OT: The thing about the optometrist

I’m sure you’re thinking your thoughts about my relative silence about the optometrist. I’m not trying to be coy, or hiding a fiasco. When I say, “that man has potential,” that’s accurate. It feels like all I can say. Perhaps it’s because I’ve been in various kinds of long distance relationships before.

Twice, or maybe three times, in my adult life, I’ve been in an emotional state to support a long distance relationship. The first time, I had just finished college, and simply not willing to compromise about career issues at all. Not so bad: that man would have been a poor choice. Amusingly, he is still a grad student at this university, and though he hasn’t come out to me, I suspect very strongly that he’s gay. The second time, intense mutual sexual attraction made the distance bearable. We fought a lot, but the first time I saw him, in a synagogue while breaking the fast after Yom Kippur, I thought, I want him. We were in bed four days later and the sex kept us together long after we should have realized that our relationship was way too volatile ever to provide the stability that a marriage between two professionals with demanding careers needs to be successful. The last man I loved as much I am capable of loving anyone, I think, and the severe compromises that kept the connection going –it persisted for more than eleven years– were made in the name of sincere affection on both sides. I used to joke that he was the man I would have married at sixteen had I met him then instead of at twenty-six. He did not find that funny. Neither of us saw either the ways in which it limited us, how much the compromises were demanding, or how troubled our friendship was, and it ended rather abruptly in March of 2006. He told me a few days ago, by phone, that he’s going to be married and become a father. I’m pleased for him, but it would be a lie to say that I am not still processing the news.

So much for background, now to the optometrist. He’s quite attractive, but that chemistry that says “jump my bones now” is not there, perhaps not on his side, either; all this is mitigated by the fact that we each know how the other was raised and we have inherited ideas about appropriate behavior that perhaps neither of us fully endorses anymore but both of us feel obliged to conform to. At coffee on Sunday he didn’t attempt any physical affection beyond a handshake and a caress in the small of the back; last night he kissed me on the cheek at the end of the evening. This is awfully stepped back for the age we are now and the city we live in, but it’s consistent with the sort of manners we were raised with. I was grateful not to be pushed, though. And then there’s the negotiation about where. I don’t have furniture anymore, and don’t think of Motel 6 as the place for a tender first assignation. He asked me to see him again before I go. It would be the fateful third date. No way I’m having sex on the night before I leave town. He’s said he’ll be in Wisconsin this summer.

Could it be love? Eventually? Maybe. He’s a kind, diligent man, clearly someone who’s longing for an understanding friend and a little more adventure. He seems responsible, adult, and stable, and like me, has had significant relationships in the past but has never been married. He sees my profession as exciting, interesting, and desirable. He seems to see me as someone who knows where he’s coming from. He’s also now sending the “I am interested in you physically” signals. And I hate to waste the opportunity: it’s so seldom that I meet a man who’s not afraid of a smart woman. I just don’t have enough information yet to love him. And I don’t see how I can get it anymore at this point. I need to see him with other people, observe him in other situations.

Three dates might be enough for sex; they aren’t enough for love.

~ by Servetus on June 12, 2011.

35 Responses to “OT: The thing about the optometrist”

  1. I think you are wise not to want to jump into anything serious at this point, but it does sound –promising. And as you say, a guy who isn’t threatened by or fearful of an intelligent lady is somewhat rare.

    As someone who ended up marrying someone I had known since I was six years old, who came from the same place, attended the same school, came from the same sort of religious background, someone with whom I have so many shared memories–having that sort of connection may not have the surface appeal of the intense heat of an instant attraction, but nearly 26 years later, I can say the man who was first my friend and then my lover, is a man still surprises and interests and delights me. And probably understands me better than anybody else does.

    Anway, you know how I hope and wish and want everything to work out for you–in your personal and professional life. Bless you, my friend.

    Like

    • That sounds like my parents’ story, and they’ve been married 50 years now. I agree friendship is really important. Looking at this now I realize it looks like I’m saying either you can love someone or be into them sexually — it’s more that I think there are different ways into a relationship and friendship leading into love is what this would have to be if it were to be anything.

      Like

      • Friendship leading to love can be a wonderful thing; I’m soon to celebrate 28 years of that.

        I echo Angie’s sentiments about everything working out for you.

        Like

      • Oh, yeah, it’s different for different people, too, and in different situations. There are people who meet and sparks fly and it’s love at first sight–and years and years later, they are still together. I know, because I have interviewed some of them (I love finding out “how we met” stories evolved).

