Kiss him, he’s Irish: More Ireland love from Richard Armitage

Another new interview. It looks like he’s very interested in the Michael Cleary character in the Bridget Cleary story. [and he read the script 15 years ago?]

~ by Servetus on July 19, 2017.

11 Responses to “Kiss him, he’s Irish: More Ireland love from Richard Armitage”

  1. sigh that old red hair chestnut… He should take a look in the mirror – he’d see the typical Irish look right there

    • yeah, I have to say I don’t think of the typical “Irish look” as red hair, although I guess there were some examples of that. The Irish minority around here is mostly tow-headed or sandy blond.

      • And grah it’s as big a chestnut when levelled at an Irish person (as presumably the interviewer for that Irish online mag was), as the notorious circus question levelled at him…
        (OK, have got to snap out of my criticism mode today…)

        • Works exactly the same way for Jews, incidentally.

          Criticism is not bad. (I always think, you think I’m being critical? You should keep in mind all the things I am not saying out loud.)

          • No, criticism is good! The fact that I am feeling guilty about being critical, is bad… That’s where we’re at at this stage, and I am really annoyed with myself for that.

            • Could not agree more. I never thought that I should have to turn off my mind to be a fan.

              • Even a Happy Henrietta like myself doesn’t believe that… However, I am gradually turning into a Guilty Gwyneth over the constant controversy about how much critical discourse is allowed…

            • I think I’ll put this here, too, even though it’s about the other interview — one thing that I end up resenting about this whole discussion is that someone else thinks their attitude toward something should be normative for everyone else.

              Like the question of whether fans like or don’t like something, if they spend “too much time” not liking something, or they want to sway other people to see something their way. I see all of these things as entirely normal and to some extent conditioned by the world in which we exist as fans. The argument “well, I wouldn’t spend so much time doing x” for me turns into “fans who spend so much time doing x are bad / evil / should do something else.” It’s a hypocritical argument, in that it’s exactly the argument that non-fans direct at fans, just a narrower version of it. But it bugs the hell out of me that some people ignore that what they see as the ongoing “hate” (we need another word for that, because not all dislike of something is hate) is the response to the ongoing barrage. If you’re a Tolkien fan, whether or not you approve of Peter Jackson’s films, you’re going to encounter them everywhere in your fandom. Should you ditch Tolkien love because the Tolkien fandom has this one component you can’t abide? Similarly, if I’m a Richard Armitage fan, I’m going to encounter graphic bloody pictures of Francis Dolarhyde after he’s bitten someone, and saw a lot of them in 2015. So I should just fuck off because although I’ve been a fan for seven years, this project bugs the hell out of me? I don’t think so. I would likely be less oppositional about things i don’t like if I weren’t regularly confronted with them by people (filmmakers, advertisers, fans) who are insisting that they are so wonderful. That’s not to say those people should stop — but I really resent the suggestion that I should. Somehow I should be persuaded of their position and should resign my own right to persuade or even — frankly — think.

              • You are hitting it on the nail there with the need of some to impose their individual opinions, reactions or behaviours on others. When it comes to that kind of approach, my capacity for understanding is severely limited. Why is it so hard to accept that there is not one way of fangirling?

                • In the end, I’m just going to keep on doing it my way and I assume everyone else will, too, just wearying that we still are having these discussions years later.

Leave a Reply

 
