Richard Armitage shady

mountebank: a swindler, charlatan or fraudster. Richard Armitage as Percy Courtenay in Miss Marie Lloyd. source: RichardArmitageNet.com

mountebank: a swindler, charlatan or fraudster. Richard Armitage as Percy Courtenay in Miss Marie Lloyd. source: RichardArmitageNet.com

~ by Servetus on February 21, 2017.

10 Responses to “Richard Armitage shady”

  1. Was he at first? He definitely became unpleasant later on.

    • He always just wanted to live off of her earnings, so yeah.

      • My impression was rather that he was himself financially well off at first and could and did support her before she actually had a career as such. In this context, it seemed that he was a fairly decent guy since many in those days wouldn’t have married their pregnant singer mistress. Both worked on getting her career going, but I always thought he (at first) liked this aspect of her and was supportive. It would be an interesting – and to me new – thought that he might have seen her as an ‘earner’ early on. But later on, absolutely, he sponged off her.

        That would be all off the film, of course. I don’t have a clue about the real people in this regard.

        • I guess we differ then. When someone’s first offer to someone else is to market them, I take that negatively. He was always (as we say in the U.S.) “on the make.”

  2. This is one of my favorite words.

  3. I thought he was genuinely trying to help her career at first, but became petulant and deeply unpleasant when she was more famous (and important in the eyes of the world) than he was… he couldn’t bear being “Mr Lloyd”. But I could be wrong – I haven’t seen it for ages.

    Great word but one I’m never sure how to pronounce – is the e heard? So three syllables?

    • Here’s an American saying it:

      I dunno — I saw it in 2010, I think, and thought, well, I’ll never need to watch this again. I had a negative impression of him the entire time.

    • Same here. I saw that as a reaction that can be found in a lot of men when the women in their lives become more successful / wealthy / popular… than them. The opposite is just fine, ‘of course’. And he played this really well, too, since you get small glimpses of this anger at her fame before it completely starts to take over their lives. To me he seemed to enjoy being the generous patron, but that things went badly when she became a big hit.

Leave a Reply

 
