Other Richard Armitages, continued

Richard Armitage’s name and presence are unforgettable, so much so that he’s inserting himself into other dramas. I just learned from the Telegraph that there’s a Richard Armitage in Poldark. Well, actually, no, it’s a Hugh Armitage (Josh Whitehouse). But don’t lets telegraph that to the Telegraph. I still want to see Richard Armitage playing Richard Armitage.

~ by Servetus on July 16, 2017.

8 Responses to “Other Richard Armitages, continued”

  1. I was a big fan of the original Poldark series (I have the videos and most of the books). It was definitely Hugh not Richard! I tried watching the first season of the new series, but while Aidan Turner is very pretty, I just can’t see anyone except Robin Ellis and Angharad Rees as Ross and Demelza.

    • I watched the first episode or three. Aidan Turner IS really pretty. Mesmerizingly pretty. But the story didn’t really hold my attention, which I’m sure was my fault.

      BUT if Armitage were in there somewhere … I’d be glued to the screen.

      • I have to say that as a teenager, I had a similar reaction to Robin Ellis in the troubled yet good character of Ross Poldark as I did in more recent years to Richard Armitage as John Thornton.

        • yeah, I honestly think part of the issue for me is that Turner is just a little too smiley. (I have a melancholy personality, I guess.) Even when he’s angry he always looks like a smile isn’t too far away from his face. Just not a vibe I can get into as easily. I like the more moody types.

  2. The young actor who will be playing a young Sheldon Cooper from the Big Bang Theory series is named Iain Armitage.

    • he’s come up here before, I think … he’s the grandson of the main “other” Richard Armitage.

  3. I recently received a twitter message from a man whose son attended college with Richard Armitage. He had nice things to say about him and mentioned his service to our country. I realized quickly it was the other Richard Armitage

Leave a Reply

 
