If I were honest

It’s John Porter that’s pushed me over the edge, and I wish I could figure out why.

~ by Servetus on May 26, 2010.

19 Responses to “If I were honest”

  1. As you travel, accompanied by all your audio companionship, do let us know what new, refreshed insights into the audio characterisations emerge.

    Enjoy the 1300 mile panorama,too!

    Like

    • Thanks, fitzg, it is actually a moving experience to me to see all of this U.S. panorama. Brings out the hidden patriot. I live in “flyover country” but I can’t help but think of it as the “real U.S.,” and I love the changing scenes and climate as I drive more or less straight north.

      Like

  2. That is Lily Allen, is it not? For whatever reason, it put me in mind of the SB scene “Brave girl”. The initial expression of the guitarist, which was encouraging and tender; and Ms. Allen’s glances at him again.

    The “girl” thing doesn’t worry me that much – rightly or wrongly, there has been a perception of the British male’s patronizing attitude to women. Notwithstanding the many strong women in their lives – Baroness Thatcher!) I read “brave girl” more as a cultural language term (which perhaps requires modification!) than as denigrating. Not sure I’ve expressed this clearly.

    Like

    • Kate Nash. But I think she was discovered by Lily Allen.

      If I were being honest, I’d admit that I *loved* the “brave girl” line. My heart melted when I heard it the first time and then the next two dozen times I watched it. I am sure it was British cultural and maybe class conditioned from the character and I don’t care.

      Like

  3. Do you mean he has pushed you over the edge into complete obsession, servetus?

    Or maybe you are more able to step back a little and recognise your obsession for what it is, or has been? In which case you have probably taken a step or two the way to being ‘cured’?

    I have to say, though, that all things considered, and I am well aware of some of the shortcomings of the script, Richard was simply marvellous in Strike Back as John Porter and I’m not surprised if you have fallen off the edge now – I certainly have…here’s hoping for a second series, I think there will be.

    Like

    • Yeah, I think Porter pushed me over the edge into complete obsession, The Gruffalo! I finished the part of the semester with a definite schedule and then I fell into watching the six episodes over and over and over again. I have some of the scenes memorized now.

      I hope there is a second season as well — if not, it certainly won’t be because of the overall quality of the production. It was as good as or better than a lot of what we see on TV in the U.S.

      Like

  4. I think it might be the first option the gruffalo. 😉

    I like the song, with simple phrases it expresses a powerful emotion.
    Even if is still Guy ‘who pushes me’, JP has something very alluring (I can’t really put my finger into the ‘right’ word), maybe to me is the fact that he is a believable action hero mixed with two or three drops of the tender, sensitive hero; that’s why even if the 2 last stories might be better as a whole, I still find the first one my fav because I feel gun-machine and tender are better equilibrated.

    I bet you are having a wonderful driving 😉 After so many hours only ‘with’ him and then when you finally arrive be brought back to reality… Well, you’ll tell us your experience.

    Like

    • OML, I had the same reaction. I know that the second two scripts were better but I still the love the first one the most. It pushes every single button I have, I think.

      Like

  5. It’s Kate Nash, ladies (I’m assuming :))
    I just had my obsession under control and SB put me right back…and it is sooo not my thing.
    It makes me wish I was alone in the car w RA’s voice.
    @Fitzg: thanks for pointing out the cultural angle on brave girl, not that I took much offense.

    Like

    • Yeah, I am torn between wanting to give in totally and being frustrated because my feelings are not under control, iz4spunk. Part of it is because the feelings are so unreal; John Porter is not a real person and I will never meet Richard Armitage. It’s like crying for the moon in a very intense way. The car ride was great because there was no reason not to give into it for two whole very long days, just cycling the CDs through over and over again on my car stereo. But then there’s reality, and in reality I can’t spend all my time listening to or watching Richard Armitage …

      Like

      • Well, see there is hope for you, yet, servetus, if you can already acknowledge that in reality you cannot spend all your time on this…’thing’ you have for him. And something or someone will come along at some point to reign you in again. Or you will get bored with it..or time will pass, and it won’t seem so important. Trust me!

        Like

        • I hope so. At the moment I often feel like I am in the grip of insanity. I appreciate your support! (And how long did you need?)

          Like

  6. thanks for these supportive responses, friends. I think I could only make this post because I knew I wouldn’t have to face the consequences of thinking about it immediately …

    Like

  7. I meant to comment on this earlier. Sorry it’s taken me so long. Oh, Servetus, I understand completely. The main reason I started the blog was to try to figure out for myself why I got in over my head. I never realized I had OCD until RA came along, and now I think I really may have it. LOL!

    Eventually I’m going to get to the character that made me become so rabid a fan, and no, it wasn’t Guy although he’s my sentimental favorite. Not sure I”ll be able to explain it but I MUST try. 😀

    Here’s the good news for all of us. This is all non-fattening and it’s fun. What more can we ask?

    Like

    • Thanks for your sympathy, RAFrenzy. 🙂 I agree it’s not the worst addiction one could have, and I am really grateful that if I have to be in this boat, you are a fellow inmate!

      I started writing this blog as part of therapy for extremely severe writers’ block. At about six weeks after my second dose of Armitage, the words just poured out of me, and they keep coming and coming. On one level, I feel rejuvenated and calmed and just plain relieved — this all proves that I haven’t lost my creative and analytical selves; they were just dying of thirst. On another, though, I am troubled by what a huge timewaster this is. My rational faculties keep saying it’s time to write something real and important. But I can’t because I spend literally every spare second thinking about Mr. Armitage, and eventually this is going to get dangerous …

      Like

  8. RE: The Gruffalo’s response. Yes, this too shall pass. When might be an issue, but it will more than likely pass. 😉

    Like

    • Hmm. I agree in general that most things pass. The question is when, and how much of my real life I will have missed by then 🙂

      Like

  9. […] me from “reality,” a territory from which they are somehow supposed to be distinct. No more shame that all of this is a timewaster that drags me away from important things. This surge of energy is the most important thing that’s happening to me right now, and […]

    Like

  10. […] I associate with Richard Armitage from my early years of crush / blogging — notably Keane and Lily Allen, but also other stuff that was playing on public radio in Austin at the time (Avett Brothers, […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.