Things to love about Richard Armitage

From a comment by alyssabethancourt: on Armitage’s self-deprecation. True words to think about at the end of the Sabbath. Time to get over it and just do my best.

It’s actually this trait, even more than anything else about him, that prompts me to see myself in him as much as I do. The tendency to self-deprecate, to see only flaws where others see strengths or at least recognize a weakness that has led the drive to a successful effort; the thin line between humility and a lack of self-confidence; the ability to acknowledge that recognition for an achievement is deserved one moment but then admit enough doubt the next moment to lose that certainty.

When I hear/ read him make comments […] about trying to go as far as he can on limited talent, or having to immerse himself in a character the way he does because he’s not good enough to do his job any other (we presume he thinks “better”) way, I hear something I would say or have said, and it does me good to place those words in the mouth of someone who is so clearly wrong about his own failings and limitations. Who is so clearly a success in the very ways he thinks he is weakest. It helps me to realize I’m probably more full of crap than I think I am and I should just get on with doing my thing.

Serv adds: and the “strengths at the weakest point” is something he builds into some of his most endearing characters.

 

~ by Servetus on May 25, 2014.

3 Responses to “Things to love about Richard Armitage”

  1. It’s very, very true about “strengths at the weakest point.” That’s a major factor in the complexity and ultimately sympathetic humanity in the characters he creates, even the “bad” ones.

    Like

  2. Really well-expressed, Alyssa. I think that many of us can relate to exactly that (particularly women?!).

    Like

  3. I think many actors have a bit of a lack of self esteem and that is why they need an audience. I , however , think that Mr. Armitage does not even need to think of himself that way but paradigms are hard to change.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.