This was the last day

So. If this were my year of liberation, I’m now really free.

And slightly frightened.

It’ll go more slowly than I planned; this afternoon I got an offer to work 10 hours a week from remote until my successor is trained, and I took it. And I’ve gotta make the move and I don’t know why I feel so anxious about it.

But in essence, this phase is over.

More than slightly frightened.

But also: more than slightly relieved.

~ by Servetus on December 16, 2015.

14 Responses to “This was the last day”

  1. The unknown is always a bit scary but, being who you are, I’m sure all will be well no matter what lies ahead. Just contemplate the obstacles you have undoubtedly overcome in the past and have faith in what lies ahead! You are in many people’s thoughts and prayers I’m sure! (((Hugs)))

    Like

  2. Sounds like an ideal transition phase, with the remote job keeping you connected to the old life, and financially secured, too. Hope you can lean back over the holidays and forget it all for a bit, just enjoying the moment. Safe travels home!

    Like

  3. Thinking about you. I am not frightened for you because I know you will be better than fine in your new environment. But I am relieved for you to be moving on from a part of your life that wasn’t making you happy. Good for you for stuffing the fear far enough down to move forward. It is not easy.

    Like

  4. The unknown is usually scary and some people do not accept changes easily, but you were brave enough to start the process and that alone says you wanted to do it. And when you want to do something, you can. it may take a while to get a total grip on everything, but you will. Everything changes for a reason and it usually turns out for the good.

    Like

  5. 10 hours is a nice base to ease you in to the independence you crave. Thinking of you and wishing you eveyrthing positive in this transition. You’ll be fine, things tend to have a way of working out in the end, especially for smart, talented people like you.

    Like

  6. I know exactly how you’re feeling! hugs

    Like

  7. You know I’m thinking about you.
    You go – free – slightly frightened – anxious – slightly relieved. I hope in time, you’ll find your liberation so you’ll focus on being free ❤

    Like

  8. Stepping off the edge and into the unknown is always frightening, even if it’s something that you really want to do and involves positive change. Once you settle into your new surroundings and your new life, you will look back and probably think, “Thank goodness I had the courage to move forward and make that change.”
    Bonne chance!

    Like

  9. Best wishes on the latest journey.

    Like

  10. “I’m going on an adventure!” – Bilbo Baggins, after a few hours of considering that the life he’d been leading was less than he wanted, so he packed a bag, left his old life behind and began what was to be the most exciting chapter of his life…

    Like

  11. Sending you all good wishes during your transition to something new. Hugs!

    Like

  12. You will be fine during this transition time in your life. The unknown is always a bit scary. But think of all the new adventures you will have.

    Like

  13. Was auch immer Du vor hast, ich wünsche Dir viel Glück, viel Erfolg und Stärke, um alles was so kommt durch zu stehen. Was D geschrieben hat finde ich gut: “I’m going on an adventure!” von Bilbo……
    Das ganze Elben ist ein Adventure mit Höhen und Tiefen. Ich drücke die Daumen dass es jetzt den Berg hinauf geht 🙂
    Alles Gute für Dich!!!

    Like

  14. I’m so grateful for all of these positive thoughts — now that I have been able to catch up with them and see just how many have accompanied me. They were encouraging to read when I saw them at first and just as heartening now. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.