Something I wonder about Richard Armitage and audiobooks

Richard2Richard Armitage reading Hamlet: Prince of Denmark. Photo supplied by A.J. Hartley.

***

I assume that once Richard Armitage knows he’s doing a script, he reads through it a first time (silently) for first impressions, and then a few more times to mark it up. I assume he thinks about voices to use and that he makes sure there’s an indication of when he has to switch them, and so on. Perhaps he has nicknames for particular voices (at least once during Hamlet I thought I heard his Ian McKellen imitation!) or descriptions for them. I assume he may practice certain accents (and since the Hobbit, his Scottish accent has gotten, from my perspective, more convincing than it was in CBeebies, although I don’t know why that should be — exposure to Graham McTavish?). And I wonder how and why he picks them — he almost never does the London “matey / cockney” thing, does he?

What I wonder more, though, thinking about his approach to the dialogues and then his pull back from character voices into narrative, is about the long, narrative sections of the work. Is this like being in an orchestra, where you rehearse something and pencil in reminders of what you are supposed to be doing, where you are supposed to be going, where the crescendos and decrescendos go? Where you want to display a little rubato? Where you want to keep a particularly regular tempo? I can’t imagine that with 9 hours of work, and an hourly rate of even something like $425 (forget where I read that number as an estimate for an audiobook read by a particularly well known artist), that you have the opportunity to read over something more than once or twice in preparation. You need to know what you are doing, and do it immediately.

So what I am wondering about: how do you prepare? how do you mark up your script? is this something you’re just naturally good at? do you have to practice? and so on, and so forth …

~ by Servetus on May 23, 2014.

30 Responses to “Something I wonder about Richard Armitage and audiobooks”

  1. It’s funny — after reading your last post about his performance, (your observation of a second favorite moment,) I had been musing on this very subject. How much time one is given to prepare the performance and how much actual preparation one is able to do, what that means in practical terms, what sort of notations one makes, what level of familiarity one is able to develop with the material — or whether in fact it’s better to come at it not cold but still close to one’s initial, instinctive reactions.

    Basically I think your observations stirred a particular kind of inquiry and it was contagious. 🙂

    Like

  2. Those are questions that interest me, too. I can give you a little glimpse into my own experience both as a producer and as a speaker on a series of audio programmes for language learners. (Caveat: Never any longer than about 1000 words, and mainly dialogues or prompted discussions) Mostly the scripts came pre-prepared with directions on the conveyed emotion. Emphasis was marked. For my own reading preparation, I used to actually read the texts aloud to myself, and experiment with the emphasis and modulation. It is only when you hear the spoken text yourself that you realize what works, and what doesn’t. In the studio situation that is why you have the producer sitting there, with the script in front of her, reading along and making sure that the text is read with the correct emphasis etc – and as a first response to the more creative adjustment of the material.
    I assume that trained speakers (such as actors) will be able to do this almost off the cuff – once they have read through the script on their own, of course, in order to anticipate the various characters etc. I also think that the producers of such audio books – skilled professionals in their own right – have input and probably make a lot of those decisions for the narrator, i.e. where the emphasis should be put etc. Maybe even the authors have a say? After all, you can change the meaning of a sentence simply by the way you say it?
    The process of recording itself is actually quite demanding, especially if you do it for several hours in one session. You inevitably stumble over words and word order and have to re-record. In that case you need to start at the beginning of a sentence (sometimes paragraph) again, because it is extremely hard to hit exactly the matching tone/level/modulation of a particular part in a sentence a second time. Those re-starts are later a problem for the sound engineer (although they can actually pick out the re-starts just by looking at the visual representation of the levels on their computer – pretty amazing!) who have to cut and edit the text together. The pressure of getting through the text with the right voice, emphasis, accent and modulation but without screwing up, can be immense, cos you don’t want to be the one responsible for holding everyone up. I remember evenings spent in the studio, four hours at a stretch – and we’d be wrecked afterwards. Listening out to the prompts, acting with the voice, reacting to directions from the producer and changing the way you voice something, demands concentration and needs skill. I wish my hourly rate had been as good ;-).
    (Sorry for length of comment)

    Like

    • You just need a bigger fanbase, Guylty, then you too can make a lot. Actually I don’t know what Armitage made. I think someone mentioned $450/hour for Colin Firth, iirc.

      What I’m impressed by (and not just in Armitage’s case) is how he doesn’t fall into a sort of regular Sprachrhythmus.

      Like

  3. Interesting questions and comments. I’m not surprised it’s tiring, Guylty. The thought of getting over 9 hours in the bag makes me feel exhausted!

    I remember in a past life working with actors doing voice overs for videos etc and I was very impressed by how quickly they ‘got it’, and how they were able to cope with long scientific terms they would never have come across before, with just a bit of help and coaching. But I guess that’s the definition of professional.

    They didn’t have to remember lots of different voices and accents, either, and constantly switch between them!

    Like

  4. When the photos came out for the recording session, I posted a comment on Tumblr that I’d like to ask Richard if he recorded each character at a time. That approach is more logical to me than trying to constantly switch back and forth between characters. He finds his voice for character 1- likely the narrator, and records the book. He finds his voice for character 2, listens to the playback for character 1, records character 2’s lines. And thus the whole book builds. I’d be amazed to find out he read it aloud, in order, over and over again.

    Like

    • Thank you for your post which is once more an interesting read as well as guylty’s comment!
      Especially that Scottish lad Gregor gives me an instant pic of Graham McTavish to my “inner eye” – is this a common expression to English native speakers?
      I really enjoy his approach to audiowork – and of course its result!