        I know from personal experience friendship leading to love is indeed, as Frenz says, “a wonderful thing.” Love is a wonderful thing; a strong friendship is also wonderful. Romance is wonderful. I think you are being a wise “smart woman” trusting your instincts about handling this for now.

        Sex at this point could complicate matters in a way you don’t need right now.
        And it seems to me this man is the sort of fellow who would understand that, even if he is a bit disappointed . . . not to enjoy the further charms of the good professor 😉

        But there is always summer in Wisconsin to ponder–and the fact life really is like a box of chocolates. I mean, would you have ever expected to have your optometrist ask you out on a date?

        Like

        • The only thing more surprising than being asked on a date by my optometrist was that I actually agreed to go on a date with my optometrist 🙂

          Like

        • Love at first sight is what I had/have. When I was seven I went to a summer fair in a neighboring town. There was a greased pole with a $10.00 bill stuck to the top. All the boys were trying to climb up to get it with no success. Then, there HE was. A skinny eignt year old red headed kid scooted up that greased pole like lightning, grabbed the cash, slid back down and dissappeared into the crowd. I said to one of my sisters, “I’m going to marry that red-headed kid.” 14 years later, I did. We are still married 48 years later. What a ride!!!

          Like

          • See, that’s the kind of story I love. 😀

            Like

          • I didn’t meet my husband till we were both 30 but it was absolutely love at first sight. We kind of mutually crushed on each other at work and then there was an event where we finally had a chance to sit and talk…as it turned out we grew up five blocks from one another and knew all the same people but had somehow never met. One our first date I knew he was the one; on our second date he met my brother, who leaned over to me and whispered, “Marry him tomorrow, please.”: and on our third date we decided we’d have incredibly cute kids. We went to see “GalaxyQuest!” I think I owe Alan Rickman a thank you note eleven years later…

            Like

  2. As you say he sounds like has a lot of potential, as a friend or something more. It’s wise to be cautious right now, things are too unsettled.

    I clicked that third date link and laughed. Is that the expectation today? I’m waaay behind times then. Unless I was in instant lust or looking for recreational sex, the question for me would be whether I should develop a relationship with him, not if I should jump him.

    (I tested my own veracity by pondering a hypothetical: would I jump RA on the third date? I’d have to say no, though I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have to think about that a bit.)

    Like

    • I live in a city with a lot of singles and one with a really active Craigs List sex scene. I think the rules would be different if I were going out with someone from where I grew up. (Then again, the basis for knowing people there is different. Everyone pretty much knows everyone else and has for decades. So the risks of having sex are higher. Here, if something doesn’t work out, you can just disappear.)

      But yeah, I do think that the “third date rule” is in the back of people’s minds here at least.

      As to sex with Richard Armitage. Cough. It would depend a lot on who Richard Armitage turns out to be in real life, right?

      Like

  3. Don’t over think it. Just go with it. The past is the past and this is something new. I have to tell you, with my hubs, I didn’t have fireworks right away. It wasn’t until the third or fourth date. Our first date we talked until 3 am and had a nice connection, but I didn’t want to jump him. That all being said 11 years later and we have great sex. So you never know.

    Like

    • I agree that the circumstances under which sex is enjoyable are more surprising than one initially realizes. I just don’t think I feel whatever it is right now that would enable me to have sex. Maybe if I see him in the summer.

      Like

      • I am not suggesting that you hop into bed with him. What I am suggesting is that you keep your heart open to whatever comes of this. Just go with it in as much as you are able.

        Like

        • OK 🙂 So you think I should go out with him one last time.

          Like

        • The other thing I wanted to say, which I didn’t articulate very well was that, I found the love I had with my hubs was totally different than what I imagained love to be. The “true” love wasn’t at all like what I had expected it to feel like. It was like I knew him for years, he just got me, and he often knows what I am going to do or how I am going to react before I do. Trust me, we have our challenges and niether one of us is perfect. Ah love, so hard to explain!

          I also wanted to say I really admire your strength and grace.

          Like

          • I think the important word here is “connection”–there has to be a sense of a connection, something shared between two people, a sort of understanding of where that person is coming from, whether or not they grew up knowing each other or not. And I really do think for any relationship to be, I don’t know, soul satisfying, whether it’s a long-term one or a romance for a season—you have to LIKE the person. You can love someone without liking them. Don’t we all have relatives we feel that way about?

