #2 in the UK, #7 in the U.S.

9. “Catch Us If You Can,” The Dave Clark Five (1965). #5 in the UK, #4 in the U.S.

10. “Don’t Sleep in the Subway,” Petula Clark (1967). #12 in the UK, #1 in the U.S. I had really never heard this song before the play.

11. “Bus Stop,” The Hollies (1966). #5 in the UK, #5 in the U.S.

12. “Do You Love Me?” The Contours, 1962. Motown. #1 in the U.S.; I did not find a British chart statistic.

13. “It’s Not Unusual,” Tom Jones (1965). Jones’ second single and the BBC initially refused to play it due to Jones’ questionable image. #1 in the UK, #10 in the U.S.

14. “Georgy Girl,” The Seekers (1967). Permanently associated in my mind with Lynn Redgrave due to the movie. #1 in the U.S. and #3 in the UK.

 

Continues here.

~ by Servetus on November 7, 2016.

28 Responses to “#LLLPlay playlist (before the play started) #richardarmitage”

  1. Impressive work. Thank you!

  2. Thank you for posting this playlist. A trip down memory lane for me.

  3. Obscura and I were doing the Carlton up in the mezzanine to Tom Jones.🙂

  4. This is useful because the songs definitely contributed to the atmosphere. I didn’t write down the songs before the play. I remember a couple of the ones you listed, but I think some of the ones we heard were different. Since you went multiple times, did you hear different songs, by any chance?

    • This isn’t the whole list — I haven’t done any of the intervals yet. Afaik they were the same songs every time, though.

  5. Thank you so much for this compilation, a lot of effort on your part-much appreciated! Ever since I heard about the pre-show tunes I have been dying to hear them!
    🎼🎤🎸

  6. They should put out a soundtrack, even though it’s not technically a musical. It would be a great collection to accompany the memories.

  7. Most of these songs were released before the play’s ‘timeline’ begins in 1967-69. I wonder if it has any significance…I would have thought something like by The Mammas & The Pappas or ‘Yellow submarine’ by the Beatles would be more…shall we say current?:-)

    • I was thinking that, too, as well as that some of them were really not hits in the UK (“To Sir With Love,” for instance).

    • I thought this, too. Anyway, nice compilation, thank you, Servetus, for summarizing and posting it.
      This “Do you love me” is eternally linked in my mind to “Dirty Dancing”, can’t help it ☺!

  8. I have been wondering what the playlist was, so thank you for this compilation. Some great songs in there, and as Tree commented, a trip down memory lane for me too. Love “To Sir with Love” (and the movie of the same name!)

  9. Wow, great play list❤

  10. […] In the previous list, I included the songs that played as the house was filling. There were many fewer musical selections in the intervals, which were only ten minutes long. Both Acts One and Two ended with music. […]

  11. One song is missing from the playlist–after “Don’t Sleep in the Subway” is “Bus Stop” by The Hollies:

    • It’s my fave song from The Hollies❤

    • Wow. Weird. Because the lyrics I copied are in my notes, and I remember googling it and finding it and thinking, I don’t like this song. Maybe it was the one I was doing just as I got on the plane? Anyway, thanks.

      You don’t know what the missing song was in the second interval, do you?

      • I’ve been puzzling over that one as well. I even recorded a minute of it to see if I could parse out the lyrics with headphones but there’s way too much mumbling and I seriously can’t even make out one single line.

        • Wait, could this song be by Procol Harum? I literally googled “electronic organ rock” and Procol Harum came up in the results. I’ve never even heard of them before LLL so I had no idea they recorded A Whiter Shade of Pale well before Annie Lennox (yup, am as clueless as Rose), and they certainly have the right sound for the unknown song. I youtubed a few of their songs but didn’t find a match yet–their discography is pretty long though.

          • The only thing of theirs I am familiar with is “Whiter Shade of Pale” (which is why it’s weird that Kenneth equates Mozart to Procul Harum because that song is 30 percent stolen from JS Bach …). But brillaint question! It would be odd to reference PH in the play and then never hear from them. I googled the band name and some word snippets and google suggested this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w7bZflhg4t0

            What do you think? I think that could be it but you have heard it many more times than I have at this point.

            • Yes! This is it–wow, I’m really impressed that you heard enough of the lyrics to find the song–at the theater instead of “kaleidoscope” I kept hearing “heart of stone” lol!

            • A fun Easter egg that I only just noticed on my last viewing of LLL, but the Procol Harum album that Ken picks up in Act 2 when talking to Rose is the same album that’s shown in the youtube clip so it has that song “Kaleidoscope” on it.

              • OK fixed. Thanks. I thought that album cover was the one used in the play, but I didn’t want to put it in your head. Good to have it confirmed.

  12. Thank you Serv and all the others for this wonderful list of music. All is still so fresh from the play…..

  13. […] audience walks into the theater and is treated with a playlist of songs from the 1960s. Many audience members listened to this music as children or in school and are singing, humming or […]

  14. The Dave Clark Five also did a version of “Do you love me”.
    But I really can’t remember which one of the 2 we got at the Roundabout.
    Though female intuition is yelling DCF at me.

    • Thanks for the comment and welcome.

      I posted these based mostly on the wikipedia entry for the songs, based on who was most well known for the song unless I knew 100% that that wasn’t the version I heard. I think this was The Contours, but potentially only because that’s the version we always hear in the U.S.; I’m not wedded to that argument. Someone tweeted a few days ago that the some of the songs Petula Clark did in the pre-show list were actually not the original versions. He sounded like he knew what he was talking about. I don’t know enough about 60s music to say.

Leave a Reply

 
