*ooof*: The Test of a Closer Look

For a change I thought I should go back to a character shot of Armitage again. Thorin Oakenshield is the man dwarf. Please let me precede the analysis with a big thank you to all the faithful readers who have engaged in discussion so far. I hugely appreciate your input and your feedback – it makes my day when I read your reactions to photos I discuss! But more than that, they provide me with motivation and also with new ideas for further exploration of photographic themes, practice and interpretation. On previous *ooof* posts, for instance, the question of photoshop has come up in our post-posting discussions on a regular basis. Following from that, I have chosen this particular image for today’s *ooof* because it will allow me to talk a bit about post-production and give you a few pointers re. photoshopping of imagery.

First of all let me make this clear again: No image these days leaves a photographer’s hands without post-production. Not a single one. It may come as a surprise to some of you, when I say that images have never been not post-produced. Even in the early 20th century, photographic prints and negatives were manipulated. Strictly speaking, the chemical processing of a print was already a post-produced interpretation of the negative: Contrary to popular belief, photographers *can* manipulate an exposure from a film negative. While exposing the negative onto the photographic paper, they could either “burn” or  “dodge” parts of the image. These terms in photography are used to describe the process of manipulating the exposure of certain areas of a print. The two terms are pretty self-explanatory: Dodging describes the process of avoiding exposure, while burning does the opposite – it increases the exposure on a given part of a print. Without going into details about the actual way of achieving it, I can describe to you the effect of these processes: If you dodge, you make a part of the image lighter, if you burn, you make a part darker. That way you can, for instance, cancel out details of an image, or emphasise parts.

Digital photography, and Photoshop, have made the altering of images much easier and much less time-consuming, of course. It is nowadays part and parcel of a photographer’s job to “clean up” his images. Consequently, what we get served by the media nowadays are – polemically speaking – sanitised versions of the slice of life that photography presents. Photography as a tool of documentation is  dead. You simply cannot trust it anymore. But there are tell-tale signs that post-production leaves on the final version of an image, and I have chosen this composite of Thorin as an easy example.

16-Thorin-HobbitScroll

The Majestic Sword Bearer Himself. Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield in a promo image for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. Image sourced via richardarmitagenet.com

That this image has been photoshopped is clear to the most naïve of all viewers because there are various elements in the picture that have been ripped out of their context. The picture, places Thorin in the centre and encircles him with objects, locations and figures. This is done to give context to the man who is at the centre of the quest and the film. We have Thorin prominently showing his magnificent sword (*ahem*, do I hear someone snigger in the background? Well, you are in good company – even Armitage himself couldn’t resist some sword-related innuendo ) Where were we? Ah, yes, Thorin is showing off his sword. He is in the foreground, looking towards the right (from our perspective), his sword is pointing the same way. In movie language, btw, this denotes a view towards the future. (Notice how movement of “positive” characters in movies tends to be shown towards the right, whereas negative characters or danger is characterised by their movement towards the left of the screen…) The background of the image has been composed from two different shots. On the left we have a scene from inside Bilbo Baggins’ house, the initial meeting of the dwarves before they set off on their quest. The right hand side has been made up from a still of the encounter with the trolls. If you look carefully you will notice a dwarf lying in the sack in front of the pot. It is clear that these two components are not part of the same movie scene – one is indoors, the other outdoors (also compare the backgrounds of the backgrounds: the doorway and ceiling on the left and the rock face on the right).

To the “learned” eye there are other indicators that the three composite elements do not stem from the same scene. The clue is in the lighting and the hues. Our main image component, Thorin, is lit from slightly to the left of his front, from slightly above. The light catches the right side of his face, leaving shadows on his right side. The figures in the background on the left, however, have been lit from other directions. The lighting there actually makes no sense at all: Kili appears to have been lit from the right, Bombur dead-pan from the left, and Gloin from above left. There is the shadow of the beer mug which indicates light coming from behind left. Even the leg of the table gets a shadow (ridiculous! Why would there be a source of light *under* the table???) from behind left. None of these lighting set-ups match that of our main focal point, Thorin. And neither does the lighting on the right: The pot is clearly lit from above (observe the shadow under the rim). The dwarf in front of it is lit from the front, lighting up his face and brow, when the light should either shine from above him like on the pot or come from the fire in front of which he lies. Messed up!