            Because Benny is my friend for whom I have a deep affection, it makes it all mean so much more.

            I like to say Benny and I aren’t perfect, but we are perfect for each other (oh, gosh, I am so sappy,. Sorry. Well, he is hundreds of miles away right now and I am writing steamy fan fic scenes and well–you know . . . the cats and dogs are a poor substitute for certain things. 😉 )

            Like

          • I agree, “true love” is something very difficult to define, but can be absolutely apparent when it happens — I met my husband when I was 23 and we have been together 25 years — even after all this time, I find there is a weird combination of completely knowing this other person inside and out and discovering something new everyday. My mom refers to this as “sharing the dream” 🙂

            Like

            • Excellent way of putting it, soaplady. “Sharing the dream.” I will be so glad when my hubby gets back home tomorrow. Wednesday is our 26th anniversary. 😀

              Like

            • I’ll also go out on a limb and say I don’t think it’s the same thing for every person.

              Like

    • Not love at first sight for me either. We were friends first. Then we started dating. It took me awhile to see his potential as husband material but once I did — that was it for me! We have been happily married for 28 years and counting!

      Like

  4. I would give you advice too, but somehow I think we’re on different planets, and there may be no transmitter translator around. : D

    Wondering what the optometrists are like in Wisconsin…

    Like

    • Uh, there’s supposed to be a strike through transmitter. I think I need to go back to bed. But hope all is well with you, and hey, what a great thing to occupy your mind. Much better than pondering things like FERPA, which sounds like a bodily function.

      Like

      • I wouldn’t blog about it if I weren’t interested in discussing it 🙂

        FERPA is better than HIPAA 🙂

        Like

    • Frenz, any and all advice gratefully accepted and seriously considered. Honestly.

      I think part of why I feel like I am maybe wasting an opportunity is that this sort of thing doesn’t happen to me all that often: a man being interested in me whom I could also be interested in. But I do think the rules about intimacy change once marriage is off the table, which it definitely is in my case. I can only see myself getting married at this point for some decisive logistical reason (resolving immigration difficulties, for example, or making a property arrangement to protect someone). I’m not looking for the man for the rest of my life. I’m looking for the one who fits this piece of it. So yeah, no doubt the place to look is the place I’ll be living next year. It’ll be at least five years before I meet another optometrist, though, unless something bad happens to my eyes 🙂

      Like

  5. The best thing about a new person is that feeling one gets when we realize that there are innumerable possibilities. It’s a way of feeling one’s self opening up, becoming intensely available to possible sensory experience. Maybe you’re just not quite ready to open up (figuratively) until other parts of your life or past or to-do list are settled. And then maybe in another state — or state of mind — the response and chemistry will be better. ….?

    Like

    • I think that’s right, Didion. That feeling of being open to discovery isn’t there sexually, and the friendship level goes much more slowly.

      Like

  6. My mind went off in quite a different tangent when you referred to the “third date”! I immediately thought of VoD when Geraldine clarified the “re kissing” etc and she said there would be “one kiss with tongues” LOL!! I loved when Harry came to collect the debt! Wouldn’t we be more than willing to pucker up for that!!

    Like

    • I thought of that, too. Actually what I thought is that although she was totally into him right from the beginning, she didn’t relax her standards to jump into bed with him, either 🙂

      I might French-kiss on a third date if I knew I were in a situation where it wouldn’t go further than that, and if I weren’t leaving town 🙂

      Like

      • I always thought sweet Harry respected his sexy vicar all the more for maintaining her standards. 😀

        Like

  7. You don’t necessarily have to have the “jump bones now” feeling to begin with. In fact, it might work even better if it’s a gradual thing. He sounds like a nice bloke – no, in fact, he sounds like a gentleman. There aren’t many of those out there, so lucky you! 🙂

    Like

  8. At least you’re open to the possibilities and not rushing in. Perhaps that’s all you need at the moment and can muster, plenty of other things that keep you occupied.

    Just enjoy the good company.

    Like

  9. […] 2005: the first signs of trouble at work. Spring 2006: the sudden, overdetermined end of a long, productive, but also troubled, relationship. An attempt to leave my job fails — the interview starting on the day after I ask that we […]

    Like

  10. […] during my first four years of grad school, I’d come home and assault the physicist boyfriend, who exerted a kind of sexual pull on me that I’ve never experienced before or since, right then and there. I’d burst through the door and if he was home, I’d rip his and […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.