Another scene from Pilgrimage #richardarmitage

Here.

~ by Servetus on July 2, 2017.

20 Responses to “Another scene from Pilgrimage #richardarmitage”

  1. I wonder – Does it help/support the story that they speak French or even with a French accent, especially when the actor himself is not a native French speaker? In this short clip I don’t see why they made that choice. The others don’t speak an old English or Gaelic dialect, or do they?

    • No, it’s one of those annoying things about the film, if you know anything about medieval language. The monks do speak Irish Gaelic to each other. But it’s unlikely that most 13th c Irish monks as remote as these seem to be would have spoken or understood English. And somehow it passed Muldowney/Hannigan by that the French monk and the Irish monks would have spoken Latin with each other, not French or English.

      It does successfully convey the impression that communication was an issue in the High Middle Ages due to linguistic barriers, they just didn’t think about them in actual historic terms.

      • Pity. I would have chosen Latin for the monks if I were to go down that route at all. Mainly because a lot of people don’t like dealing with subtitles and there rarely is a good point.

        I questioned that approach in YF’s Salome too. But she at least had native speakers speaking in their native tongue, so in a way that made sense.

        • I suppose in her case it’s seen as a stand against the imperialism of the English language?

          I think in Pilgrimage, they’re using the same technique often used in novels — one word or sentence in a foreign language followed by the next lines in (accented) English. I get it. But you can’t make it a plot element if you’re going to do it that way.

  2. I should get my DVD copy tomorrow 😊

  3. I was troubled by the accent too. Given that everyones accents would have been very different to modern dialect my preference would be that the cast simply speak in a way that conveys status, not geographical origins.

    • The problem is that the plot requires the linguistic barriers. It’s important that the Mute and Brother Ciaran can understand spoken French while Tom, Rua and Cathal do not.

      • Hmm. Good point, but are the linguistic barriers crucial in the plot? I will get my DVD tomorrow as well, very curious now.

        • The script seems at pains to indicate that Diarmuid (Tom Holland, sorry about that), Rua and Cathal don’t understand Geraldus when he’s speaking French. This is crucial at least once, I believe, possibly twice, when Geraldus is speaking to the Mute. It seems that if the other monks could understand what Geraldus is saying they might intervene. But it’s hard to elucidate the motivations of the Mute because, of course, he doesn’t say anything. But there’s a weird inconsistency late in the script anyway, in the scene where they arein the swamp. Diarmuid understands something that I think he shouldn’t be able to understand.

          • It’s going to be interesting. I have friends from France staying over at the moment. I’ll make sure we watch the DVD tomorrow 😉
            I guess we’ll have a lively discussing afterwards.

            • Je suis sûr qu’ils vont rire. Although there are one or two Belgian native speakers among the cast.

  4. Chilling… I wouldn’t want to get on the wrong side of that knight.

    • Yeah, if we needed proof that Armitage could sustain menacing without making us sympathize with him, this film proves it.

  5. This will sounds awful, but I couldn’t help but think of Inspector Clouseau when he said “you are up early, little monk!” The French accent by the non-French speaker was just too much for me.

    • Lol Babette! Now I feel safe to admit that Rene Artois from ‘Allo ‘Allo sprang to mind when I watched!

      • aaaw, I thought that was kind of cute. I’m cutting him too much slack probably 🙂

      • That’s what I thought too! His French accent is medieval ‘Allo ‘Allo! Unintentionally diverting (and hilarious)! 😅

  6. I can hear Belgian accent in “Raymond, rassemble tes hommes…” – not French ^^
    – I have to admit that RA made me smile … –

Leave a Reply

 
