First candle, third year

From where I am sitting, I can see the sun setting to end the Sabbath, and 1. Chanukkah follows immediately upon Shabbat this year. It’s also interesting that Rosh Chodesh Tevet is falling on Thursday. Auspicious, one might say.

I want to wish all of ArmitageWorld (that celebrates it) Happy Chanukkah!

This is the vid I made last year.

As far as I know, it’s the only Richard Armitage / Chanukkah fanvid. I started a new one this year to the tune of “I Have a Little Dreidl,” but I don’t know when / if it will be finished.

Jewish fans love you, Mr. Armitage!

Two years ago, I gave Richard Armitage some champagne to celebrate being cast as Thorin. (And I sang “Ma’oz Tsur,” if you want to hear my singing voice. I’m no opera star.) This year, I think, he really needs to drink a whole bottle of it! The miracle has been fulfilled, to put it in quasi-religious terms.

A year ago, on 1. Chanukkah, we were watching the premiere of the first trailer for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. And that promise is shortly to be fulfilled as well.

What would I give Mr. Armitage for 1. Chanukkah this year?

A big hug, for everything we’ve heard and seen in the last ten days.

As for me I am going to a falafel-making party with the Peskies and the Fuzzies. If I am still in town tomorrow night I will go to an ice-skating party downtown, which will be fun, because there’s something inherently amusing about watching ultra-orthodox men zoom around on iceskates. If not, I’ll be on the road, light in a hotel room, and hope I don’t set the smoke detectors off. Remind me to tell you my story of Chanukkah in the 1990s, when I was at a conference as a penniless graduate student, stayed in a convent of the Adorers of the Sacred Blood of Christ instead of a hotel to save money, and then had to explain to the nuns what was happening when the candles set their smoke detector off …

Chag sameach!

~ by Servetus on December 8, 2012.

11 Responses to “First candle, third year”

  1. ha ha ha……….you made me the night …. never would have thought to see a video of Richard of Hanukkah …. is …. amazing … (Love the detail of “sov sov sov” and Richard spinning!!)

    Chanukah Sameach …. Thanks for making me a good time!

    Like

  2. Happy Chanukah! The ice-skating party sounds like a blast. Stay well and have a good holiday.

    Like

  3. Happy Chanukah!

    Like

  4. Happy Chanukah for you!

    Like

  5. Happy Chanukah!

    Like

  6. Happy Hanukkah!

    Like

  7. Szcześliwego Chanuka! I wish you lots of chocolates! 🙂

    Like

  8. Happy Chanukah!

    Like

  9. Happy Hanukkah, serv! Wherever you go, travel safe

    Like

  10. Thanks for all the good wishes!

    Like

  11. […] night the world saw the first Hobbit trailer and #richardarmitage trended the first time); 2012 (you can see the exciting sing along Chanukkah video here, if you haven’t); 2013 (nothing special; this was the holiday after my mother died, so there was a lot of other […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.