Collateral attractions: Yaël Farber on Salomé

Here. No mention of Armitage but the article is an interesting read.

~ by Servetus on May 3, 2017.

13 Responses to “Collateral attractions: Yaël Farber on Salomé”

  1. Just got home from the NT and YF’s Salome. An elderly gentleman behind me fell asleep halfway through the performance snoring.

    It’s a typical Yael Farber, dark, earthy tones, incense, and a slightly uncomfortable feeling that doesn’t leave even after leaving the theatre.
    Will be interesting to see what will change by the time press night is done.

    • incense again.

      • She likes it. Used it in Les Blancs as well. Other similarities I have noticed and which seem to be her ‘trademark’: linen (?) and cotton fabrics in black, brown, white for costumes, scarves,… A dark, bleak almost bare stage. The actors changing the settings and scenes by rearranging chairs, tables, bowls of water or sand etc.

        She did put her focus on Salome’s story when writing the play which is good. People who expect anything remotely Oscar Wilde will be in for a shock though (like my seat neighbour). The international cast and the languages used, gave it an interesting twist and additional layer. although I think it took the attention away from the actors and the action on stage, because you were busy reading the translation – a bit like at the opera. Even the nudity worked okay in the context of the play. Despite or better because of the outward simplicity in staging, the play and the performances have a powerful effect on the audience, leaving you somewhat breathless and touched in a way that is difficult to explain. I think the Crucible and also Les Blancs triggered that kind of internal response in me. However, my guess is that it only works live in theatre, I watched tidbits of her plays online and they didn’t leave any profound impression.

        Overall, it is good but still needs a bit of work until press night.

        • I think I need to see this in the theatre the tickets are reasonable and I live close enough, no excuses.

        • It’s true, it was physically exhausting to see The Crucible in person and the video version doesn’t have that same level of effect.

          However, I didn’t miss the incense 🙂

  2. I was on the Cineplex site and noticed that on June 22 there will be a live broadcast of Salome from the National Theatre. Almost like being there but without the incense?

    • I would totally check it out!

      • I didn’t know they had started doing live broadcasts. Apparently there was one on April 20 with Daniel Radcliffe in Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead. That one will be rebroadcast on May 27. I might check out that one too!

        • Herba saw the broadcast, apparently, on the 20th. She enjoyed it.

        • Try and catch both! 😉
          Saw Rosencrantz and Guildenstern yesterday (final performance) it was very good, you can tell that playwright and director are good friends.

          • I bought a ticket for both! Glad to hear R&G was good. I’m wondering now if I should also see Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf. I love Albee.

            • I like that play a lot (suspending my kneejerk annoyance for the overwrought character of a lot of 20th c. US theater).

            • LOL Saw that one too recently. Exhausting to watch but again very well done with fine performances by the whole cast. Give it a go. In general, I’m not a fan of watching theatre on screen but since one can’t travel and see everything live it is definitely a good alternative.

Leave a Reply

 
