People get so tense when you mispronounce their names

Courtesy of Richard Armitage Bulgaria on FB.

10273865_747171791981299_8135535971876053067_n

~ by Servetus on April 24, 2014.

11 Responses to “People get so tense when you mispronounce their names”

  1. It is a fairly straight forward last name. Really.

    Like

  2. But it seems he’s shouting : Armitaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaage, isn’t it?
    Calm down and keep cool Mr. Armititsch!

    Like

  3. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX He is probably used to it by now. In England they know that names that may have been originally of French origin are usually not pronounced that way. They have been Anglicized. I am surprised that the media doesn’t seem to realize that fact.

    Like

  4. Really an easy last name to say. Not like my last name I have to spell it for people and say it. It don’t sound like it reads. Some days miss the very easy, very common last name.

    Like

  5. Even the director of Into the Storm..that Steven Whatshisname? mispronounce Richard’s name…grrrr

    Like

    • Yes, I think the Director should have been suitably embarrassed for mispronouncing Richard’s surname. It’s pronounced Armitidge for anyone who’s missed it!

      Like

      • I agree that one is obligated to pronounce correctly the names of people with whom one works. OTOH he can be happy his last name isn’t Ejiofur.

        Like

  6. Love it, made me giggle. 🙂

    Like

  7. I would have wondered how to pronounce it myself (that suffix doesn’t make it into English in one pronunciation, we have “mortgage” and “arbitrage,” to compare, so I’m glad relatively early on I heard him pronouncing it himself.

    Like

  8. It makes you wonder if they have been properly introduced 😉

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.