Given the constant reminders that April is National Poetry month [1]

I don’t know how many poems I’ll post, but here’s another one from my favorite Wisława Szymborska. “Under One Small Star” [“Pod jedną gwiazdką”] seems especially appropriate for the woes of the world at the moment.

An excerpt:

My apologies to time for all the world I overlook each second.
My apologies to past loves for thinking that the latest is the first.
Forgive me, distant wars, for bringing flowers home.
Forgive me, open wounds, for pricking my finger.
I apologize for my record of minuets to those who cry from the depths.

[…]

I know I won’t be justified as long as I live,
since I myself stand in my own way.
Don’t bear me ill will, speech, that I borrow weighty words,
then labor heavily so that they may seem light.

Complete poem in English. Complete poem in Polish. Here’s a comparison of four different translations. Here, the poem’s been set to music:

~ by Servetus on April 5, 2017.

2 Responses to “Given the constant reminders that April is National Poetry month [1]”

  1. She’s one of my favorites too. Through the travel bans, refugee crises, and immigration battles, I’ve often turned to her poem “Psalm”: http://pyrekbolo.blogspot.com/2012/11/wisawa-szymborska.html

Leave a Reply

 
