Wow, does he look thin

tumblr_mvrk6gmTIX1s2xkv8o1_1280Source.

~ by Servetus on November 5, 2013.

46 Responses to “Wow, does he look thin”

  1. Almost gaunt…and here comes the beard? Again? Effects of WW rationing? Game of Thrones…everyone looks underfed in that one (except the eunuch)….come on Mr. A…give us a hint?

    Like

  2. Lean, mean, sexy man. I was thinking earlier he isn’t carrying the muscle mass he was when he started making the film. Again, I wonder if the leaner look, like the hair, is for a role . . .

    Like

  3. Yeah – look at how thin his neck is !!!!!

    Like

  4. Thin, but oh so sexy!

    Like

  5. Well he is getting back to looking normal. He bulked up a lot for Thorin and though he works out, or did in London anyway, he has no real need for it now and if he is doing a role or preparing it isn’t going to be for the same kind of role so he won’t need all that muscle and the moment you stop it comes right off. He seems happy though.

    Like

    • It’s Richard’s more natural state to be on the lean side, anyway—as you said, he bulks up for roles as needed (thinking Porter and Thorin) and when it’s not needed, I think he cuts back on the heavy lifting. He definitely seems happy and at a good place in his life.

      Like

  6. I think he looks a little thin,but still spectacular. I think the jacket is the one in the photo taken with its designer. At least they are both brown (jackets, not guys).

    Like

  7. Those people were very near me in the theater, and the tall one ( Gandalf? – that’s not the good Gandalf) didn’t sit still.

    Like

    • Perry, I hope you got “much” while there. We need some “gap fill” and I eagerly await your “share” of it. )

      Like

      • Not sure I’m getting the code.

        Like

        • No code, really, except maybe trying to squelch my disappointment a little, I was hoping you got more than we did. At least, I was hoping so, for your sake….and ours…vicariously. 😉

          Like

          • All the more I got, aside from the Sneak Peek, was watching him for the entire time that he was there ( which is something, I will say)- so seeing his reaction to what was going on.The London group was a little livelier.

            Like

            • And that is all I’d like to have, honestly. Watching him… 🙂 I find him perfect, love thin RA. I don’t like the jeans but you can’t have everything in life 😛

              Like

            • Another factor that added to a “thickness” look in his face during The Hobbit was the “swelling” from the adhesives and removers (alcohol) used on his face. The skin swells with alcohol, and that was constant over a long period of time. It was even more noticeable during ComicCon. He really does much more slender now over all, I agree. But I noticed he was rather trim for the Red Carpets last year and for BS/Into the Storm filming in the fan photos. And when he posed with Evangeline at a screening in Wellington, it looked like he had dropped quite a bit there too.

              Like

  8. Long and lean sounds normal to me.

    Like

    • Yes, I think it’s his natural state…*sigh* how I envy him ! ( Only heavy dose of antibiotics can “help” me to look like that 😉 )

      Like

  9. RA had to run up and down a lot of hills. That’s why he got so skinny! 😉

    Like

  10. Yes, in all his photos prior to the Porter role he was fairly slender and prior to that even playing Guy where he did build up some arm muscle, he was still not heavy. He is naturally slender and perhaps working out is not something that he does a lot of normally. He would do enough to keep in shape certainly but as you said he would drop the lifting if it weren’t necessary because he probably is careful about what he eats.

    Like

  11. I guess I gravitate more toward the bulked up RA if given a choice. He is gorgeous either way though! Maybe I’m wrong, as I’m not an RA “expert”, but he looks thinner to me than even the end of Spooks.

    Can’t wait to hear about the new project if he is morphing because of a role. I wish he’d give us a hint…throw us a bone!

    Like

    • He “would” look thinner than at the end of Spooks—as in his final season, S9— because he was still carrying his Porter muscles when he was shooting that production. That’s clear in the shots of him as Lucas/Bateman in tank top and shirtless. I don’t think he’s as thin as he was at the beginning of S7 of Spooks, however. His face is not that thin. And we are all waiting for that bone to be thrown.

      Like

      • Ah, thanks for clearing it up for me. 🙂 As I said, not an expert here, still an RA newbie of sorts. And indeed, we are all awaiting that bone…

        Like

  12. you also have to keep in mind that he’s wearing bulky clothes and that photographs add weight to a face.

    Like

  13. He is also wearing clothes that seem larger. Those jeans are baggy I notice which I believe we’ve talked about before. We are not used to seeing him lean like this as you noted since he was bulked up a bit for Spooks and then more so for SB and then even more probably for TH and now it isn’t necessary so it is dropping.

    Like

  14. The Just Jared photos (posted above this post) make him look a bit more normal in the neck. Maybe just an odd camera angle.

    Like

  15. he seems super thin, thinner than usual….

    Like

  16. Thorin bulk is gone. 🙂 Which role, Mr. A??

    Like

    • Inquiring fangirls’ minds WANT to know.

      Like

      • I hope he doesn’t go all the way to the Lucas Season 7 look. That was way, way too thin. I prefer the Thorin bulk, too (odd, since I don’t normally go for bulky), but I completely understand going back to a more natural body shape and foregoing the power workouts. I hope he doesn’t take this too far the other way, however, even if it is for a role. I think that’s why the jeans are baggy–he is under growing them.

        Like

  17. Those jeans look familiar really so I think he has worn them before and they fit like that before so I am pretty sure he isn’t losing weight steadily. He is just letting it go back to his normal weight perhaps which is pretty good for someone his age if it works. You ladies know we’d have to work harder to do that for ourselves. LOL Actors go up and down with the weight thing for roles of course. Can’t remember what play it was that he was so interested in doing but if someone remembers perhaps they might look it up and see what it says about the character.

    Like

    • Peggy, I was just thinking how I wish I could reach and STAY at a good weight LOL I think RA looks fantastic for any age, but especially for a guy in his 40s now. And actors certainly do routinely gain and lose weight (and degree of muscle mass) depending on the roles they are playing. I hope he never has to do anything as drastic as Christian Bale and Matthew McConnaughey have for roles over the years—ending up looking like concentration camp victims—but I am sure we will see further fluctuations as time passes.

      Like

  18. He looks lovely, as always. Even if he porked up, he’d be like Elvis — fat, but sexy.
    I wish I could write RA a film role, and that he would accept it. Then you lot would be the first to know, and would not be slavering for bones.

    Like

    • yeah — in his Cold Feet days he was a bit less lean looking and he still looked fantastic.

      Go for the script, groovergreen, we are definitely waiting!

      Like

  19. Yes, fedoralady I know what you mean. I have trouble keeping weight on now and have to make sure I eat enough each meal or I simply won’t maintain. I’ve started watching the Ext. Edition of AUJ and of course watching Richard closely. He came in to Dwarf boot camp beefed up to a degree because of SB and Spooks so he was already partially prepared but he looks so good and now you can see easily that the bulk in the arms is gone more or less. It won’t all go of course because he does ski and that will keep the muscles in his arms in shape as well as those thighs but yes I hope he never has to go for a role like Bale or others have where they starve themselves. I think he’d hate to gain weight, a lot of it for a role but I’m sure he’d do it.

    Like

  20. Hmmm… well, in the US, we are used to seeing beefy guys onscreen OFTEN. Maybe that’s why I like that type more than thinner/leaner (perhaps European ideal) man?

    Like

    • possibly. I also think some men have the build to be bulkier. It’s not that I think, per se, he’s underweight, it’s that a certain bulk to his frame makes bulkiness look good / okay on him, too.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.