Bad news

Margaret (Daniela Denby-Ashe) and Mr. Bell (Brian Protheroe), after Mr. Bell has told her of his terminal illness, in episode 4 of North & South. My cap.

My friend and colleague the former Cambridge professor has been diagnosed with an advanced case of prostate cancer. I don’t know all the details but it is apparently extremely serious.

More remains to be said about this and about him, but after two days of thinking about it all, I still don’t know how to put it down. The news is still just swirling through my mind without having hooked itself on any interpretive framework. So I am putting this information down as part of marking the journey, but closing comments for now until I figure out what to say. If you feel led to pray for his recovery, though, I covet your prayers on his behalf and thank you for them in advance.

~ by Servetus on January 25, 2012.

One Response to “Bad news”

  1. […] a high frequency for a recurring dream, and which some experts would diagnose as a symptom of PTSD. This week I dreamt I was Mr. Thornton, hearing of Mr. Hale’s […]

    Like

Comments are closed.