Be doers of the Word and not hearers only

(That’s part of a verse from the Epistle of James I had to memorize as a child.)

Friday night, a terrorist — a white man with connections to white supremacy circles — began harassing two young women on Portland (Oregon) public transport. One is said to have been wearing hijab. Three of their fellow passengers intervened to protect them, upon which the white man, whose name I won’t give the dignity of repeating here, may his memory be erased, attacked them with a knife, killing two and wounding the third.

Before we in the U.S. have anything to say about foreign terrorism, we need to end terrorist attacks on our own soil: by which I mean specifically: before the white, non-Muslim majority in the U.S. has anything to say about terrorism allegedly connected with ISIS here in the U.S., we need to end terrorist attacks like this, on minorities, by members of our own culture. We must remove the beam from our own eyes before we focus on the speck in those of others (that’s from the Gospel of Matthew).

My June charity money is going to a fund for the support of the families and expenses of the three men who chose to stand up for what I think are real U.S. values: toleration and freedom of religious expression. Ricky John Best and Taliesin Namkai-Meche gave their lives. Micah David-Cole Fletcher was severely injured but is expected to survive. On Memorial Day weekend, I plan to remember the brave civilians like this who have given their lives for our political and civil freedoms.

~ by Servetus on May 28, 2017.

12 Responses to “Be doers of the Word and not hearers only”

  1. Well said and needs saying.

    • I think I had a little too much of “all Muslims want to kill us” at the picnic yesterday …

      • I can see where you’re coming from. Those kinds of attitudes are really hard to take. I have two Muslims who report to me, as well as Christians, atheists, etc. In our particular work lives, what we all want is to do a good job, be respected for what we contribute, and be allowed to worship (or not) as we see fit. I really wish people would just see people as people. Most of us want similar things from our lives. But it’s hard to see that sometimes when terrible things happen.

        • I think I’d be less bothered by that kind of sentiment if it came from victims of attacks — who isn’t angry or more at the people who attack or kill their friends in family. However, I suspect that no one whom I spoke with yesterday has even ever met a Muslim. They’re just a convenient target.

  2. Wow! That’s amazing, Esther.

Leave a Reply

 
