London theater landmark to close its storefront

French’s Theatre Bookshop will go exclusively online later this spring.

~ by Servetus on February 17, 2017.

4 Responses to “London theater landmark to close its storefront”

  1. I have to wonder how many bookstores will be left in twenty years? Will they be giant chains with cafes inside, or small, cozy independents? I know I’m guilty of getting the free kindle book a month, but it doesn’t have the emotion, the sensory experience of the feel of the different paper weights, or ink smells, or cover art.

  2. Unfortunately, more and more bookshops are doing the same – closing doors. I studied to become a bookseller and had to do so many other jobs…

  3. I’ll be sorry to see it go, but have to admit the only time I bought from Samuel French directly I did it by mail order… It was a bit too far to travel as a student ☺

  4. No doubt the business has to and will change — I have never been in the store, but I’ve bought so many playbooks published by Samuel French over the years that it seemed noteworthy to me.

Leave a Reply

 
