Here’s an interview with Jamie Hannigan

In French. In which Hannigan confesses that his actual inspiration for the film lay in Japan (the film Yojimbo), not in Ireland. Aguirre, der Zorn Gottes is also really not an appropriate historical reference. I’d also like to note that his ideas about “personal belief” are completely anachronistic to the European Middle Ages. (Reference: birth of individuality debate — we’re probably too early to be talking about personal beliefs here.)

I may need to stop reading these because the ignorance level is so high. I probably need to put Pilgrimage in a class of work like Castlevania, and then this kind of comment will bother me less.

~ by Servetus on July 14, 2017.

2 Responses to “Here’s an interview with Jamie Hannigan”

  1. Yojimbo? Aguirre? Wow. I like ambitious artists, and I’m glad that RA looks so dirty and malevolent. On the other hand, the relic seems only a mcguffin. The whole middle age thing seems a mcguffin, but I have not seen the movie. Do I have to postulate that it take place in a parallel universe?

    • I saw those both a looooong time ago. like twenty years, I think. That said, if he’d said, this is my take on Yojimbo — I’d have seen the film really differently, because that would make the film about something else than it appears to be to me. But if this is supposed to be a film about (essentially) competitive crime families, it should be written really differently.

      I think that’s actually a good way of putting it. The Middle Ages and religion are a mcguffin in his film. It’s actually supposed to be about something else. What is open to to interpretation.

Leave a Reply

 
