Richard Armitage’s 2016 Christmas letter

here. Too much going on at the moment. I was like, trying to watch Berlin Station. After trying to watch Love, Love, Love. Now I’m going to read it.

screen-shot-2016-12-19-at-1-23-57-am screen-shot-2016-12-19-at-1-24-11-am screen-shot-2016-12-19-at-1-24-48-am

~ by Servetus on December 19, 2016.

29 Responses to “Richard Armitage’s 2016 Christmas letter”

  1. 🙂 the last sentence is very necessery .

    Like

  2. Thank you, Mr. Armitage. I needed this.

    Like

  3. I would have liked to have seen Glenn Frey’s name instead of Castro. Frey was fearless and brought attention to things around us through his music.

    Like

    • You and me both. Almost any name other than Castro.

      Like

      • Let’s play a game of which name does not belong. I saw a post where a woman was defending Castro because he gave his people free healthcare and an education. HUH??

        Like

        • I think the thing about health care is undeniable; Cuba has excellent healthcare, it’s free, and life expectancy there is extremely high. Cuban education for doctors is considered the best in Latin America and among the best in the world. It relies, however, on a system of annual physicals conducted by GPs and a sort of neighborhood surveillance system, i.e., if you don’t see your doctor every year, your doctor will come and see you.

          re: education — I don’t know as much about it, but my favorite Cuban blogger, Joaní Sanchez, writes about the failures of the Cuban educational system off and on.

          The question is, in my mind, how you balance the potential positives of something like universal healthcare (there are some as well as some negatives; most Americans would not put up with that level of government intrusion in their lives over health care) with a regime that denies almost every human right on the books: arbitrary imprisonment, unfair trials, no freedom of movement to speak of, no freedom of the press or of speech or of assembly or of religion. Artists who are not loyal to the state do not work, they are not seen, they have to get their stuff smuggled out of the country. For someone who admires the film “The Lives of Others,” this was a troubling statement.

          Like

          • To me, the healthcare is not free because you are paying for it somehow. Upfront or through taxes, but it is not free. I agree with you about the whole regime issue. So just because you have good healthcare all the rest of the bad stuff is negated?

            Like

            • A health care system like that, however, costs a lot less. Much less of GDP in general gets spent on care, so it can be spent on other things, and this benefits the taxpayer. That said, Cuba is a very poor country (another huge topic I don’t know if I really want to get into at almost 2 a.m., to be honest). In the end, my personal choice: I’d rather pay for health care than a lot of other things I pay for with taxes (stealth bombers), and I’d prefer a system that didn’t ration by ability to pay, as the US system does.

              But even so, for me personally, if I had to choose between universal health care and freedom of speech — if those things were mutually exclusive and as a social good we could only have one, there’s no question I’d pick freedom of speech. No question at all. I think this should be obvious for anyone who works in the arts. In the end, Cuba limps along because it has an extremely repressive regime. Most of us who’ve grown up outside it wouldn’t last a week there as ordinary citizens.

              Like

  4. Particularly for someone who’s allegedly so concerned about refugees. I don’t want to fall into the bitter rhetoric of the situation, but some refugees are better than others, I guess.

    Admittedly, I did not understand this fully until I lived in Florida.

    Like

  5. I’ll give it to him since he is a Brit, but he spelled Nancy Reagan’s name incorrectly. Just in a peevish and sick mood tonight.

    Like

    • I didn’t get why she made this list, anyway, casting no aspersion on her. Reagan, I think of as an irish name; I’m sure he’d know how to spell it. Maybe he thought he had to put a woman on it or something since most of his readers are women.

      Like

  6. Asking as a non-native speaker, can someone explain whether or not there is a difference in meaning or subtext between Merry Christmas and Happy Christmas? Is Merry Christmas a bit old fashioned maybe? Just wondering.

    Like

    • Americans always say Merry Christmas. I think Brits say Happy Christmas.

      Like

      • I have many British colleagues – None of them say happy – always merry Christmas.
        Maybe it’s a new development?

        Like

        • I’m certainly no authority on British idioms, but I found this in a blog entry: “Queen Elizabeth II wishes British subjects a “Happy Christmas” in her annual Christmas broadcasts, and the phrase enjoys a broad general currency in the U.K.”

          Like

    • Someone told me years ago (don’t know if this is true, just passing on something I was told) that “merry” in British English has the connotation of “drunken” or “rowdy” (which it doesn’t in the US) and so the British upper crust said “Happy Christmas” and so that’s why Brits tended to say “Happy” rather than “Merry.”

      Like

    • Incidentally, everyone in NYC that I encountered wished me “Happy Holidays,” which has started to take on the character of a political statement these days. I thought it was funny. Around home everyone would say “Merry Christmas.”

      Like

    • I just saw an interview with Martin Freeman — according to him it’s a class thing. Middle class in Britain say “happy.”

      Like

  7. I didn’t like the “Christmas” letter. I found it political, depressing, a ‘taking stock’ for his own sake instead of a gift to us like in years past. and while the mention of Castro didn’t fire me up exactly, it did make me shake my head in disappointment. the goal to be “fearless” in the year ahead seems to be an inspiration to many, and that’s a good thing. but for me? this message fell flat. again.

    Like

    • Yeah. This was not one of the better entries in the genre.

      I guess what bugs me most (there are many things that bug me, but what bugs me most) is how much he doesn’t really realize exactly what his privilege is. He can reach out to people without fear. But there are a lot of people who are fearful right now, with just cause. They will not be served by reaching out to others in a fearless manner. I don’t know how he doesn’t get that privilege does separate him, and write accordingly in that light. Or that there are things he should be afraid of himself.

      I used to really wait for these messages with eagerness. They weren’t the cause of my fandom, but they used to be meaningful to me. I admit that after this year I’ve started to wonder, what thoughtless thing will he say next, or what meaningful thing will he say and then retract.

      Like

  8. Regarding Merry Christmas vs Happy Christmas, when I worked for a non profit org in VA that was partially funded with government funds we were not allowed to send out cards that said “Merry” uh….not politically correct…did not want to offend anyone..duh……….. I am so sick of that phrase..politically correct. regarding the letter..frankly there is too much going on in too many places to lump it into one specific action of facing without fear. When you live through your situation,you will handle it as best for you. Names..def would not have put Castro on there..found letter not very “uplifting” for a holiday letter. Oh, well…..what do I know other than I can write here without fear?????

    Like

    • I personally think ‘the war on Christmas’ is a non-issue in terms of actual US culture. I’ve never met a single person in real life who’s been offended by any well-intentioned wishes of holiday-season cheer. I only ever hear about it in the media. I’m probably more on the side of the atheists who wish there weren’t government-sponsored public displays of religious symbols — but only because they’re paid for with public money, not because I’m hostile to religious symbols.

      Thanks for the kind words. I (we) try 🙂

      Like

  9. He has a tendency to be (inadvertently?) preachy in some of his written pieces.. … Just makes me think of a worthy Reverend Armitage giving his sermon from on high to his fandom flock!!

    Like

  10. […] possibility, as he had the opportunity to say exactly what he wanted at whatever length. In fact, his Christmas message 2016 was one of the most poorly written, disjointed texts he’s ever prod… (even apart from whether one agreed with what he had to say or not). His decision to publish it in […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
