Richard Armitage, struck (figuratively)

poleaxed: so surprised, shocked or dumbfounded that one does not immediately know what to do or say. Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield, when he sees Azog for the first time in decades in The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.

poleaxed: so surprised, shocked or dumbfounded that one does not immediately know what to do or say. Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield, when he sees Azog for the first time in decades in The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.

~ by Servetus on February 24, 2017.

6 Responses to “Richard Armitage, struck (figuratively)”

  1. That’s such a strong scene. As is what comes afterwards.

    I’ve been asking myself if the word originally referred to literally being hit with such an axe?

    • yes. usually between the eyes. I was looking for an appropriate “literal” picture but got distracted.

  2. It’s how I feel when I suddenly come across a new or forgotten image that is particularly delectable.

  3. Okay, I might be tired or going slightly dyslexic; the moment I saw the word I read: “rolexed” – became perplexed, read again, and understood 😉

Leave a Reply

 
