Frustrated Shabbat thoughts

[ETA: at least done with essays and will be able to submit grades tomorrow afternoon I think. Whew.]

Alarm goes at 7:30. Doze till alarm turns off at 9:30. Doze again. 10:16. Earliest we’ll start davening is 10:30. Daydreaming Armitage. 10:45 up, 10:55 out, 11:00 at shul. I’m the only woman. They’ve just started P’sukei d’Zimrah, oh good, I haven’t missed Psalm 19. Cleanse me from hidden faults. Cleanse me from hidden faults. Nishmat kol chai, let the breath of every living thing praise You. Doesn’t look like we’ll get a minyan. El Adon al kol ha ma’asim, I don’t like the melody we’re singing, I want to sing this one

Blessed is He and praised by every soul. Still the only woman, Daven praise, Daven, Daven. Will we get a minyan? There are 8 men as we begin the silent Amidah, then the ninth walks in during the standing. We pray for peace and the shliach sends his son dashing down the road to knock on the door of someone who is still sleeping, but not before making sure his pockets are empty. But we don’t wait long, the sleeper was already on his way. Torah service. Vayehi binsoa aaron, vayomer Moshe. Acharei-Kedoshim. He’s reading like wildfire. How to celebrate Yom Kippur, prohibited contaminations, prohibited sexual relations. Leviticus 18:22 inter alia. The d’var Torah is not what I am expecting: a funny story about what happens if you disobey the commandment to leave a tree alone the first three years and not eat from its produce, live in the physical world, let your body permeate the physical world with holiness, bring Moshiach, if you disobey a negative commandment, cry out to Hashem on Yom Kippur and if you are really sorry, Hashem will forgive. Where does this very simple man get this simple message of redemption? When I with all my complications can’t believe? Pesky carries the Torah both times and makes sure I get to touch. Prayers for the sick, I think hard of my father. We discussed this last week, when I was learning I was told one cannot say misheberach for a non-Jew, not least because a non-Jew does not have a name in Israel, Pesky thinks this is nonsense, he wants to ask this shliach to posek, but that will automatically out me as born a non-Jew. Pesky’s praying for his son, I am praying for his son, too. For healing in body and mind. Pesky catches my eyes across the mechitzah and I shake my head, though my eyes must look anguished. I’ll be in a place where I can pray for a Christian all too soon, anyway.  Haftarah. Ashrei. Still enough men for mussaf, a minor miracle. The schnorrer seems to have replaced someone else who’s left. Ein Kelohenu.

Still the only woman; if I stay Pesky will feel obliged to spend the kiddush with me instead of sitting with the men talking about Torah, and I will be annoyed by helping the shliach’s wife serve the learned community. And I might get seated next to the schnorrer, and I am not a very kind person. Bad for the shliach’s wife but I decide to go now. Possibly last davening until September, uch, this lies heavy on my soul.

In the car, Keane.

Who ate your heart, you’re cold inside. An accurate indictment. The inexorable motion of traffic on graduation weekend slams into the motionlessness of Shabbat and shatters it. This is why you’re supposed to wait till Shabbat ends and end it ritually and slowly, so the whiplash isn’t so bad. Starbucks is closed, plumbing problems. Lunch. Soup, salad, internet. Armitage! He’s back; he never goes to shul; I’m glad to find him again, though. I spend some time musing on the line of his beard. Email: Students annoyed with grades from first section already given and posted. TA is almost finished grading her part of our shared grading before her M.A. graduation. She will marry next weekend. A world of stone. A door that once was open, an empty face and empty bones. Off to office to grade. Stop at vending machine, buy Coke since no latte macchiato available. Hoping not to become so disoriented in the windowless, cinder-block space as I did last night.

Turn the computer on again. But I can’t settle, too much roiling around in my head. El Adon. Nishmat kol chai. The wind wouldn’t blow me home. You shall be holy as I the Lord your G-d am holy. The last section of essays to grade. Only a few hundred more pages; I can do this today and have tomorrow off from this awfulness if I can just get to that concentrated place. I decide for relaxation first; facebook friends writing about NC Amendment 1. Lev. 18:22. The poem I read this week about kindness, “You must see how this could be you / how he too was someone / who journeyed through the night with plans / and the simple breath that kept him alive.” Crazy stuff from the fanfic I read this week where the author seems to have been diagnosing all of my emotional problems. Finally having read Blankets this week, and having recognized the existential games the extreme weather plays with my soul. The shock of recognition; I just told my parents, I didn’t have to draw them a comic book. Is this dithering all about my fears of going home, of the whole impending Christian summer? Why am I afraid? Have to concentrate, have to concentrate, have to grade. Concentrate, put yourself in that place where you can be purposeful.

G-ddamnit, why do I think I have to mean everything I do? Pesky would say, don’t tear yourself into pieces over this, why do you care so much more than they do?

I decide for Silly Sisters, “Cakes and Ale,” to start building the right mood, “Seven Days are the Week in Almost Every Circumstance,” but when they get to the Agincourt Carol I start wondering about my student in Afghanistan. Do I give in and write an email and tell him I am worried? Facebook also tells me about all the students who finished classes this week at my last campus. Messages saying I’ll be missed at commencement, but I’m glad not to be descending into that particular emotional morass this year. Grade, grade. This is so awful, another indictment. The students who were good, were good before they reached me, the ones who were poor have made no progress under my supervision. I have to file these grades and I have to think again about what I think I’m accomplishing here. Teach the students you have, teach the students you have. Despite the stuff about stroking beards, the Silly Sisters are making me sad, maybe the way to go is just to open that dangerous place in my brain where all the sad gets poured, all the failure, all the non-consummation.

