Since I’m still reading them, a few more Castlevania links #richardarmitage

It’s already attracted a parody (In French, so I don’t get it, but.)

Really hates it: “I was livid at how poorly made it was, at how stunningly mediocre the whole “season” ended up being” but one of the only positive comments: “it had really strong subdued performances by actors who do a good job with material that is only occasionally witty or engaging.”

Mixed. Likes the characters. Also critical of the religious standpoint.

Frustration with anti-religious standpoint.

Easily one of the best strengths of the show is Trevor Belmont.

There is even a high likelihood Castlevania will be seen as its own thing separate from the series that spawned it something many adaptations fail to do.

One very important part of telling a good story is excellent writing, and let me tell you, this show has it. Even if some of the writing is as dark and twisted in the subject matter, there is some really brilliant word play done throughout the series. Good writing means nothing if you don’t have the voice actors to back it up, and they took this into full consideration because the cast is phenomenal. For those of you who don’t know, Richard Armitage (Thorin Oakenshield from The Hobbit) voiced my new favorite Belmont, Trevor. Armitage is joined by James Callis (Alucard) and Graham McTavish (Dracula) amongst many others that really bring their characters to life.

If one has to nitpick, it’s how the Catholic Church was depicted and demonized as the real enemy within the first season.

6 Things to Love.

~ by Servetus on July 18, 2017.

2 Responses to “Since I’m still reading them, a few more Castlevania links #richardarmitage”

  1. I think it would be fair to officially call RA ‘s Trevor a phenom. RA’s IMDb number went from ‘top 5000’ two weeks ago to #27 yesterday. The Castlevania show itself is ranked #3 for IMDb hits this week. From this me+RA batch of reviews, the ‘6 Things to Love’ description of Trevor delighted me the most. I’ve seen many deserved accolades for Warren Ellis, the Deats brothers and Shankar. But I think Meredith Layne, the casting director, needs a nod. She has been nominated for 20 awards and won 4 Daytime Emmy’s for casting other animated shows, including Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Penguins of Madagascar and Kung Fu Panda-LofA. It sounds like Ellis wanted RA for Trevor and won the day (…and series), but the whole ensemble rocks. I think I have now officially lost count of how many times I’ve watched the series/parts of series! I wonder if I’d enjoy RA’s snarky Trevor if he didn’t look so much like RA? Poor Richard. Always trying to escape the ‘totty’ moniker, and what could be safer than anime? Sorry, Mr. A.,….but Trevor puts the capital T in ‘Totty’ for me. (I just had to go there.) Thanks for all the wonderful detective work. It’s really been fun.

    • I think I would enjoy it less if Trevor didn’t look like him, mostly because the story in itself doesn’t interest me all that much. He would still have a great voice, and be funny, but I don’t think I’d have watched it five times already if he looked different. Ask me again when he does a Pixar cartoon or something 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
