Say my name, say my name!

This is funny. I’ve written before about what I hear when Richard Armitage says his name. But what I think is particularly funny about this new video is that in my view, the pronunciation still isn’t quite right. At least the way I would say it, the last syllable begins with the voiceless alveolar plosive (“t” in English) and not with the voiced alveolar stop (“d” in English). See what you think!

I see that the vid connected on the link to the earlier post has been deleted. Too bad — it was the version of Caramelldansen that had the banana pictures in it. If anyone has a copy, maybe we can repost?

~ by Servetus on January 30, 2015.

27 Responses to “Say my name, say my name!”

  1. I hear “Richard Armidege”. That might just be my old ears not working properly. Who put the “d” in the for the “t”? I am also impressed that you found this website. I have not quite seen everything, but this comes close. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  2. I agree – it’s not right, or at least not how it’s pronounced in the UK! 😉

    Like

  3. No way!!!!! That doesn’t sound right in my ears.
    Reminds me a lot of a Northern Bavarian dialect (Fränkisch!) where the “t” is pronounced as a mellow “d”.

    Like

    • indeed. me, too, come to think of it.

      Like

      • Awful, a “t“ is a “t“ and should be pronounced as such. That is why I love Brit English so much.
        Like I hold on speaking Hochdeutsch, though Linda60 reminded me, I couldn’t hide my Ruhrpott accent 😀

        Like

        • Nö, Utepirat you can’t, but I love it! 😀 Just found out this vey minute that again there is a midday show at 13.00 im my 3D OriginalFilm theatre of BOFA. So I’ll be out in a minute (need preparation for “The Crucible” on Tuesday!! LOL) I will pay special attention to Thorin’s “t”……..

          Like

  4. Uhoh….. that is aaaalll wrrrooonngggg! “Amy-didje” indeed… pfft… it’s more like “Ah-mi-tidge” or “Ar-mi-tidge”, I think… at least, that’s how I pronounce it as a Brit… 🙂

    Like

  5. I agree with you, and class it with another word that drives me nuts when people say it — “impordant” when they mean “important”. UnimporTant, I know, but it grates on my ear. 🙂

    Like

  6. I speak Spanish and even I know that pronunciation is wrong! 😄 How to learn to say his last name right? Go to the source. The man itself. I watched his interviews and listened the way he pronounced it.

    Like

  7. Eindeutig ein d, das im Namen nicht vorkommt.

    Interessant auch der “Missunderstood Armitage”-Post, denn er erklärt mir endlich etwas, über das ich mich gewundert hatte. Zwei ältere Posts sind mir im Gedächtnis, bei denen ich mich gefragt hatte “Wie kann sie das so falsch gehört haben?” – dabei bin ich doch der non-native speaker. Ich wäre nie auf den Gedanken gekommen, dass britisches Englisch für Amerikaner vielleicht nicht immer so einfach zu verstehen ist (von heftigen Dialekten mal abgesehen, aber die sind überall schwer zu verstehen, wenn man nicht damit aufgewachsen ist).
    Tja, man lernt immer noch was dazu. 🙂

    Like

    • There’s probably some emotional resistance for some of us as well. A lot of British accents (including the ones we usually hear from Armitage in interviews) are coded as snobby.

      Like

      • Ja, das eigentliche Hör-Verstehen findet im Gehirn statt – und bei der Verarbeitung spielt alles mögliche mit rein: Vorurteile (positive und negative), Gewohnheiten, Erwartungen.

        Deshalb ist es ja z. B. auch so schwer, eine einmal falsch gehörte (und somit falsch in der Erinnerung abgelegte) Sache beim nächsten Mal richtig zu verstehen. Einmal Lady Mondegreen, immer Lady Mondegreen – sozusagen. 😉

        Like

  8. To me it just sounds American in pronounciation, and while that’s not how Richard says it, it doesn’t sound incorrect to me in the way it does when someone insists on giving it a distinctly French flavour. It’s a bit like people not pronouncing the T in my dad’s name, Peter. It’s still his name just with a bit of a cockney twist 😉

    My name generally gets pronounced correctly…it’s just the spelling that causes major problems. I’ve seen it written at least 12 different ways over the years!

    Like

    • I think most Americans would not voice “t” — although perhaps not in the south / southwest. Perhaps our “t” in the north is so close to a “d” that some people can’t hear the difference, but I certainly feel a difference between Armitage and Armidedge.

      Like

  9. I must confess that I can’t pronounce his last name, but even so this sounds weird, to say the least.

    Like

  10. Sounds like didge at the end to me. I think it should be sound like tidge at the end – a hard T sound.

    Like

  11. Doesn’t sound right at all. I’m American yet I don’t replace the “t” with “d” in Armitage.

    Like

  12. Well it is very close to what I’d say. They’re just hurrying the ending and it comes out sounding like a “d” instead of a “t”.

    Like

  13. I wouldn’t put too much stock in that site. They pronounced my last name, Trang, incorrectly (“Train” as in choo-choo, when it should be pronounced just as it’s written, rang with a T in front). Their pronunciation doesn’t sound American to me, unless it’s a localized dialect. It does not represent the Midwest, where I’m from. I would definitely pronounce it as a “t”, not a “d”.

    Like

  14. yes, I was writing tongue in cheek. Still, I regularly get search queries here for “how do you pronounce Armitage” and so it’s obviously a question people have … so no harm in commenting on it 🙂

    Like

  15. Nee, Armitdisch geht garnicht. Ditschen ist sächsisch für “eintunken” und Wasserbezüge verbieten sich ja schonmal total bei ihm 🙂
    Lustig finde ich, dass der Name im Chinesischen Armitischii (Armiticii) ausgesprochen wird. Jedenfalls habe ich das so verstanden.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.