Richard Armitage’s haircut as Kenneth in Love, Love, Love: Attempt at description

There have been a few requests for photos of Richard Armitage’s transformation in hairstyle in the role. I’d been googling different haircuts to try to find a picture that exemplified it; no dice. Weirdly, however, as a consequence of the recent Richard Armitage rabbit trail, I ran across a theater history post that had a video of Rupert Everett in Another Country. I hadn’t seen that film but I had read the work it’s based on, the famous play, The History Boys. So then I googled Rupert Everett in Another Country.

So this is how I’d try to reconstruct that picture for someone who hasn’t seen the play since the hair change. First, look at Armitage’s hair in this photo:

That’s the basic texture and length of his hair.

Then, look at this photo of Rupert Everett with Kenneth Branagh (Everett is at left).

Rupert Everett and Kenneth Branagh in the stage version of Another Country at the Queen’s Theatre, 1983.

Rupert Everett and Kenneth Branagh in the stage version of Another Country at the Queen’s Theatre, 1983.

Here’s another of just Everett:

hqdefault

This is not exactly the same as Kenneth’s hair, now, but it has some strong similarities — it is short on the back and sides, but fuller on top and long in front. Everett’s hair is curly and Armitage’s style is not, but I would argue it’s the same cut, and they have fairly similar hairlines.

The effect in Armitage / Kenneth’s case is of straight bangs that are supposed to be brushed to the side and glued down escaping over the forehead and almost threatening to cover his eyes. It’s almost a schoolboy haircut, and it help him look a great deal younger than did the original hairstyle.

Anyway, not perfect, but I hope this helps.

~ by Servetus on November 18, 2016.

4 Responses to “Richard Armitage’s haircut as Kenneth in Love, Love, Love: Attempt at description”

  1. Ah, I love a schoolboy haircut. My teenage son is sporting a pretty dramatic one right now (very short sides and back, very long top) and I find it kind of adorable.

    Like

  2. That takes me back. I saw Rupert Everett and Kenneth Branagh on stage in Another Country when it opened. They were both unknowns at the time… (The History Boys is a completely different play, btw).

    Re the haircuts, the difference in the 60s was surely that the hair wasn’t short back and sides and long on top, it was long all over.

    Like

  3. […] Source. I’m going to use this montage vid to illustrate, but remember that Kenneth’s haircut has changed since these shots were taken. […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.