A similarly mess is the varying and conflicting hues of the image. Starting in the centre again, Thorin appears to have been shot in daylight. The light is reasonably bright and white. The background left has a yellow hue – meant to denote the warm candlelight – which does not match the light on Thorin. (There is some warmer hue on Thorin’s chest, but for the sake of my argument I choose to ignore that *ggg*.) In case of the background right it is even more messed up in itself, with the pot receiving a daylight hue(white/bright) and the dwarf in front bathed in a yellow hue (fire light).

And what do Photoshop artists do, when they want to cover up their activities? They use smoke and mirrors. Or just smoke, in this case. Parts of the image have been given some artificial smoke wafting from the big troll pot, past Thorin, into Bilbo’s house and in front of the table. A nice attempt at obscuring some of the image areas where the various component pictures join up.

Apart from lighting/hue, another typical give-away for photoshop composites is perspective. It is extremely difficult to match up different images because it is most unlikely that the stills photographer shot each composite image from exactly the same perspective. With Thorin, the perspective is straight-on. This is pretty well-matched with the pot in the background right. However, when you look at the scene in the background left, your stomach should start churning and you should feel a sense of vertigo: The table appears to float up at the back, and logically the mug and plates should be sliding off the front. Because here the photographer has shot from a slightly higher vantage point, emphasising the shortness of the dwarves and the smaller scale of the Hobbit’s dwelling. The tilted camera position for the background left and the straight-on perspective of the camera for the foreground image do not match up.

Chances are, I am picking this apart, and nobody cares. Hey, even *I* don’t really care. My attention is taken up by the majesticity of his Majesty. This is a promo image in the tradition of a movie poster which picks some of the most memorable, pivotal scenes of the film and collates them for an overview over the plot. Maybe, for that purpose, it is actually useful to “feel” that the images do not match up and belong to different scenes in the same film? It is only on closer inspection that these things annoy me. As a photographer, I would have preferred a “real” image, not a makey-uppy one. That’s what we are there for, film people!! Give us jobs and we produce images for you that stand the test of a closer look!

All text © Guylty at me + richard armitage, 2013. Please credit when using excerpts and links. Images and video copyrights accrue to their owners.

~ by Guylty on February 12, 2013.

25 Responses to “*ooof*: The Test of a Closer Look”

  1. Thanks for the analysis, Guylty. It explains a lot, for example, when I look at a photograph and feel that something is off, a hint of vertigo. I get the same feeling looking at some of the Renaissance paintings, where the painter has shown the subjects(s) lit by multiple and impossible light sources. I remember an “Annunciation” that literally made me dizzy.) I know that there are still photographers who work with analog methods, but they, too, manipulate the images so that some people think they are doing a brilliant job with a computer. No, it’s done manually, but what matters is the finished art.

    Like

    • Yes, the finished art matters. I suppose, as long as we are aware of the various methods of getting to a final print, all is fair in love and art 😉 It’s actually in the area of reporting/journalism, I would be much more concerned about the use of Photoshop. I briefly touched on it in the text above – photography as documentary. How can we act upon seeing an image, if what we see is likely to have been enhanced/altered/manipulated? This has serious implications for war photography and such like. And I don’t really see a solution there. All we can do is trust the honour of the photographer…

      Like

      • Agreed. I began not to trust what I was seeing in 1963. Between posed shots and post-production, including blatant manips, photographs could no longer be taken as truth. For documentary and journalistic pictures, we have to rely not only on the honour of the photographer, but on the honour of those who handle the photographer’s work.

        Like

        • True, Leigh. And with media scandals left, right and center, it gets harder and harder to trust and believe in impartial, informative press/media…

          Like

        • and there were a ton of manips before that — all the USSR photos that put people in photos they weren’t in or took them out after they were purged …

          Like

  2. Thanks Guylty…always interesting to read the artistic breakdown. I never really paid attention to the right/left indicator – makes sense if I squint and remember my Latin, the word for left hand (marked as “ill omened” by Roman priests) is “sinister”. Sorry lefties! I’m not sure I want to know anymore how much I’m being subtly manipulated by images. My rational brain knows not to believe everything I see, but the eyes see what they see 🙂

    Like

    • It is frustrating and tiring, isn’t it, this constant onslaught of images that demand a critical evaluation. Maybe we just have to all make peace with the fact that images are altered – and that is it.
      re. lefties = sinister: lol! I am one of those, but I take no offense 😉

      Like

      • I found that among my engineering colleagues, left-handedness and colour blindness seemed more common than in the population at large, and coupled to the kind of spatial perception that makes reading blueprints easy.