      Like

    • Very interesting thought, Sara – that did not occur to me at all, even though it is theoretically possible. I kind of doubt it, just because the editing job would be extremely long and difficult, but who knows. Maybe Hewson and Hartley know?

      Like

      • Since neither author was able to attend the recording session, I don’t think they’ll be able or willing to respond. I do know that when AJ Hartley released the first 6 sound bites on March 28th that the book was still in post production and had been edited to about 10 hours. Source – aj Hartley on twitter. The final audio book came in at 9 hours 40 minutes, I believe. Definitely a lot of time was spent in post production. So either Richard committed to one character at time or he made a lot if takes for each line. My gut says its the former not the latter based on interviews he’s given about his acting. That commitment to staying in character. Hope I’ll be the one who gets to ask him.

        Like

  5. I have to admit, I have been wondering the same thing(s) – how exactly would the recording process look/feel/sound, and how much preparation has Richard done (and how exactly has he done it)? There were a couple of questions posed to the authors on twitter, and it sounds like they leave Richard pretty much to himself to figure it out (of course they do – he’s a consummate professional 😀 ). You can imagine that his script would be full of notes, based on what we know of his process (and from the accounts we received from the Pinter/Proust reading). As for whether he records it in order – based on the extensive research I have just done (and by extensive, I mean, I google-searched “the process of recording audiobooks” and then read about 25 articles ^__^), it sounds like he probably does record it in order – but he would be able to stop and start over as many times as he needs to to get the sound (or the accent for a certain character) just right. I found this particular article to be interesting: http://celinekiernan.wordpress.com/kate-rudd-on-the-process-of-recording-an-audio-book/ – I wasn’t familiar with Kate Rudd, but it would seem that her most recent project is John Green’s The Fault In Our Stars. I also found this, from David Hewson’s blog, which is a glimpse into Alan Cumming’s, and the authors’, approach to the recording of Macbeth, and in which David expresses his regret at not being able to see Richard perform Hamlet (no kidding!).

    At any rate – I could be totally wrong about Richard’s process (it has happened – HA) – but bottom line, it would be fab if someone does ask him this question in an interview so we know definitively.

    Like

    • Oops – I forgot the link to David Hewson’s blogpost (although most have probably seen it) – http://davidhewson.com/2014/02/23/a-glimpse-inside-the-recording-of-an-audible-audiobook/. Also – apologies for the extended length of my response !

      Like

    • I think the voicing isn’t consistent enough across characters (this is not a criticism) for him to be doing it character by character — he’s always voicing characters against each other and there are slight variations. Fascinating to listen to.

      richardcfarmitage, this is the blog for long comments.

      Like

      • Thanks for the comments on the comments! Honestly, I’ve only had the chance to listen to the seven sample files – albeit I have listened to each multiple times. And I recognize that there are various accents, tones and tempos Richard selected for the various characters. He is a very modest man when it comes to acknowledging his skills as a mimic. I do believe his musical background gives him an ear for voices. (Note that I am avoiding the favorite parts of Hamlet columns until I get a chance to listen. No summers off in industry I’m afraid!)

        Like

  6. Here’s are two podcast from interviews with Richard.

    “Reader Richard Armitage talks about why he enjoys recording audiobooks”

    http://www.naxosaudiobooks.com/0022.htm

    “Venetia reader Richard Armitage discusses his experience of reading an audiobook and where he gets his inspiration from”

    http://www.naxosaudiobooks.com/437912.htm

    Like

  7. I remember reading in one interview that Richard got ideas for voices for his audio books from call-in radio shows. He was specifically referring to old women’s voices, I think. I also recall from the Cinemax interview with Martin Freeman that he said he wasn’t very good at voices. I think we could all beg to differ with that!

    Like

  8. I haven’t had a chance to look at these comments closer yet, but for those who are interested in David Hewson’s answers to some of them, they are found here: https://meandrichard.wordpress.com/2014/05/23/audiobooks-authors-actors-and-direction/

    Like

  9. Great and informative post by Mr Hewson that answered a few of our questions and provided insight into some of the preparation of an audio recording (mostly consistent with what I knew from the small scale productions I was involved in). I was particularly interested in the glimpse of the script that Hewson provided – and (stupidly) surprised that there was some editing of the source text. Duh, of course, things like “he said, she said” are superfluous when a text is narrated by one or more speakers… But it was interesting to see the evidence of it in the screenshots provided.
    I also noted the dates on the “comments” in the script annotation – evidence of the long preparation time before the text actually goes into the studio. Very interesting. Thanks for the post to him – and thanks for reblogging here.

    Like

    • there is some “he said” narration in the audiobook, and actually it’s one of the things I find fascinating, that Armitage can be speaking in a character’s voice and then drop off immediately into “he said” and be in the narrator’s voice and then switch back. It really requires a pinpoint accuracy. You hear a few points where he doesn’t quite get it, but very very few (now finished with third listen).

      They obviously worked hard on this one.

      Like

      • And that is costly! Time in the studio costs a lot (I just can’t get over the 450 Pounds an hour :-D), and then all the editing… But it’s an investment that is worth it. There is nothing worse than a shoddy audio programme.

        Like

        • I think he and the director must have realized that this would primarily work as an audiobook only if it had a fairly energetic narration. The highly mannered mood of the Heyer pieces, or the sort of heavily introspective narration of Uhtred i the first person, weren’t going to work for something this long, because you do have to pay attention, esp in the parts of the story that describe political and military events.

          Like

          • Good point! I suppose it also helped that the narrated novel is based on a literary dialogue, anyway, unlike Heyer or LOTN, so a more dramatised narration was almost unavoidable?

            Like

  10. […] Ms Mel: […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.