“Sometimes I hear my voice / and it’s been years.” And that’s it, isn’t it? What do I accomplish with teaching? What do I hope to accomplish? What do I get? Why do I expect to get anything? What hast thou, that thou didst not receive? If I’d have been good at something else, I’d be doing it already. And by writing? If that’s the the thing I’m supposed to be doing? What am I supposed to say? Why don’t I have the guts to say it? Why am I trapped between these cinder blocks grading these damned essays? Is this my final purpose? Is this any different from waiting table on men discussing Torah, wiping up after them while they pray for Moshiach?

Why don’t I just say it? Why don’t I just speak?

~ by Servetus on May 6, 2012.

16 Responses to “Frustrated Shabbat thoughts”

  1. Fear. When people are really honest, it usually pisses someone else off. And I’m not talking about sexual stuff. Plus, since when is sex the be all end all of honesty?

    Or maybe it’s a sense of healthy discretion kicking in.

    I don’t know.

    Just a couple of suggestions.

    Like

  2. Timing. That’s another one.

    Like

  3. So much I would love to say about this post, but the timing (and maybe the venue) is bad.

    Like

  4. Hi Serv,
    I sometimes wonder what’s it all for, too. I’m the accountant in our department–so I can also be the advisor, which is the fun part for me. Others seem to get to cherry pick their responsibilities–they are called “males” of my acquaintance in my workplace. That courtesy does not extend to me. After 26 years, I have free parking and still more bills than income.
    My counterparts in other departments are retiring in droves. I’m still too “young” to do that. I don’t know about you, but except for a few pockets of considerate and courteous folks, I feel underappreciated. But I have to pay my bills so I can’t walk away and do what I want to do–write full time. C’est la vie. Only two more years and I might be able to take early retirement. So, I’m hanging in there.
    You hang in there too.
    Tempered Cheers! Grati ;->
    P.S. Yup, this is me. The hemisphere hasn’t split in two. I just decided to let down my guard a bit and not be so Pollyannaish for once. I’ll return to my “regular programming” with my post for Sunday. It’s already scheduled. Ha!

    Like

    • Wow, that was an unusually dark comment for you, Grati, but I appreciate the honesty.

      I wonder why I expect students to comply with my requests. A lot of my grading time was occupied with simple failure by students to comply with the basic ground rules of the assignment. And I think, why do I expect them to comply? Why am I angry when they don’t? I want to find a way to get the students who are wanting help and able to benefit onto the center of my timetable; instead I spread my attention too far, getting annoyed with those who don’t. Among other things.

      Like

  5. Is it possible you are being too hard on yourself? I am sure you have the guts to say what you need to say. Timing and not lack of voice or courage, may be the problem. It is the end of the semester, the beginning of the summer, impending changes, experiences to be categorized and integrated perhaps, time for reflection and introspection.

    This year was my 20th anniversary at my current job. I had an existentialist crisis about that. What is the point when there are more people hungry, homeless, mentally ill than when I started in my profession 25 years ago? ANd why are top level leaders in the field paid so much LESS than their partners in the corporate world. Oh, maybe because we are mostly women! I hate the institutionalized sexism and all other isms.

    To quote a good friend of mine, “F\$%@&!, it soooo hard to be authentic. It can only be done with a glass of pinot grigio!”

    Like

    • The end of the semester is always hard, and always provides more than ample evidence of my failures. And thus it provokes unpleasant introspection. You are right about that. There are successes — it’s just so hard to see them in the flood of failures. Like you, I feel like I am swimming against the tide in a world that doesn’t value what I do in any noticeable way. I am sure the people who are actually helped do — but it’s hard to remember that.

      I think that if I were completely authentic — I was thinking about this the other day — I would lose all my friends. Seriously. I don’t really fit into any context any more.

      Like

  6. There’s nothing sweeter than the sound a child’s voice.
    So…what would happen if you — just say it.

    Like

    • I loved that vid. So sweet.

      I’m going to try, this summer, just saying a few things that have been suppressed for a long time. And risking making them known. We’ll see wha thappens. I am not optimistic.

      Like

  7. Servetus, you are not alone in your conflicts as related to your profession.

    Here’s a quote from 57 years ago you might appreciate:

    “I sort of regarded acting as a means of making a living and uh, not much more – I was interested in other things – but, I’ve taken a pretty active interest in it and since I don’t do anything else well and up to this time I haven’t decided what else I would like to do, I might as well put all my energies into being as good an actor as I can.”

    – Marlon Brando, Person to Person Interview with Edward R Murrow, 1955 – two days after being the youngest actor (at the time) to win a Best Actor Academy Award at the age of 30

    Like

    • Hi again, Servetus!

      Okay, this will be my last Marlon Brando comment (at least for THIS post) ;), but I found this other interview given 10 years later and in French, where Brando is still saying something similar! Still hasn’t found the job he really wants to do, etc.

      How similar are our internal struggles…

      Like

    • I don’t know whether to find this depressing or encouraging. 🙂

      Like

      • Ha ha ha ha ha! (Well, Brando’s real life struggles WERE a bit on the depressing side!) I don’t think I’d consider it ‘encouraging’ per se, but more another example of, “you’re not alone or strange or different in your struggles”. I’m sure everyone else just wanted Brando to continue to churn out more of the same thing because he was so good at it and it served their needs.

        Outwardly, he appeared at the top of his game achievement-wise, and yet he could never fully reconcile himself to the fact that he hated acting as a profession and wanted to find a way to make a living at something else that he found personally meaningful.

        This struggle to find a balance between satisfying our own needs vs. delivering what others demand of us, this human struggle we all share as we each are trying to find our way … I find something very poignant and beautiful in the commonality of these experiences.

        Like

  8. Thanks to everyone for the comments, sympathy, support.

    Like

  9. Speak. You can’t keep everything to yourself. If you feel the need to speak, then do it 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.