Three year anniversary of my most euphoric shared Richard Armitage media event

Three years ago, we saw this for the first time, and it was probably my favorite simultaneous shared fandom moment — even now. Such good feelings, especially when Armitage sent a fan letter at the end of the evening — back in the days before Twitter.

Screen shot 2012-11-27 at 9.25.09 PM

Richard Armitage, greeted by the mayor of Wellington before the pre-premiere news conference, November 27, 2012. Source.

and this, for the first time:

Screen shot 2012-11-27 at 10.49.54 PM

Richard Armitage, interviewed on the red carpet at the Wellington premiere of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, November 27, 2012. My (live) screencap.

And, OMG, the first time we saw this. OMG, OMG.

Richard Armitage, red carpet look, world premiere of The Hobbit: An Unexpected journey, Wellington, November 27, 2014. Ermengildo Zegna made the suit -- still one of his best looks ever.

Richard Armitage, red carpet look, world premiere of The Hobbit: An Unexpected journey, Wellington, November 27, 2014. Ermengildo Zegna made the suit — still one of his best looks ever. My, I loved that suit. Some commentary started here.

Didn’t get to see the film until two weeks later, but it didn’t disappoint.

~ by Servetus on November 28, 2015.

18 Responses to “Three year anniversary of my most euphoric shared Richard Armitage media event”

  1. Just the other day I was thinking of him in that hotel room writing that letter, it was a sweet time. Happy Holidays, Serv 🙂

    Like

  2. It was Richard’s entrance into the world stage. And it was glorious! I felt like a relative was finally making the big leagues and I was bursting with excitement for him.
    And that letter. It was the end of an era, and the mark of the new one in what it meant to be a Richard fan. It was a treasure and tribute to ‘legacy’ fans.
    I was just thinking today of how it’s the holiday season again but that all The Hobbit hoopla was all over. The years go by so fast.

    Like

  3. It was amazing wasn’t it? Even now, the way he shone during TH publicity brings a lump to my throat and a tear to my eye.

    Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

  4. Thank you for the reminder Serv. I’ve spent a happy, slightly teary hour or so wallowing in the memories and the warm fuzzy feelings they create. 😀

    Like

  5. Oh yes, that was wonderful! I was glued to the internet for news at that time and such lovely things emerged!

    Like

  6. Years really do fly fast 😦 It was hard when LOTR finished, but we all knew that The Hobbit would follow, eventually, and it was easier to wait until ME would come alive, again, on the big screen. Now, this year, everything seems so sad and empty, at least to me. But we have pictures, dvd’s and new project involving RA to be content with.
    Thanks for the reminder 😀

    Like

    • It seems weird not to be celebrating another “Hobbit season,” but also I think a lot of people are tired. As you say, we have tons of stuff to enjoy at a leisurely pace.

      Like

  7. Three years already? I remember being so happy for him. He just looked so content and proud. And then the letter in which this fine actor thanked us! Wauw, this was the point when I realized I had chosen the right actor to follow.

    Don’t get me started on the Zegna suit. It’s amazing, and the look is my absolute favourite. The cut is just right for him. He’s worn some silly outfits since, e.g. the shiny, blue suit in Japan and the chequered suit that looked several sizes too small in New York. But this Zegna is the best.

    The Hobbit hoopla was alright; I mean we knew where he was and what he was about to do, and we got a constant influx of info about what RA thought about this or that, but the current drip of news suits me just fine. I appreciate it more, because it’s more rare.

    Like

    • I wonder if he kept that one. At the time I speculated that it was bespoke, before I knew that people routinely return these outfits.

      I don’t miss constantly wondering while I am working, about what might be happening, that’s for sure.

      Like

      • I hope he kept it. It sits so well on him, it could be bespoke.

        Like

        • I hope so too but I am guessing he doesn’t have many occasions to wear this kind of thing (apart from red carpets, where you’re not supposed to repeat). I think we calculated at the time that it cost like $6k?

          Like

          • Just a little side-note: Everything here is just done correctly: the last little button on his sleeve is kept undone. The shirt sleeves are just visible under the jacket sleeve by about 2-3 cm. Only the top button of the jacket is buttoned. The shoes are done up correctly, and the bow is hidden under the trouser rim(?). Perhaps it’s the carpet colour shining up on the shoe, but the shoe colour seems to match the tie. The trouser legs accentuate the long legs, and the jacket shows off his waist. I don’t often say this, but “OMG” ❤
            I could go on; I’ll stop here

            Like

            • I remember the argument about the button — I had to post about that one, and I made a long post about the trouser break. I am fascinated by the trouser break.

              Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.