        Like

      • I think that’s true, and for adults it has become a reasonable expectation. For kids though, I think it is a lot more complicated. I hate the fact that I need to “train” my children, especially my daughter not to believe what her eyes clearly can see…They can’t intellectually process the why of it all. I really wonder what the long term effects of so much manipulation of images, especially for marketing purposes will be. ( we can already see some of it in warped body images, the obsession with youth, etc…although I’m not really sure how much more prevalent this is in the US than elsewhere.)

        Like

      • What I found when I started teaching was that my students were better than I was at processing sequences of images (whereas I was good at looking closely). They were still fairly critical. That seems to be changing. I think the thing is that we don’t really know how fully we are affected by the images until we at least ask …

        Like

        • I know from my own kids that they are being taught in school to interpret the media very carefully – from an early age. It seems to take a while to sink in, though. Re. being affected by images: I was watching a documentary on war photographer Don McCullin when it occurred to me that none of what he showed us about Vietnam, Korea, Kongo, Lebanon etc. would be possible to print nowadays. And I am not sure whether it is a good thing that (documentary) photography is practically non-existent these days as the media only prints sanitised images of horrible events. I am not advocating that we go back to medieval times and attend an execution per week, but I think we have become accustomed to NOT-SEEING. And that isn’t good, either. (Sorry – total tangent, but I have been thinking about this a lot, recently.)

          Like

          • I agree that we become accustomed to NOT SEEING when the media bombards us with the same images over and over, images that have been scrubbed “clean” so that they have all the emotional impact of some trivial TV series. We also become accustomed to NOT FEELING and NOT THINKING. While some of the images we have seen from war correspondents and other documentary photographers are gut-wrenching, making me want to scream “How can you just stand there and take a picture of THAT?!”, and they would never be published today, I think it was important to people’s understanding of what was really happening in the world. We may be “protecting” some people’s fragile sensibilities, are we actually desensitizing people to horror and violence, making it seem like it’s just a cartoon and not real at all? I am not advocating exposing children to nightmare material, but children should be in bed by the time that adults watch the 10:00 p.m. news.

            Like

          • I agree. When I was doing some training in Domestic Violence there was a video that had been made by a perpetrator. Even though it was grainy, out of focus and not particularly graphic ( in comparison with the average TV program) it was very very powerful to watch because it was real. The perp got one of the longest jail sentences ever for DV so clearly the judge and jury felt more moved by real footage too. On the other hand, I felt traumatised by it and wouldn’t want my kids to see it so maybe censorship is a good thing..

            Like

          • Suddenly I feel like a puppet. Are we being deliberately manipulated into a sheep-like flock so that we are easier as a group to control? *shiver*. It makes the role of the parent (and teachers I think) so important in actively teaching children to be critical of what they see and hear. Seeing the lack of critical ability that sits in my intro classes, I’m not reassured. Note to self : find the balance between traumatizing children and allowing them to become unsuspecting sheep…

            Like

          • Isn’t there also a deadening effect, however? I tend to notice this with people who look at Holocaust pictures for a living.

            Like

          • There is a fine line between traumatizing/deadening people with visual material and informing their sensibilities with pictures, I know. I am not sure whether I have the recipe for success here. It has just occurred to me that we, in our peaceful western civilisation, are so sheltered from the gruesome horrors of life and war, that we neither appreciate our own peace and comfort, nor really understand what hardships others less fortunate than us are going through. I just think that we are nowadays making mountains out of molehills – how come that we cannot deal with the cruelty of war crimes anymore when in the middle ages even children watched beheadings as a form of entertainment? And noone needed therapy. Were they all nutcases? Or were they somehow able to deal with things differently?
            Granted – that is an extreme example. I think my point is that I believe mankind *can* actually psychologically deal with more than we are currently being allowed to deal with. In order to protect young minds, a certain amount of censorship should go on, however, I agree. Funnily enough, a lot of people do not want their pre teenage children to watch the news – but have no qualms letting them watch violent films or play war games on their consoles.
            I am inclined to say that we are all f*cked up – sorry to be swearing here, it is a sign of my helplessness I guess. I have no idea where I am trying to go with all this, probably just streaming my consciousness onto unsuspecting, friendly readers. I apologize and also thank you for engaging in this conversation – as I said, I have been thinking a lot about this in response to Don McCullin’s life story.

