New interview with Richard Armitage, regarding #LLLPlay

Here.

ETA: I love what he says about it not mattering so much specifically why people are there.

ETA: Armitage clarifies:

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

~ by Servetus on November 25, 2016.

20 Responses to “New interview with Richard Armitage, regarding #LLLPlay”

  1. I don’t think that clarified anything! But his remarks on the play and loving to work with Amy Ryan are good. Stagedoor is such a “meh” topic. I wonder why she went there. I liked a post I saw on another blog where the ladies did their own stage door and had a lot of fun doing it!

    • It clarified that he didn’t think NYC audiences were laughing “abusively.”

      re: the other, I assume the interviewer went there because she thought he would say “it’s great to meet the fans,” i.e., maybe she thought it was a soft pitch. Also, possibly, given that the audience for Broadway world is mostly theater insiders and theater lovers, b/c that theater is not known for generating that kind of fan activity so it’s something unique in that setting and would be a matter of novelty for the reader.

      I, like Armitage, have no issue with people who prioritize the SD in their theater experience. I personally don’t go there to meet other fans but that’s a totally legitimate reason to go there, too!

  2. “DECLASSIFIED OPERATION” Scoop. L’ espion dévoile sa mission secrète . L’opération charme et prêche est dévoilée. Il s’est donné pour mission de convertir les fans conquis, scotchés à son image corporelle, à s’en éloigner pour s’ouvrir au monde du spectacle vivant. Mais surtout il avoue continuer à vouloir tirer du bénéfice de cette meute idolâtre. Quelle intrusion dans sa psychée.
    “DECLASSIFIED OPERATION” Scoop. The spy reveals his secret mission. The charming and sermon operation is unveiled. He was given for mission of converting the conquered fans, taped to his body image, to move away from it to open up to the alive entertainment world. But above he acknowledges to continue to want to draw benefit from his worship pack. What an intrusion in his psyche.

  3. I love it too! What a pity some people misinterpret his words!

    • Well, “misinterpretation” is a big word — everyone interprets instinctively from their own context (me too). However, nothing about he said in regard to his attitude toward people who see his stuff was in any way new. It’s interesting to me in 2012 that fans were almost unanimously happy about what he said to Strombo but now there are objections. Suggest that the fandom is changing (and I’m tempted to short circuit and blame social media).

      But the question I always ask first is who he thought he was talking to. In this case (Broadway World) he was talking to theater professionals and insiders, and his answer would have resonated with them as they struggle with the problem of getting people into the theater. There was a discussion like this earlier this fall on Twitter about getting niche markets into the theater; it’s clearly a problem that the audience of Broadway World experiences and thus answer would be interesting to them.

      And you know, as squirrel says, G-d forbid that he would want to make a living. [sarcasm]

      I am probably also inclined to agree with him because I’m a pragmatist on the issue of how you get people exposed to things. You have to meet them where they are. That doesn’t mean you don’t appreciate other things about fans, potentially, but for that fan who will only come to see her crush in person, well, there’s an added benefit for him and maybe it will be different next time.

      • Thank you for the thoughtful comment, Serv. And for reminding about the interview with Strombo. Nothing new from his side regarding this question since 2012 indeed. That’s a normal position of any actor as his career success depends if the people go to see him in the movie /in theater.

      • Dans ses paroles je retiendrai 5 choses:
        – ne pas refuser de répondre à une question embarrassante,
        – des paroles apparemment sincères,
        – tirer le meilleur parti d’une situation qui lui déplait et qu’il subit depuis toujours,
        – dévoiler le meilleur côté de l’aspect des choses,
        – pour mieux cacher ce qu’il ne veut pas avouer, mais qui transparaît à qui sait lire entre les lignes.

  4. I think it’s great that in spite of not loving stage door, RA goes out of his way to do it as much as possible and make sure that fans have as good an experience as possible. He is unfailingly polite and gracious and poses over and over for aelfies. I would be surprised if anyone really loves doing SD. The question posed to him also only gave him two options– enjoy or learn to deal with– and he picked the more honest one, so good for him. I don’t think it says that he doesn’t appreciate his fans or truly feel thankful for them.
    I thought it was interesting that he likes that people are talking to each other during the play. You don’t have to be a “model” theatre-goer to be appreciated by RA.

    • That was my takeaway, too (although probably he wouldn’t like to hear that they’re not talking about the play). I admit that my reaction is conditioned by reading comments (whenever he decides to do a play, so for almost three years now) about how some fans would rather other fans not go to the theater because they don’t know how to behave there, or comments that someone doesn’t like how another fan behaves or says they feel about the theater experience. It’s never pleasant, but it was especially bad during the Crucible. Some fans really did not want younger / “Hobbit” fans at the theater because they didn’t think they’d appreciate it enough. Reading that makes me want to tear out my hair. I’m really glad Richard Armitage doesn’t feel that way!

      • Yeah, me too. I wonder would I be criticized for having gone to the Hobbit movies primarily because RA was in them? That I was not there primarily for the Tolkien works?

        • yeah, although the argument wasn’t secondary embarrassment (as with theater), bur rather “now all these fans of the actors are going to overwhelm us and not truly appreciate Tolkien.” However, the Tolkien fans are also heavily split on whether they even like those movies, let alone think they are legitimate, so some of them also think Peter Jackson is an inadequate fan …

          • I’ve read some of that from the Tolkien fans. (The ones in my household loved the movies, though.) I just think that fandoms are strange and that we should all be left to enjoy the product that is out there for whatever reasons we choose.

      • I confess to have explained to my daughter, what she did not understand, while the actors played on stage… Retrospective Shame… In spite of myself, I participate in the bias, adage that frogs are impolite, do not know how to behave abroad in society.

        • Nah.

          At one performance I was seated one seat down from a guy who was all proud of himself for bringing his wife to see Richard Armitage, her favorite actor, I think we were in the third row. And twenty minutes in he was snoring really loudly. I think he wins the contest for “most impolite” so far.

Leave a Reply

 
