Some of Monday’s Castlevania yield #richardarmitage

Likes the length of the season (in contrast to almost every reviewer and blogger).

Trevor is a bit of an asshole, but he’s fun to watch and you know he has a good heart underneath. And that deserves a lot of credit to both Ellis’s writing and Armitage’s performance. Together they managed to gift the character with that perfect mix of down-on-his-luck roguishness and likeable charisma and create a fantastic lead with it.”

I think this is only the second review I’ve seen in German; it praises the freedom the story takes with the narrative of the games and looks forward to more. Final sentence: “That Trevor is voiced by Hollywood great Richard Armitage (The Hobbit) and that stars like James Callis (Battlestar Galactica) are there too in the original version may also may also be mentioned with praise as well.”

The voice of the main character did annoy me, I realise he is drunk and depressed most of the time, but he sounds lethargic.

I found it an intriguing choice to use Trevor as the main character, as he has not been the protagonist in a game since Castlevania 3: Dracula’s Curse. I personally like this choice, as for me, Trevor was not a well known character and I feel both Warren Ellis and Richard Armitage brought another side to his character with his dark humor, coarse language and apparent lack of care for many things.

[I’m going over at this point to only posting these if they say something I haven’t read somewhere already, or they say something specifically about Armitage / Belmont. I may actually be reaching print fatigue on this theme. Remarkable.]

~ by Servetus on July 25, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
