Richard Armitage regrets: When Thorin turns away

Thorin (Richard Armitage) asks Balin what they’ve missed, as they attempt to find the hidden keyhole to Erebor on Durin’s Day, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug.

Thorin (Richard Armitage) looks with sorrow at the setting sun, as the dwarves turn away from the mountin, in The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug.

The Desolation of Smaug is on TNT right now and so I’m indulging. I’m starting to realize that my capacity to reprocess the same thing dozens of times must be an odd quality — but I’m enjoying it just as much as always. What I noticed today that lets itself be said in a short post: the depth of the grief on Thorin’s face when the dwarves think that they have failed in the quest. It’s an odd scene that ideally should have been longer — it takes the film so long to get us there and then it’s over so quickly, and it’s never been plausible to me that the dwarves leave so quickly. But Richard Armitage’s face is so full of pain, so bleak.

~ by Servetus on March 13, 2017.

4 Responses to “Richard Armitage regrets: When Thorin turns away”

  1. I don’t think it’s an odd quality generally, as many of us watch things over and over in constant rotation. What’s extraordinary about you, is that besides doing that, you also do the analytical watching of things, frame by frame in some instances. Congratulations on being able to do that. I feel the same way about those that must spend an unbelievable amount of time making the music videos, matching footage to music. Amazing work.

  2. It’s one of my fave scenes from DoS, because it shows so much in that little amount of time we are given. Sad but revealing.

  3. Oh, I can watch the movies over and over again as well 😉 And especially the scene at the hidden door – I remember it being the scene that captivated me the most when I saw it the first time in the cinema. Richard’s so great here, but I think he’s so great as well when he finally enters Erebor. His “I remember these halls” makes me melt away every time!

  4. I was reminded this week of a fan who told me that she’d only seen North & South three times in all these years (although it was the reason she became a fan). Lately I’ve been thinking I don’t watch him enough. Although since I now know how Peter Jackson directs and edits, it’s a bit harder to think analytically about what Armitage might be doing.

Leave a Reply

 
