Pieces

It was 18 degrees, warm enough for some icy parts of the car to melt when I went to get the groceries this morning, and then refreeze while I waited to pick them up. I watched the water trickle down the windshield, and freeze, and then disappear as I drove away.

How can I spend $200 on groceries and still not have anything in the house for lunch?

One group of students is discussing culture vs. subculture. They don’t understand why Deaf people might reject cochlear implants.

I flip restlessly between pages as I’m grading and see CNN countdown the seconds to government shutdown. About 8:30 a pollster called to ask how we feel about the shutdown and I told him to fuck off.

I’m watching “Dean Man Walking” in preparation for another class I’m teaching. I can’t stand Sean Penn. Why is Sean Penn so sexy?

I write on my list of possible discussion questions: “Does forgiveness look the same from the human perspective as from the Church perspective? Or the divine perspective? Should it?”

57 minutes, 49, 33.

Dad spent the day putting in ice shanties on the lake. “Reminds of back when dad was alive,” he says. “If you’re going out on the lake,” he says, “make sure you put on some of my insulated socks.”

The ice, they say, is strong, but the water’s murky.

I need to get a pączek.

I need to grade some more essays.

16 minutes.

Every melt, every refreeze carries its hope, does its damage.

~ by Servetus on February 9, 2018.

26 Responses to “Pieces”

  1. 🙂 You write so beautifuly about winter and ice. So I’m sending you this reference as gift.

    2CELLOS – My Heart Will Go On [OFFICIAL VIDEO]

    Liked by 2 people

    • Wonder how they got that little ice chunk to look so artful. Hopefully climate change won’t drown them. (just kidding). Thanks.

      Like

    • Thank you so very much for sharing this. Absolutely beautiful! I have been a lover of cello music (long before I knew that Richard Armitage played the instrument! 😉 ) In fact I even took cello lessons while in high school! I live in hope that one day he will play the cello in a movie! Wishing thinking no doubt!

      Liked by 1 person

      • In fact I even had been taken violin lessons until the age of 18 year! But I was never an accomplished instrumentalist. Having absolute pitch has never help me to become a good musician. But I shall always love listening to strings.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful and seemingly artless, but lots to unpack here…. thanks. I hope you won’t be going out on the lake today, brrrr.

    Like

    • Confession: I haven’t been out on the lake during sturgeon spearing since my grandfather died. Since I’ve been legal, if I go out there, I sit in the bar at the side of the lake and watch the weighin. Wisconsin version of apres-ski. Dad might have been joking; I’m not always sure.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A Janus kind of day… loved this piece.

    Like

  4. Love this. Also. Agree Sean Penn is not sexy
    IMO at all.

    Like

    • Thanks. I didn’t think so until last night. It’s been years since I’ve seen him on screen. There are films of his I haven’t seen because I can’t stand him personally. This was really strange.

      Like

  5. Why I love it….You capture bleak midwinter. You capture the human spirit.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Really nice piece. Although I have never been in weather that cold, you made me shiver a bit. As for Mr. Penn, never liked him, never will. He is way to short for me to think he is sexy. I bet you never thought you would have something in common with Madonna. I think she thought he was sexy at one time.

    Like

    • Despite the title of the film, he spends most of the film sitting. I never noticed that he is short. It’s something about his eyes. Or maybe it’s just this particular character. I haven’t seen any of his films in years.

      Like

  7. There have been a few days this winter that I’ve thought….what the hell were you thinking, leaving Florida? What the hell was I thinking? lol But I do love the hardy people who live around here. Maybe some of their toughness will rub off on me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.