            Like

            • Well, people were closer to death until the twentieth century. For one thing, they died more, and sooner — it wasn’t uncommon for relatives to wash a dead body and for it to be laid out in one’s own house. I only realized this once I joined a Jewish burial society and started washing dead bodies. It took some getting used to.

              What I was thinking of, though, was my exSO’s mother telling me that when she was a kid they would sit in a shelter waiting for the bombing to end, but that even watching a few pictures of the bombing of Sarajevo deadened her to the suffering of the victims there, and that this bothered her a great deal.

              Like

  3. I appreciated the exact enumeration of everywhere that the images reveal their unnatural juxtapositions. It’s probably part of why I don’t look too closely at pictures like this one; I find them disorienting (if I don’t suffer as badly as Leigh does).

    One thing I did find intriguing about this picture, however, was the look on Thorin / Armitage’s face. It seems curiously slack to me, somehow.

    Like

    • Hehe, I leave the in-depth interpretation of Thorin’s facial expression up to you, Serv. It didn’t occur to me that he looked particularly slack (his face). But then I find him difficult to read under all that facial hair, anyway. Maybe that “slackness” is emphasised by that line on his face, from his nostril down towards the jaw? Plus, there is a hint of a shadow on his cheek – giving the faintest impression of a hollow cheek. – Actually, I am beginning to see now what you mean, Serv…

      Like

  4. Ah-ha! so that is why I’ve never like this image, Guylty. Thanks:)
    BTW, Thorin’s eyes are devoid of expression, don’t you think?

    Like

    • They are, you are right, Joanna. I suppose that could be a deliberate decision – a sign of despondency? To find out and interpret that we would need to know what context the original shot of Thorin actually had, but seeing that he has been transplanted into something else… Curse Photoshop again!

      Like

  5. Thank you, Guylty, for another fascinating analysis. Sorry to be so late – i kept the post tucked away for a quiet moment when i could focus and it took nearly a week to find one!

    I didn’t like this picture of Thorin much and now that the dead eyes and slack features have been pointed out, i know why! Looking again, i now wonder if those features are meant to contrast with the other thing that jumped out at me – which was the energy and youthful joy conveyed in Aiden Turners expression. it seems to me that the candle light behind AT, and their heads being at a similar level, means the eye travels between the two faces and makes comparisons – leaving me to wonder if Thorin was ever a carefree young man who laughed and joked and didn’t have the weight of being a King in exile on his shoulders. AT in the background (was he Fili or Kili? I never know..) makes the pain in Thorins expression even more apparent.

    Like

    • That is a really good point, Bolly! I had not really copped on to that but you are right – their heads are at the same similar level in the image and kind of force your eyes to make a connection. And not only the slack expression in Thorin vs. Kili’s happy laughter stands out: The contrast is really stark because Thorin looks deathly pale compared to Kili with the two different types of lighting on them.
      I actually doubt that PJ (or the marketing department) really had all this in mind when they ok-ed the image for release. I suspect this is a lucky fluke that they very happily used. (The fluke being the two different types of lighting.) The interpretation is strangely apt, though…
      PS: Thanks for reading + commenting, Bolly – no matter *when*!! xx

      Like

    • using Armitage’s own words: “Kili” = “cute.” “Fili” = “can’t say” 🙂

      Like

  6. […] Once again Guylty reacts to the events in RL and overthrows her schedule. My little reunion with RARA is not happening. With Sir Ian McKellan and Orlando Bloom leaving the Hobbit set, and in light of yesterday’s overdue Hobbit vlog, the topic of the week is Thorin. And even more so when faced with Armitage’s conspicuous absence from the fun and games of the vlog. Yes, we saw him doing a couple of stunts and rehearsing with Sir Peter, but no snippets or interviews. Awww. So for today’s *ooof* I have chosen a Thorin still. (That is if it really *is* a still – it looks remarkably like footage from the film, but for the purpose of this *ooof*, let’s assume it is. A previous *ooof* on Thorin was featured here.) […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.