Another interesting read about disappointment in fandom

This time, Harry Potter.

~ by Servetus on November 21, 2016.

11 Responses to “Another interesting read about disappointment in fandom”

  1. This was very interesting, thank you for sharing.

    • Thanks for the comment. It raised a lot of questions about “who owns the fandom” that have been bugging me for a while, as well as the whole, can you like part of something but not all of it problem. I enjoyed reading The Cursed Child, but reading the stuff about North American native traditions in this article made me think, oh, no, major misstep. And the point about how this fandom turned out a particular kind of people is true — HP fans in the US are something like 5% less likely to be xenophobic than the population at large.

  2. What an interesting read, thanks for sharing!

  3. There are some inherent differences between a fandom based around an individual and a fandom based around a body of literature (or series). I think there’s more room for dissent and opposite viewpoints when the target isn’t an individual whose feelings fans may worry about hurting. Having said that, I remember all I have read about how the Tolkien fandom reacted negatively to Peter Jackson’s choice of Armitage for Thorin Oakenshield and more recently, but less important to us, Ben Affleck’s casting as Batman.

  4. I don’t think I know better, but II have a right as a fan to express my opinion to other fans about what work he’s taking, I wish he would take, I wish he didn’t take. I try to take into account what he’s thinking and what he’s in control of and usually start off couching it in terms of ” I wonder why.” It’s fun speculation among fans – but those discussions are not for him or the people he may be working with/for or who work for him.

    • oh, sure, I don’t contest that you or anyone else has the right to say those things (and also social media gums up who the audience for a message is supposed to be). I guess what I am trying to say is that the question of “who controls the final decision” is only different in a formal sense (in that Armitage decides which contracts he designs) but that the discourse about it is similar to the non-celebrity fandom.

      • By non-celeb fandom do you mean the series/franchise fandom? IDK -sometimes it seems like there’s fan love that the writers gives – or easter eggs or nods to theories.

Leave a Reply

 
