Listening to the radio … live notes on Richard Armitage’s interview –oops not.

BBC Leicester, starting 5 p.m. UK time:

  • Richard Armitage will not speaking. Emailed — “he’s not going to be able to call into the show today — he is in the air on route to Los Angelese. Can’t make a call. Really disappointed. Congratulates on work on dig, will try again another time.”

~ by Servetus on February 3, 2013.

24 Responses to “Listening to the radio … live notes on Richard Armitage’s interview –oops not.”

  1. I want to know what project our man is working on in LA.

    Like

    • Me, too. For now that is the most interesting bit of info. Though probably not working but auditioning or being in talks about something. RIII isn’t really news until they get funding.

      Like

      • Hahaha, Jane – maybe he’s just tired of the sub-freezing temps in NYC and wouldn’t mind a little CA sun? 😀

        Jan / Feb is my favorite time of year to be in LA (year round surfing!). Gets me through the Winter long stretch of ‘wet and cold’ weather prevalent in many of the cities in which I work. 😉

        Like

  2. Thx Servetus. Sad that he couldn’t make the call :-/

    Like

  3. Oh, this was sad. Actually hearing him live on the radio would have been so cool. Never have experienced this as a non-British resident.
    In spite of that the radio broadcast was really interesting to listen to. Philippa Langley outed herself as a real RA-fangurrl, who has watched all his work to date. They inter alia highlighted the AA and how supportive they are, when it comes to Richard III. Jaa, maybe time now is right and ripe for this venture.
    It would be utterly absorbing to know what Richard is doing in LA. He is a downright frequent flyer recently…..(prob still incomparable with UK Expat !!! 😉 )

    Like

    • ((Linda60))! Have you seen ‘Limitless’, with Bradley Cooper & Robert de Niro yet (they partnered up again in Silver Linings Playbook this year)?

      I actually caught a small slice of this broadcast – someone from York and someone from Leicester were arguing on why the remains should be kept in THEIR city and not the other person’s. Something about tourism and positive economic effects for the cities …. boy, that was a super fun exchange!! Almost as fun as listening to World Wrestling Foundation pre-match trash talking!! 😀

      I’m glad Mr. Armitage is working more in the US. It’s where the big investment dollars are concentrated for his industry. James Purefoy is another British actor doing a great job in various roles on US shows (his American accent was so good, I couldn’t even place him when he appeared on ‘Episodes’!).

      I guess I am a frequent flyer – but I’ve come to genuinely enjoy flying, too. My favorite stories are still ones where I’ve convinced ticketing agents to allow me to “make a run for it” to catch my planes. 😉

      Like

      • UK Expat, you definitely seem to be a traveller. 🙂
        No, haven’t seen that film, as I anyway have been only a few times at the cinema in the last couple of years. Finding it increasingly difficult to get teased by a filmstory, and instead trying relentlessly (!) to follow some blogs (and related writings) about my/our treasured Mr. Armitage, which almost unbelievably eats up most of the time on-hand. 😦
        Yeah, you’re right, that discussion about where the remains of Richard III should be buried was highly entertaining and fun to listen to! Those guys were so excited. (Thus far sadly I still haven’t been to York, even it is at the top of the list in so long. One obviously needs purposes… ) But actually we don’t know about the results yet..(??). However there is hardly any possibility of saying „no“ now, isn’t it? After provoking so much attention…
        Hopefully all the American ladies reading this take no offence: I prefer Richard to talk in his native tongue. Truly! This sounds more relaxed and sexy to me. Mmmmh well…we will see…
        I can’t participate in any talks about US TV shows as I don’t know them, besides I hardly watch TV altogether.

        Like

        • What’s funny to me is that this is just exactly the kind of discussions that cathedrals had in the middle ages. They even stole relics from each other.

          re: what industry Armitage works in — I’d prefer him to do his own accent well than a US accent poorly.

          Like

        • Actually – I didn’t mean to imply that I wanted to hear Armitage do an American accent. I was just mentioning James Purefoy as another British actor I’ve seen make the transition from UK to US screens well… and that in fact, his accent was SO GOOD – that it completely camouflaged who he was (my visiting housemate finally identified him). 😉

          Linda60 – I can appreciate that you might not have access to the US TV shows that the UK has (albeit on a lag at times). 🙂

          Like

      • Whoa, Expat, admitting an interest in R3?

        Like

        • Hahaha – I’ll admit, this audio broadcast did air right in the middle of a giant binge of procrastination on Sunday. 😀

          I think it was less R3, and more the universal human nature pattern of pre-match (pre-interment) trash talking that I enjoyed. It could have been a rivalry between competing football teams – albeit a less athletic version – representing the same underlying theme of ‘why our team is better than your team’. 🙂

          The fact that they brought up financial benefits to local economies just made it all the funnier to me. 🙂

          Like

          • That’s a major argument these days for studying any kind of history. In a capitalist world, everything has to generate a profit.

            In my own subfield, tourism is a significant influence. People have deep emotional connections to particular places and thinking about how to get them to go there again and again (as opposed to on a once in a lifetime trip) is the object of entire offices of planners.

            Like

    • A lot of that bit from Langley was recycled from an earlier interview, but it was an interesting program.

      I found myself wondering whether he was waiting for the official announcement tomorrow. I can’t think that he doesn’t already know what it will be — but it might be better to be “convinced by acclamation” as opposed to prematurely coming out about his actual intentions.

      Like

  4. Well, disappointed but also enormously intrigued over what Mr. Armitage has/may have on his plate here in the U.S. Such a globetrotter, our boy.
    If RA wants mild weather, I’d welcome him to fly south at some point. 😉
    Still dreaming of him playing Atticus Finch in TKAM and filming on location.:D

    Like

    • I was on a flight yesterday afternoon and decided to upgrade to first class … and was thinking, hmmm, unlikely that he’d ever be on this particular flight, but wouldn’t it be neat …

      Like

      • Hey – that’s great that you upgraded yourself to First on the return flight! Yahoo!! Absolutely and positively well deserved decision on your part!! 😀 Did you find that it made a difference in your travel experience?

        I usually fly Coach in the US and Business internationally – but am always pleasantly surprised when the airlines upgrade my ticket to First – it still feels like such a treat to me. 🙂

        Like

        • well, for $90 I got free baggage check + dinner, which would have run $35 and were reimbursable, so I only paid $55 and yes, I would say the extra room was definitely worth that to me. Actually, by the time I got on the plane I was so exhausted that I probably would have paid over $90.

          Like

  5. Graham McTavish tweeted the other day that he’s in California so maybe a bit of the gang can get together. I know RA’s said that he wanted to try Hollywood and it’s terrific that he’s finally getting his chance. Hopefully there will be another interview soon with at least a hint of what he’s been up to and might be looking at.

    Like

    • I think the next likely big interview venue will be buzz for the March DVD, or whenever a release date is found for Black Sky.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.