Here’s the Richard Armitage / Wanderlust interview

~ by Servetus on February 6, 2018.

18 Responses to “Here’s the Richard Armitage / Wanderlust interview”

  1. Thanks lovelots. It’s very delightful to hear his British accent again.

    Like

  2. Der ewig-pubertäre Teil meines Hirns kringelt sich gerade vor Lachen. gg

    … raindrops on the pavement, colourful umbrellas… also sensual metaphors …

    Frankreichs Hauptstadt im Regen ist die schmutzigste Stadt der Welt: Lauter nasse Pariser.

    PS: Ansonsten bin ich wieder mal beeindruckt davon, was RA an Positivem finden und herausstreichen kann.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I don’t think I’ve ever been there when it was raining, but I don’t find it a hugely romantic city anyway, at least not any more than any other large city. I agree that it’s strangely dirty, but I don’t think any dirtier than Rome, which people also think is romantic. Maybe some people find rain romantic. I’m probably not the person to ask.

      I think he knows that the publicity is part of the job and maybe the whole spiel about the language aspect of it was his rationalization for taking on the project. That IS in the piece. I often thought that from the point of his career where he was taking on significant TV roles (so, say starting with BTS or Frozen) you can see one thing in the work where you think, “oh, yeah, that was why he took this job.” Like, with “Moving On,” I thought it was that final speech in the prison. He’s lived in non-English speaking areas for extended periods now, so maybe that part did appeal to him.

      Like

      • Entweder du hast vergessen, welches Latexprodukt im Deutschen auch den Namen “Pariser” trägt, oder dein ewig-pubertärer Teil ist deutilich weniger infantil als meiner. 😉

        Rationalization, ja, vermutlich. Und natürlich kann er nicht schlecht über das jeweils aktuelle Projekt sprechen. Trotzdem geht es mir manchmal ein wenig gegen den Strich … bis ich mir bewusst mache, dass ich nicht dabei bin, wenn er im stillen Kämmerlein darüber flucht, welchen Mist er aussprechen soll.
        Die Vorstellung rettet mich davor, RA für unausstehlich positiv zu halten. gg

        Like

        • Oh, yeah, that’s definitely not in my active vocab. We used a different word. However — great pun!

          I actually don’t read him as unreservedly positive. I think he does his bit for promotion (and I was always mystified by fans who thought he should be openly critical of the Hobbit films).

          Like

          • Wichtige Dinge haben viele Namen. g

            Ganz andere Frage:
            Der Mini-Ausschnitt aus dem Hörbuch im Interview … RA klingt hier mehr wie jemand, der eine Geschichte frei erzählt, nicht liest. Jahaaa, ich verstehe, dass das wahrscheinlich oder zumindest möglicherweise für die Aufnahme gestellt war. Trotzdem: Ist das typisch für ihn? Oder klingt er auch manchmal so, als würde er – eben – was vorlesen?
            Die Hörprobe der weiblichen Stimme klang entschieden anders. SO anders, dass ich sofort dachte, dass ich das – in meiner Muttersprache natürlich – eigentlich genauso gut machen könnte, vielleicht besser. Bestimmt nicht schlechter. (Jobangebote bitte zur Weiterleitung an Serv schicken!!! gg)

            Like

  3. Well, I was almost finished listening to the book when I saw this interview. I’ve come to accept RA usually gets tapped for press/publicity assignments and has learned – mostly – what to say and not to say, “breasting his cards” as my Irish Gran would say. However, in light of the ‘listen’, I found myself taking this interview at face value. His lack of ego – personally and professionally, evidently – allowed him to take Blakely’s book, unapologetically, at face value too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t read him as someone who lacks ego. However, I agree that he is very good at playing someone who lacks ego when the occasion demands.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Grmpf!

    Serv, sorry, irgendwas spinnt anscheindend bei mir technisch total.

    Wenn du Antworten von mir doppelt oder bruchstückhaft bekommst, tut es mir leid – ich weiß nicht, was da verrückt spielt. ;/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Als er die pinkfarbene Tür erwähnt, kann er sich selbst das Lachen kaum verkneifen. So, so, eine Metapher…
    Da hat er sich und uns die Sache gekonnt schöngeredet. Das gehört zum Job, ist nicht uninteressant zu beobachten, löst bei mir jetzt aber keine Kauflust aus (Wortspiel!). Ich glaube, dass ich eher bei den klassischen Stücken bleibe. Da versenke ich mich lieber nochmal in den Hamlet und vermeide dieses unbehagliche Gefühl. Vielleicht liegt es auch daran, dass ich bisher noch nie das Bedürfnis hatte, Paris zu besuchen (Rom schon) und ich mit dem Französischen eher fremdele.

    Like

    • I liked France, but I liked Alsace, Lorraine, Bordeaux better than Paris. But maybe if I spent more time there I would change my mind. From the things that people have been saying, the book is not all that French. I thought it was interesting that he described her picture of Paris not as “authentic,” but as one that you’d recognized if you’d been on vacation there.

      Like

  6. ‘The pink door is a metaphor what this book is about’ – I’d be interested to hear what this means after someone listens to the book.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I’ve nursed a flu these past couple of days, which means I’ve had time to listen to Wanderlust from beginning to end.
    This genre has never been my favourite, but apart from a thin plot, I do take away a few things that are positive:
    Richard’s voice (what’s not to like)
    Translation (the linguist in me (I’m a working translator) relates, and I found those passages in the book believable and amusing)
    Copenhagen has a prominent place in the story, which I enjoy (being Danish). I often wonder if Richard’s ever been to Denmark.
    Surprisingly, not least to myself, I was thoroughly amused by the story.
    Sexy Griffin (with Richard’s voice) was too hot to handle. If I ever hear him say “O…..” again, I don’t know what I’ll do.
    Next time I visit Paris, I must look for that elephant on top of Notre Dame. It’ll be my personal challenge since I’m scared of heights.
    If only the author herself had read Joy’s part. From the interview with her, I took away the bubbly personality that I’d imaged Joy to be, but it sadly never surfaced with the female narration. All in all, I was entertained and amused.

    Like

    • I haven’t been able to make myself turn it on again. But there are a few fans (Luscinnia, Zan, Preoccupied) who are in your corner or partially.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.